Migration In Late 30s... Any Ideas?

Discussion in 'Married Life' started by SGBV, Jul 3, 2021.

1. SGBV

SGBV IL Hall of Fame

Hey guys....

This is not a relationship matter, but very much connected to my personal relationship, marriage and everything; hence posting here.

Lately, we have been discussing a lot about migration. Skill migration & Canadian PR is on our cards. But we are not sure whether this is the correct path after all that we have gone through in life.

In fact, there was no thought of migration till last month. We always wanted to settle here ; hence invested quite a lot of money in real estate, business & stuff in Sri Lanka.

But, the growing political instability in the country, inflation and many other economic crisis threaten our future. We are very much worried about our kids, and their future knowing where this country will possibly head to.

Besides that, I find it hard to secure employment that meets my credentials in SL. United nations & many NGOs have already left the country and we have very limited space to operate here.

Given the fact that my H is already unemployed and hence i have been the primary bread winner, I find it hard to provide for the family now.

I can easily secure decent & attractive jobs abroad, but that would often mean i leave the family back here for work. Mostly my duty stations are unaccompanied; hence this struggle.

My family is no longer equipped to manage without me; hence going forward we will have to explore alternatives to survive.

Elders in the family suggest, we must learn to live with the savings as we have a basic financial security for survival.

But i believe the next decade is very crucial as we have invested the first 2 decades of our professional career on settling well. Hereafter, we should save for our future, kids education, marriage, and our retirement.

Having said this, it is important to make correct decisions about everything now. If it is not now, it seems it will never be.

My friends in abroad suggest for skill migration.
    Some have already applied and transitioning.

Having worked for United nations in international professional capacity, I hear from my Canadian associates that i have fair opportunity to work in Non- Governmental & foreign affairs section.
    I have other credentials like masters degree, work experience, IELTS score etc..to apply via express entry visa program.

But, I am also hearing from many others that, life in a foreign land will be really tough given our age & family composition.

We are in late 30s, and our kids are just 10 & 8 years old.
    My 70 year old mom lives with me & probably she will have to accompany with us on visitors visa.

Given the fact that the housing & medical expenses can be exceptionally high in Canada, I wonder whether we could lead a decent life with whatever the income during the initial years there?

Especially after having spent a very comfortable life back here in SL, I doubt how easy it will be for the kids to adjust in Canada.

1. I heard it can be tough initially to secure a job that pays enough. It only works through network & it takes time.

2. Also the weather can be extremely harsh for the new comers

3. Very high cost of living may mean compromising on our lifestyle for a while

4. But if all the suffering can ensure a bright future for our kids, we are ready to face it

Kindly share your thoughts and advice here

Amica likes this.

2. Hopikrishnan

Hopikrishnan Platinum IL'ite

Canada is horrible. It is COOOLLDDD.... and as you say, you have already spent much to establish a way of life, in a nice warm country.
    Who can ensure anything ? We can only do things based on the information we gather, and leave everything else to prayers. One former SL-woman, ~same age as you, was a Member of Parliament ; obviously this is an outlier. Many others have much happier lives.

I would suggest you get your point-score and apply. And gather opinions from everyone. When you actually get the job, and the immigrant visa, you can decide whether ice-skating classes are in your children's future or NOT.

Amica likes this.
  3. AppuMom

AppuMom Gold IL'ite

I lived in Canada for a decade and now back to my home country.If you are ok with harsh winter and not so great social life (great for introverts) Canada is ok.There is misconception about Canada's medical facilities .Its free,but no easy accees.If emergency you may end up waiting for hrs together in ER.My H had 4 hrs waiting in an ER before any doc attended him and another 2 months waiting for an appointment with a specialist doc.Though free its tough to get immediate care.Jobs are ok if you are ready to take up any position regardless of your prev role, designation and experience.But there are lucky people who grab similar position with great salary as their earlier job as soon as they land .Network, reference etc matters a lot.Kids will enjoy the snow and less or no pressure when it comes to studies.Srikankan community is huge in Canada.Your mom can get similar background friends there.Housing expenses is high in Toronto and sub.Some other provinces may be better but job opportunities will be less.
    Anyway its tough in Ontario with a single income and 2 income is necessary considering house mortgage ,car insurance a lot many other bills.

We came back because I hated winters and we didnt have many friends and on top I never had good experience with medical system.Whenever I was out of medical insurance ,paying for dental treatment made dent on my wallet .Its tough to make friends after certain age and those around you (desi community) judge you based on the house ,car and other things you pocess.I stayed away from them always.

If you are relocating and looking for new job give yourself atleast 2 yrs time to get everything in place.

4. MalStrom

MalStrom IL Hall of Fame

Is your husband in IT field? Any chance he can apply for some job that will get him into USA? Immigration and visas will improve under the current administration and you will be able to use your UN experience very well.

Amica and Swetha52003 like this.
  5. Dishaa

Dishaa Gold IL'ite

Dear Op,
    Your situation is bit difficult.

I would suggest, if you are planning for settling in Canada, you get a job first and get yourself settled first, then plan to move the family.

Weather thing will be a challenge for ur mom as they have extreme weather specially winter. But in apartments they have centralized heating facilities.

Since your husband is not working, time being ask him to take up your house responsibilities, reason you both have to think about your kids future and financials.

Property, would suggest not to sell them in haste, long run situations may change.

While applying for PR, you can always include your mom name as dependent parent, staying as family.

Medical and Infrastructure: My husband had good experience during his stay at Canada for 10 years.

Amica likes this.
  6. nuss

nuss Platinum IL'ite

If weather is a deal breaker, plan to move to British Columbia. BC weather is nice with
    mild winters.

Any place you move will take 1-2 years to settle down and make friends.
    Good luck!

Amica, Swetha52003 and SGBV like this.
  7. DDream

DDream Finest Post Winner

I think its better to try for a job in Canada than PR. Read about PR, lot of criteria and waiting time. Evenif you get it, finding a job in Canada after PR is not easy as they look for Canadian work experience, education and driving licence . If you have job, then its easy to try PR, your husband also get spouse visa and can work based on your work permit. Its a beautiful country. Social security is good. You already got info on medical system. Weather will be a problem but its mild in British Columbia( but with moody rainy weather in winter ), but living expense there , especially in Vancouver is very high ( based on my experience at UBC, Vancouver campus for a few years) . Lot of Indians and Srilankans there. Its not easy to live there without a job. If you have a job, you can easily settle down well within 1-2 years . You can explore options at any age, but having a good idea about it will help. Good luck

Last edited: Jul 3, 2021
  8. Viswamitra

@SGBV,

Here are my responses to your questions:

1) I heard it can be tough initially to secure a job that pays enough. It only works through network & it takes time.
    Almost every country is looking for local experience and give priority to people in their country. However, for your experience and skillset, it may not be as competitive.

2) The weather can be extremely harsh for the new comers
    South of Canada is equal to North of America in weather. Almost all of Canada will have severe winter weather. If your family can withstand cold weather and don't have any health issues that will affect living in those weather conditions, you can live in Canada with winter cloths.

3) Very high cost of living may mean compromising on our lifestyle for a while
    Here is a comparison of cost of living in Sri Lanka compared with Canada.
    Cost Of Living Comparison Between Canada And Sri Lanka
    You can plug in your city and compare it with the city you are planning to migrate.

4) But if all the suffering can ensure a bright future for our kids, we are ready to face it.
    Higher education in Canada and the US is definitely a great opportunity for the kids. They will have a great opportunity to thrive in these two countries. If they become citizens by the time they reach higher education, they will have the same opportunities that other Canadians have.

I have migrated to the US only when I was 41 years old and I am living here in the US for the past 26 years. Even though I live in Florida where the cold weather is not an issue, we got used to hurricane weather often. Our primary purpose of migration was to educate my son and he has educated himself well here in this country.

Amica, chanchitra, Anusha2917 and 3 others like this.
  9. Swetha52003

Swetha52003 Gold IL'ite

SGBV, good luck and tons of best wishes to you and family to achieve whatever you wish… Are you considering USA? As MalStrom said , now the immigration and visas will improve under current administration..

You are a determined strong woman, SGBV.. whatever you decide, you will come out as a winner

shama146, Dishaa and Amica like this.
  10. Swetha52003

Swetha52003 Gold IL'ite

SGBV, good luck and tons of best wishes to you and family to achieve whatever you wish… Are you considering USA? As MalStrom said , now the immigration and visas will improve under current administration..

You are a determined strong woman, SGBV.. whatever you decide, you will come out as a winner