Chitvish Recipes - Post your comments here (part 1)

Discussion in 'Ask ChitVish' started by Ami, Aug 29, 2005.

1. hasita

hasita Bronze IL'ite

Dear Chitra m'm,

Seeing you've been giving tips on making curds thick, here's a discovery I've made some time ago and been using it whenever I make curds now. (Somehow I'm eating less curds in Chennai as compared to Mumbai, where it was a daily affair! And also, in Chennai, I seem to feel sleepy after eating curds, or even after "more", so I avoid it - unfortunately, bec. I love curds ... would you know why it is so here?)

Anyways, getting back to the topic at hand.. if you keep the curd container in an earthen ware pot or vessel, it will set well. That's all!

Also, I've read long ago, curds sets better in ceramic or terracotta, which from experience I can say is correct.

Hope this helps..
    love n regards,
    hasita

Last edited: Sep 26, 2008
  2. Nandshyam

Nandshyam IL Hall of Fame

Lats, you might want to check this out -Chitraji's recipe.. I remember the taste to be somewhat similar to the ingredients there...

http://www.indusladies.com/forums/ask-chitvish/563-old-is-gold-2.html#post6110

Chitraji.. is there different types of KVs? interesting.. would love to try that thattai payar's as well .....

Last edited: Sep 26, 2008
  3. Priya Amarnath

Priya Amarnath Bronze IL'ite

My dear Chithra,

Today I made PP Rasogulla, came out well. I have tried making rasogullas using different recipes for almost 12times in the last 2-3 yrs, this is the first time I got the perfect ones. The sugar measurement was also perfect. The only problem I had was with the shapes, they were not perfect round ones like in your picuture, but little flat. I squeezed the paneer very well before processing in the food processor. I used 2% fat milk. Could you please guide me as to what are the points that I should take care to get perfect balls. Please take your own time to reply back.

Thanks in advance.

Love and regards
    Priya

Last edited: Sep 27, 2008
  4. SupriyaDinesh

SupriyaDinesh Silver IL'ite

Dear Chithra ma'am,
    In Gadgets thread I would like to know the following details

1.Model and Brand Name
    2.Main purpose and extra use
    3.Price
    4.Pros and Cons
    5. Space Occupancy
    6.Photo of course.. :)

5. anjana

anjana Bronze IL'ite

My Dear Chitra,
    I hope I have not offended you in any possible way,that was not my intention at all.I just like to fool around with you.I have conveyed your love to my family and they reciprocated the same.They are happy that I am feeding them something new everyday.

I made Peshawari Chole for dinner with chappathis and PC tastes fabulous.All your Chole recipes rock.I have noted your instructions on dough storage and will do the needful.I have lined up some recipes for the weekend and will get back to you soon.Ciao till then
    Love to you Chitra.

Last edited: Sep 27, 2008
  6. Chitvish

Dear Latha,
    My Sis-IL tells me, there is a small shop near Kapali temple which sells it. Sometimes it is available in Karpakambal mess.This is one thing I get from Madurai only - amma is not agile enough to make these anymore. But she has given her recipe to a girl who makes it the same way! Infact I have a good amount. If amma can collect it, I am willing to give! Not a problem at all, frankly!

7. Hemalata

Hemalata Senior IL'ite

Dear Chitra,
    I just realized that you have posted Iyengal pulikachal while going through your responses. I'll definitely try it this weekend and post my feedback.

Hema

8. Chitvish

Dear Hasita,
    It is nice to see you more now in my forum! :)
    I have given in the tips to set curds in terrecotta or ceramic, I think.
    I use either of them or stone-pot (kalchatti - best), if none of these, tupperware. I never use metal.
    I find that in Chennai weather, it sets fine normally. Only in "our winter", there is necessity to keep in another vessel.Ofcourse, casseroles are also very good.
    Chennai curds are so good - why don't you like them, Hasita??

9. Chitvish

Dear Nands,
    In my younger age, amma used to say that some like to make it with turdhal, but thattaipayaru gives "non-sticky", uthi-uthir(on cooking ofcourse) karuvadams!
    We seem to be doing research!!

10. Hemalata

Hemalata Senior IL'ite

Dear Chitra,
    I just went through the Iyengar Pulikachal recipe. Being in US I don't have access to varali manjal. Can I powder methi and then mix it with normal turmeric powder? In that case, how many spoons of turmeric powder should I use?

Hema