What Is Your “weakness” When It Comes To “food”?

Discussion in 'Healthy Living' started by anika987, Dec 18, 2020.

1. anika987

anika987 IL Hall of Fame

We all love food and also practice self control but there should be some temptations where in you lose complete control..what is one such food which makes you lose control?

Last edited: Dec 18, 2020

2. anika987

anika987 IL Hall of Fame

Let me begin with me..

Coffee....

If I do not have my coffee..my South Indian filter coffee to be precise..I go nuts! I simply love the taste.

I tried to let go of coffee and it did wonders to my mood but after a while life does not seem worth living without my morning cup of coffee:)

Atleast that one cup a day makes life worth living! The best feeeling in the world!

Plus anyone offers me coffee..even the worst problem in the world seems to fade away..

I am in love with coffee:)

What’s yours?

Madhurima21, meepre, madhat and 9 others like this.
  3. Metamorphic

Metamorphic Platinum IL'ite

Whenever I see Sweets, my limbs apparently act on their own to grab one.

Rihana, shravs3 and anika987 like this.
  4. Thyagarajan

:hello:When spouse in traditional attire approach me with a cuppa of decoction from powder of Pea berry plantation mixed in certain ratio and added to just boiled cow’s milk + a teaspoonful large crystal sugar in gunmetal tumbler tossed into davara few times and hands it to me, that is the moment it is heavenly.

2. Yes some days I felt it was antithesis - “hell” I mean - when no milk or and coffee powder especially for the first doze of the morning. As my dad used to say, First is laxative and second cuppa is Luxory.
    Whenever my dad was having coffee he would leave a mouthful for me. I do the same with my son. During train journey, during those days my mom used to carry along two thermos flasks separately one containing decoction and the other hot milk. I used to enjoy envying eyes of tamilian co passengers.

3. With stopping coffee one may feel agile for a while but body sensors convey its demand for caffeine and in its absence turn coffee addicts to a miserable one. The only occasion, I curse coffee is, if instead of into mouth it falls on my impeccable white dhoti.

4. Coffee is enemy for those who love tea for beverage. After all it is a romance.

Jai Coffee! Jai pea berry! Jai Plantation!

Thanks and Regards.

5. anika987

anika987 IL Hall of Fame

Well written! Always a pleasure to read what you write:)

MalStrom, Rihana and Thyagarajan like this.
  6. anika987

anika987 IL Hall of Fame

Any sweet in particular?:)

7. MalStrom

MalStrom IL Hall of Fame

The chilli bajjis sold in the street outside Rasi Silks in Mylapore. I don’t know if they still exist but we would always sneak there for a snack after school. Same with the dearly departed Himalaya juice shop.

8. Rihana

I call it "mixture" .. that's all. The term we used in childhood and that is what I still call it. That is what I write it as in the grocery list. Is it comfort food? Weakness? Does it make me lose control or is it just hard to resist after the first helping, I don't know for sure.

It has always been "mixture" that we bought from outside or home-made but by neighbors. My earliest memory is the neighbor aunty sending it over every few months. In the summer, she would make a bigger amount just for us and it was stored in a tall heavy-bottomed glass jar. As it neared empty state, I liked to eat the crunchy curry leaves and even the nimma-uppu granules (citric acid?). Mom used to yell at me that it will "cut" my tongue. : ) That aunty put the coconut pieces in it barely roasted. My mom wanted them more browned.

The local stores also sold it in small plastic packets costing a few Rs each. That was obviously stale and too oily, but still it was "mixture." As I moved to hostel and then to apartment when working, I always tested and found which store nearby had the best.

I am fortunate enough that even in the U.S., I have had friends who make it for me. Each with her own recipe.

As with many things, my preference for a particular type of "mixture" has got diluted or changed over the year. Now, Haldiram's many offerings are as tempting and a staple in my grocery list. Just the past few days, with some important semesters ending at home, me fervently hoping internet stays stable while they do the proctored exams : ) I finished 3/4 of a big size Haldiram Panchrattan packet. The students of the said semesters are kind enough to bring some to my room if I am in a meeting and want mixture. : )

I tried making it myself a few times. It comes out good enough but it tastes best when not made by me. Of all the mixtures I have had in my life, one packet stands out for its giver/sender and the way it was sent.

That does it.. Thanks to all this recall, I will go check the local stores and see which of the no-name plastic packets seems the best. No Haldiram for a while. Will give local enterprising desi women some business.

chivda.jpeg
    Source

9. Rihana

Agree!!

anika987 likes this.
  10. lavani

lavani Platinum IL'ite

north indian chats (pani puri and chats) once in 2 weeks, i run to the local indian sweet shot and have a guilty self treat.

anika987 likes this.