Old Age Home - Luxurious

Discussion in 'Interesting Shares' started by Thyagarajan, Feb 10, 2021.

1. Thyagarajan

upload_2021-2-10_12-30-36.jpeg

But today’s old ade Home’s are very moder with varieties of facilities added including swimming pool, gymnasium medical facilities etc. there are homes for senior citizens which are better than monotonous homes. Have seen oldies playing indoor games and also in swimming pooling COIMBATORE. My views about these homes changed intoto.

COIMBATORE in south India flooded with senior luxury homes. Inmates offspring’s abroad remit funds for these seniors comfortable living. They all seemed to be happy in a gay abandon mood. There is bhajan and community cooking lot of eats. These homes even take care of last rites in case none turns up for conducting funeral rituals.

2. ashima10

ashima10 Platinum IL'ite

makes me shiver. i guess its a culture shock . not sure wrong right still thought is shuddering me!

shyamala1234 and Thyagarajan like this.
  3. Anusha2917

Anusha2917 IL Hall of Fame

Other day I saw this n thought of sharing. But I thought it'll invite unwanted flak from others and the debate about whether or not these homes are good will start.
    Anyways good point you mentioned. The modern old age homes are good with all the luxurious facilities you have mentioned. They are a good escape for people who want to be independent and not like to be controlled by their children.

joylokhi, Thyagarajan and ashima10 like this.
  4. Hopikrishnan

Hopikrishnan Platinum IL'ite

I have been looking at some of those places in Coinbatore. Quite nice !! Much better than what one could find in USA. Also easy travel to colder hilltop when the summer can be too hot.

For older people, the goal ought to be "dead before dementia". When you cannot focus the brain-cells to remember passwords for the websites, you might as well call it quits.

we must all strive to leave as much money as feasible to the young'uns we leave behind, because we had already caused them mischief in handicapping them with our genes.

5. hrastro

hrastro Platinum IL'ite

I had been to one such place in Coimbatore a few years back - my SIL's uncle and aunt had moved in there recently. We had gone on a trip during Dussera holidays and spent an afternoon there - very calm place, more women than men. Independent homes, well managed community eating (only vegetarian), community celebrations of the festival. They asked me to sing a prayer song as it was on Saraswati pooja day. When I sang "Sangeeta samrajya sancharini" - many of them, men and women too added to the chorus - that was a surprise! All living there were mostly in their 70s and were very excited to see our kids running around and were very indulgent!

From outside, it looked like Gated community Villas. Uncle and Aunty live in a 2-BHK independent home - aunty has a nice garden in front, she showed off the blooming colourful flowers, her puja room and "Her room" where she has enough technology to see/talk with her daughters abroad and her grandchildren too!

Uncle gifted us his latest book, his "room" and the hall is a Book lovers paradise - walls full of books and computer & technology for all the research he does!

When daughters come for a visit, they go on trips or they stay at the house itself! If they want, they cook - the kitchen is functional enough, else the community kitchen is available. If they want, the family can stay with them or they have guest suites too.

Another visit was at a Bangalore old-age home. One of the ladies had her 90th birthday and her son, daughter and families came from Australia to celebrate it. So, they had requested my music teacher if a music program could be arranged. We had a wonderful day there. Like a picnic !! 10 of us from our music group wore coordinating matching sarees and spent the day exploring their lifestyles, food. They had a good stage in a prayer hall (just a roof, 4 sides were open) and arranged speaker systems too. We sang about 15 keertanas + 10 bhajans.

In this one, there was no independent living - everyone had rooms like a hostel. 1 room, attached bath with 2 beds (could be couples, but this 90 year old had an attendant living with her)

Gardens, walking areas, a Goshala, organic farms to supply the milk and vegetables. It was also attached to an orphanage + school, the elderly who had energy could teach/mentor the kids there. Otherwise, the orphanage had its own staff too. The kids also attended our program and sang along with the bhajans. We had a sumptuous "banana leaf" lunch and were given tamboolams (coconut, haldi, kumkum) as appreciation!

Thank you for reminding me of both the experiences!
    In both the places, Any kind of city access, malls etc needs a cab to be booked. It is far from the Madding crowd.
    But ambulances and doctor visits and checkups are in-house. And healthy vegetarian food, gleaming kitchens and dining areas, books and yoga places, nice community activities, gardens, flowers, security, fittings everywhere for support - hand rails and ramps and wheelchair access... very thoughtfully planned places.

Keep Smiling
    HR

Last edited: Feb 11, 2021
  6. Thyagarajan

:hello:It is a “your’s Truly” FB thanks to @hrastro ( the Human Resource’s astrologer). Truly delighted.
    My MIT class mate cum family friend of Trichy/ Kolkata T - with his spouse are residents of Brindavan at COIMBATORE for over two decades and they are my source for the observations I had stated.
    He recently underwent cataract and some other major surgery a few years back when the facility management took excellent care of their requirements. I was quite impressed.
    But then, what impelled them to move to senior home? They have no remittance from abroad. There only spinster daughter P, at young age 22 her wedding just fixed, went to help her cousin in scooter - expired in a fatal accident. As a baby & toddler, she grew up on my shoulders. The couple and P lovers of Carnatic music. Mrs T is conducting bhajans and teach Carnatic music at this home.

Mr T learnt Sanskrit in Brindavan! I envy my friend and his spouse.
    I keep smiling!
    GOD - Kya-waha senior home!

hrastro likes this.
  7. hrastro

hrastro Platinum IL'ite

Hahaha HR are my initials - and yes, vedic astrology is one of my hobbies!

Mrs & Mr T sound wonderful.

I teach fun maths & vedic maths and due to covid lockdowns, I have found that my teaching methods work even when remote! And my audience is not only in my neighbourhood, but the entire world is my oyster! Even my student mentoring and counselling and parent meetings happen online nowadays.

Sanskrit has made a big comeback during the lockdown. I am also planning to teach spoken sanskrit classes from this September, along with some courses on Bhadraganita (Magic Squares of Boudhayana) and Patiganita (Arithmetic from Lilavati - the 1000 year old maths textbook in Sanskrit)

I imagine 20+ years into the future - I will be living in such a retirement nirvana (may still be called old-age-home) and remotely continuing to teach my classes to students all over the world !!
    Because all this technology and Artificial intelligence does not remove the need for a jeeta-jagta-bolta teacher/guide/mentor!

Keep smiling
    HR

8. Thyagarajan

:hello:
    Entire IL including me envy you for your knowledge nuggets from kitchen the next to the stocks in the East & West.

This takes to me to the two threads one on Sanskrit & the other to magic squares.

Ring Of Gold - Lures Lover, Money & Wisdom

Humour Sanskrit, Dad, & Mom And School Last Bench

In the absence of stationery, the first school was called Gurukul and at a young age the child was sent to stay 24x 7 with guru and render all services to him & his family while learning takes place under the shade of a tree. Teaching was only vocal no notes to write and disciples or sishyas remember it and recall it. They learnt most of sciences only in this manner. Teaching methods evolved from there to modern class rooms and now on line.

In next two decades with few more pandemics perhaps from online classrooms it would take teaching/learning process would take entirely a different dimension involving AI or not. Even present Net might be tossed aside with nextgen communication. Close your eyes you would know what is happening in battle field!

Thanks and Regards.

hrastro likes this.
  9. jayasala42

Life in senior citizen home is filled with fun and frolic.With children remaining in far off places happily with their families, we have to look after ourselves.They may not even care for a few lakhs which you may leave for them.We have already decided into moving into senior citizens' Home and already bought one in Chennai three years back.myself and husband lived there happily for months together.If you don't like their food you can cook.There is swimming pool.There is a really big walking space full of plants and trees with intermittent benches.It will be a mile if you go round once.There are shloka classes,Bhajans, kolu,Varalakshmi pooja, quiz classes,fun and frolic,kolam competition etc etc.There was thiruppaavai video taken with in mates with full philosophical explanation.Every month last day is a celebration day celebrating birth days of people born during the month.

I am waiting for pension issue to settle and bank accounts to reorganize after the loss of the head of the family. I am also moving into the home very soon.
    It is a beautiful two room, Hall kitchen apartment,ground floor ( no botheration about lift failure),fully furnished with sofa set,dining table,two cots,TV fridge and washing machine.Take 4 dresses,settle there.Gas connection through tube.No cylinders.
    Though there are such conveniences,one thing that lingers in everybody's mind is about the last day.As many of them are above 70, the news of death also reaches us very often and thought about our own last day automatically haunts us.But that is unavoidable. Whatever the years/months left you can live happily.You should have money to pay maintenance and food.
    Need not bother whether milkman arrived,if servant maid would come or not,no worry about groceries or vegetables.
    We should never commit the mistake of comparing the expenses-of what we spend at home and what we spend at old age home.There will be difference in thousands.Stop calculating,start enjoying.
    jayasala42

hrastro and Thyagarajan like this.
  10. Thyagarajan

After reading madam sister @jayasala42 feedback, many seniors would pack up and ready to move to senior retirement home. Nicely outlined all the merits and few demerits of staying in senior homes. Less botheration about due dates for various payments for home maintenance.
    Thanks and regards.