Finest Post Nominations - July 2021

Discussion in 'Finest Posts of IL' started by Rihana, Jul 2, 2021.

1. Rihana

Taking a page from Cheeniya's book, I went in search of a poet whose lines I could borrow for this post. Poems were aplenty, but none of them fit the bill. Meanwhile, the paper calendar on my wall gave me the unflappable, impassive and nonchalant look that only a paper calendar can. There is no left or right arrow to click to avoid that day, month, or look. As a child, I used to fill in the blank box after 30 or 31 on the calendar with a day. Fortunately, before I resorted to that futile measure, I remembered that July has a few remarkable days.

July 6th is "The Day That John Met Paul." There is a book by that name which is an hour-by-hour account of the fateful day the two founding Beatles met in 1957. Sometimes you read a post and it feels like you have met a long lost connection or made a new one for life.

July 7th marks the birthday of the Comic Book. It’s an extra long weekend with the Fourth of July. The plan is to surround myself with all my Calvin and Hobbes collections. Each one. And then look for the one in which Calvin says this:
    "Everybody seeks happiness! Not me, though! That’s the difference between me and the rest of the world. Happiness isn’t good enough for me! I demand euphoria!"

Happiness or euphoria, which is preferable? Not sure. : ) What I do know is that I am eagerly looking forward to nominations from all members and @iyerviji, @Laks09 and @Viswamitra.

Happy July, folks. Hope yours is filled with connections of the kind we read in our favorite comic books.

2. iyerviji

Thyagarajan, Laks09 and Rihana like this.
  3. iyerviji

Thanks for the like pyari Rihana. Fast .waiting to read your comments

Rihana and Thyagarajan like this.
  4. Cheeniya

'Fab' is the word that springs instantly out of my mind when I read your maiden announcement as a judge of Finest Post Contest. Some people get noticed even as they enter and you undoubtedly belong to that elite category.
    I have no doubt that your entry will be a landmark in the long history of this enduring contest.
    Hearty welcome Rihana!

Amica, Viswamitra, Rihana and 5 others like this.
  5. iyerviji

My dear Anna

I agree cent percent with you.

Rihana and Thyagarajan like this.
  6. Thyagarajan

It is a great jotting about future happiness and not euphoria at all.
    Fellow members are happy upon your elevation and looking forward to your best judgements month after next next month.
    All the BEST.
    REGARDS.

Rihana and deepthyanoop like this.
  7. Srama

Dear @Rihana,

This is 'you' in your full essence. Beautifully written - you should have spent more time snippetting but very gald will get to read you here. Happy for you and dear @Cheeniya Sir, wise choice for a partner here - I can only see FP posts thriving.

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 2, 2021
    Amica, Thyagarajan, Rihana and 2 others like this.
  8. Laks09

Laks09 Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

@Rihana - I went looking for a poem that could be a suitable response but nothing seems to tick. I almost gave up on my quest when our very own poet @Mistt solved my predicament.

I landed she says…..

Wandered like a wind
    Liked and I have been staying on this wonderful place happily

She echoes my sentiments perfectly. Landing in a place, just staying to browse, wandering around and then staying on making friends and memories!

It feels poetic and just perfect to nominate I Landed by @Mistt as my first contribution as a nominator.
    IL is a lot of things to a lot of people but the camaraderie she spoke about is what I come for here the most!

Thank you for the opportunity! This is fun!

Amica, Mistt, Thyagarajan and 2 others like this.
  9. iyerviji

Welcome dear Laks to the.finest post forum as a nominator. Your first nomination itself is super and we all.have experienced what she has written

Your posts and your feedbacks are always
    awesome though.I.have not replied many
    I am not good at feedbacks
    Have to learn so much from younger.generation.

I know your nominations will be the best

10. Laks09

Laks09 Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

Thank you Viji Aunty! It’s good to be here!

Rihana, Thyagarajan and iyerviji like this.