Abhi Tho My Jawan Hoo

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by iyerviji, May 10, 2021.

Abhi to main jawan hoo (I am still young)

We do not remember days we remember moments. I remember some moments which are to be treasured. The moments which I spent with my friends in my childhood days. The moments I spent with my family, eating together, enjoying together, outing together.

In those old memories one was listening to Radio. Listening to songs in the Radio. I used to do my homework listening to Radio. One of my cousin used to say ask her she will tell which song is from which movie. Those days we used to wait to hear Binaca Geet Mala which used to come on Wednesdays from I think 8 pm. to 9 pm. The songs used to be the top songs and also to hear Amin Sayani's voice. He was the hero of that programme. When we were chatting today was just recollecting the old songs. I was telling that my dh thinks I am still a young lady. For whcih they were remembering the song Ye meri Shohra jabeen thuje maloom nahi and I was also remembering Jalte Hai jiske liye from Sujata Film. Oh those days the songs were so meladious . Now I cant remember the wordings.

Hope I can go back to those old times and enjoy life

Laks09, joylokhi, Thyagarajan and 2 others like this.

2. hrastro

hrastro Platinum IL'ite

Dear Vijima

There are many youtube videos of the old episodes of Binaca Geet Mala - you can check and listen to them!

Your memories triggered my own memory - Several several years back, it was my 21st birthday, I had just started working and my parents hosted a lunch for all my colleagues as they wanted to meet my new friends!

We were playing Antakshari as usual, guys team and girls team!! Till then my father was quiet - but as soon as he got an opening for "A" he stood up and started singing "Ae mere Zohari zabin" to my mother ..

I remember that all my friends found my parents so cool .... My parents are still the coolest!!

Nowadays there are no get togethers, No antaksharis !! Hope these times passes quickly and we are back to normal!
    Keep smiling
    HR

Thyagarajan and iyerviji like this.
  3. Thyagarajan

Many senior citizens among fellow IL’ites would join you in claiming “ABHI THO MY JAWAN HOO” . It is apparent from their alacrity in responding to posts besides their own threads.

We used to play until recently Antakshari when in Chennai there were frequent power shedding announced and unannounced. We used to welcome that forced blackouts when all family members had real get together. Even that get together got spoiled with mobile phone in hand in the dark, every one was looking only glowing face of others.

Radio is unforgettable for me even today. I play it while I get to show my hand in kitchen. It is great companion for almost six decades. That includes listening to Binaca Geet Mala, radio Ceylon for Tamil cine songs between five and six. Nowadays too it is Vivitha-Bharathi too good.

As long as one keeps mind engaged with intellectual and challenging activity, the person can not suffer senility.

It is good you are making jewellery and practice some other art forms.
    GodBless.

iyerviji, joylokhi and messedup like this.
  4. HariLakhera

HariLakhera Platinum IL'ite

We are what we feel and old memories help as boosters.

iyerviji and Thyagarajan like this.
  5. Thyagarajan

To keep one young in their old age listening to youthful songs be good such as

iyerviji likes this.
  6. iyerviji

Thanks dear. I will listen in you tube.Glad to k now about your parents .Ya these days no outing etc well are waiting for normal days

hrastro likes this.

8. iyerviji

Thanks for sharing your experience

9. iyerviji

True