Why I Killed Gandhi- Nathuram Godse

Discussion in 'Interesting Shares' started by Thyagarajan, Dec 13, 2020.

1. Thyagarajan

:hello:WHY I KILLED GANDHI- Nathuram Godse:hello:
    With the permission of the Supreme Court, the speech of Hon'ble Nathuram Godse was published - "Why I killed Gandhi".

For 60 years it was forbidden!

As you all know - on January 30, 1948 Godse shot and killed Gandhiji. He did not escape from the scene of the shooting! He surrendered!

The lawsuit was filed against 17 others, including Godse.

During the trial, a request was made to the Chief Justice so that Nathuram could speak why he killed Gandhiji.

Permission was granted but subject to conditions! "Your speech should not go outside the court as per the instructions of the government"

Later, after a long lawsuit against this condition by his younger brother Gopal Godse, after about 60 years, permission was granted to keep his speech in public.

1. Nathuram thought - Gandhiji's policy of non-violence and Muslim appeasement is turning Hindus into cowards. Ganesh Shankar Vidyarthi was brutally killed by Muslims in Kanpur. And that Ganeshji was influenced by Gandhiji's style of thought - Gandhiji remained silent in his assassination!

2. The 1919 Jallianwala Bagh massacre was in full swing. Gandhi was asked to file a case against General Dyer, the villain who committed this heinous murder. But Gandhi had cleanly refused

3. Gandhi sowed the seeds of communalism in India by supporting the Khilafat movement! He used to describe himself only as a benefactor of Muslims. Mopla Muslims killed 1500 Hindus in Kerala and converted 2000 Hindus! Gandhiji did not even oppose!
    4. Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose won the Tripura session of the Congress with overwhelming support. But Gandhi's favorite candidate was Sita Ramayana! Subhash Chandra Bose was later forced to resign.
    5. March 23, 1931 - Bhagat Singh was hanged. The whole country requested Gandhi to stop the execution. Gandhi did not make this request considering Bhagat Singh's activity as inappropriate!

6. Gandhiji asked Hari Singh, the king of Kashmir, to resign - because Kashmir is a Muslim-majority state! He told Hari Singh to go to Kashi and do penance! But in the case of Nizam of Hyderabad is silent. Gandhiji's policy changed, especially religion. Later, due to the activism of Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel, Hyderabad was kept with India.

7. At that time the killing of Hindus was going on in Pakistan. Several Hindus migrated to India to save their lives. They took refuge in a mosque in Delhi. Muslims began to oppose it. On a terrible winter night, mothers, sisters, children and the elderly were all forcibly evicted from the mosque. Gandhi remained silent!

8. Gandhi arranged to read the Qur'an and pray in the temple! Instead, he could not arrange to read the Gita in any mosque! Numerous Hindus and Brahmins protested against it - Gandhi did not bother

9. Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel won the Lahore Congress, but Gandhi insisted on giving the post to Nehru. He was perfect in making his wish come true. Dharna, fasting, anger, stopping the conversation - with the help of these tricks he used to blackmail. He did not judge the decision either right or wrong.

10. On 14th June, 1947, there was a meeting of the All India Congress Committee in Delhi. The topic of discussion was the partition of India. This proposal was to be rejected. But strangely, Gandhi supported the proposal to divide the country. This is what he said one day - if he wants to divide the country, he has to do it on his dead body!

Millions of Hindus have died, but he has remained silent!

He never ordered the Muslims to maintain peace - as much as the advice is only on the Hindus!

11. Gandhi gave birth to "Muslim flattery" in the guise of secularism. When Muslims opposed making Hindi the state language - Gandhi admitted!

He gave a strange solution - "Hindustani" (Hindi and Urdu Khichri)! He began calling Badsha Ram, Begum Sita to say!

12. He bowed his head in opposition to some Muslims and did not allow "Bande Mataram" to become the national anthem!

13. Gandhiji has repeatedly called Chhatrapati Shivaji, Maharana Pratap, Guru Gobind Singh as misguided patriots! But there he used to call Muhammad Ali Jinnah "Qaeda Azam"! What a strange thing!

14. In 1931 the National Congress formed a committee to decide what the national flag of independent India would look like. This committee unanimously decided that there would be a flag of deep saffron cloth with a spinning wheel in the middle. But Gandhiji's insistence is to make it Teranga! All depended on his will!

15. When the proposal to rebuild the Somnath temple was put in Parliament on the initiative of Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel, he opposed it. He was not even in the cabinet! But strangely enough, he started a hunger strike on January 13, 1948 - to build a mosque in Delhi at the government's expense!

Why this duplicity? He may not think Hindus are Indians! Well, were you a Hindu at all?

16.It was decided by Gandhiji's mediation that - After independence, India will give 75 crore rupees to Pakistan. 20 crore was given at the beginning. The rest was 55 crores was to give later. But on October 22, 1947 Pakistan invaded Kashmir! For this betrayal of Pakistan, the Union Cabinet decided that the rest of the money would not be given to Pakistan. But he sat down with a stick! Started blackmail again - hunger strike again. In the end, the government was forced to pay the remaining 55 crore rupees to the traitorous Pakistan!

Seeing his love for Jinnah'and 'blind Pakistan love', I can say that he was in fact the father of Pakistan - not India. He speaks in support of Pakistan at every moment - no matter how unjust Pakistan's claim!
    (These are some statements of Nathuram Godse given in court.)

"I have a lot of respect for him. But no patriot can divide the country and we cannot allow any patriot to divide the country and favor a particular community. I did not kill Gandhi - I killed him – killed him. I had no choice but to assassinate Gandhiji. He was not my enemy - but his decision brought danger to the country. When a person has no other way - then to take the right path to do the right thing.
    I was disturbed by Gandhiji's support in building the Muslim League and Pakistan. Gandhiji went on a hunger strike to get Rs 55 crore for Pakistan. The plight of the Hindus who migrated to India for persecution in Pakistan stunned me. Unbroken Hindu state was not possible for Gandhiji to bow down to the Muslim League. It was unbearable for me to see my mother split into pieces for one of her son. I became a foreigner in my own country.

He was abiding by all the injustices of the Muslim League. I decided that I must kill Gandhiji to save Mother India from disintegration and misery. And that is why I killed Gandhi.

I knew I would be hanged for it and I was ready for it. And if it is a crime to protect the motherland here - then I will commit such a crime again and again - every time. And until the Indus River flows into the whole of India – do not immerse my bones. At the time of my execution, I had a saffron flag in one hand and a map of the whole of India in the other. Before I go to the gallows, I want to say the victory of Mother India.
    O Mother India - I am very sorry that I have been able to serve you only this. "

(A WhatsApp message)

mbharani and chanchitra like this.

2. Agathinai

Agathinai Gold IL'ite

With all due respect, it’s a brutal assassination. An assassin version of justifications which had been released and Gandhiji isn’t here to make his stance and clear it, as well as Gotse for his later stance and regrets he might have gone through.

Sorry I am apparently confused about why Naturam Gotse is given “Honourable” title. Did the Supreme Court give this title. And if so I would appreciate if you can give the link.

Whether one likes or not, India is still a secular state in the eyes of the world even if being ruled by the right wing now.

Sorry, I didn’t accept many of the justifications which are totally biased and feel we have a long way to go with respect to make a society a tolerant one. It’s more than 70 years and we seem to praise an assasin’s version of justification who had killed our “Father of Nation”. Gandhiji might have had his faults but it doesn’t mean that Gotse is a figure to be applauded. Is it the current trend and maybe I am so ignorant. But it’s quite new to me.

I feel these kind of forwarded messages are incendiary and being spread on Whatsapp. Maybe I am just feeling so but I am sorry this is how I feel.

@Thyagarajan
    Sir, this answer is in respect to the content and nothing against you. It’s more concerning about such forwards.

@Cheeniya Sir
    I am sorry if my reply is unacceptable for many here if so please delete it.

Last edited: Dec 14, 2020
    Lalithambigai and Mistt like this.
  3. chanchitra

chanchitra Platinum IL'ite

interesting read and a different perspective

4. Thyagarajan

:hello:
    2. For more read review of the book in link
    Why I Killed Gandhi

5. Balajee

I don't understand why you posted this here. I agree that Gandhi was not an ideal man. This idol too has feet of clay. He made mistakes. On the one hand he claimed to be a democrat but on the other , he enforced his will by holding the party to ransom with threats of fast unto death or of quitting politics. He was not very receptive of contrarian views. When Subash Chandra Bose was elected Congress pesident defeating Gandhi's candidate Gandhi did not take it a sportingly and openly said Pattabhi's defeat is my defeat" He left no stone unturned to make Bose step down. Despite all his flaws, assassination is not part of the solution but of the problem.

Thyagarajan, Agathinai and Mistt like this.
  6. Thyagarajan

Thanks for your views.
    2. A book is already published and it is all in public domain. Ref to book is available in link:

Why I Killed Gandhi

Long back, News papers and Magazines the world over - have reviewed the above book including Times of India, Mumbai edition.

3. I have not expressed here any of my views on the subject. My intent was only to convey whatever “ Nathuram Godse” felt in the hall of justice. It would be of interest to archive the renowned news papers of the world published on the day very next. Motives of assassin (38) and threadbare debates and discussion available in link:
    Assassination of Mahatma Gandhi - Wikipedia

An excerpt from above link turn eyes moist blurring vision through which I read the passage indicating premonition of Father:

Gandhi, aged 78, was weighed after his bath and was 109.5 pounds (49.7 kg). He then ate lunch with Pyarelalji discussing Noakhali riots. After lunch, states Manuben, Gandhi napped. After waking up, he had a meeting with Sardar Dada. Two Kathiawar leaders wanted to meet him, and when Manuben informed Gandhi that they wanted to meet him, Gandhi replied,

"Tell them that, if I remain alive, they can talk to me after the prayer on my walk"

7. armummy

armummy Platinum IL'ite

A killer is a killer , no one should ever glorify a a killer That too one who killed a freedom fighter fighting against British.

He deserves no mercy nor respect.

Last edited: Dec 14, 2020
    Agathinai, Lalithambigai and Mistt like this.
  8. Agathinai

Agathinai Gold IL'ite

Books are biased and makes one sided stories often.

I read more about this Godse cult. It’s related to political influence and spread of disinformation as well. Ring wing politicians make such twists and turn to convince their base and glorifying Godse and vilifying Gandhiji.

Gandhi’s Killer Evokes Admiration as Never Before

Why India's Hindu hardliners want to sideline Mahatma Gandhi

Mistt, Lalithambigai and Thyagarajan like this.
  9. Thyagarajan

In the present milieu Hindutva is gaining press columns and media debates and the contents of a book has gained wider reach. There is much debate “ present events” vs socialism.

My intent was fellow members born in and after 1980 in IL might show interest to know more of Mahathma and circumstances leading to his assassination.
    Thanks and Regards.

umaakumar likes this.
  10. Mistt

Mistt IL Hall of Fame

Agathinai likes this.