What Has Your Spouse Done That You Cherish The Most?

Discussion in 'Married Life' started by Laks09, Dec 10, 2020.

1. Laks09

Laks09 Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

I thought it will be fun to share one gesture of your spouse that has made your heart go dhak dhak. This year has been long. Most of us haven’t been able to meet extended families or friends. We’ve mostly been cooped up at home, juggling work/home/school making it an extraordinary year for everyone.
    I’m trying to end the year with a positive note. The gesture doesn’t have to be from this year. It can be anything that moved you. We can revisit this thread next year and read our posts.

2. Laks09

I can go first.
    Actually this year with the DH home, it’s been ok for me. I’m liking this. Don’t know what he thinks.
    The incident happened a few years ago. DH woke up at 3:00 AM to leave on an early flight. He traveled for 4 hrs and had just landed when I called him. One of my kids was giving me a very hard time and I just was struggling. It happens and he talks to me and we come up with a strategy. That day my voice gave away my exhaustion. He got back on that very same flight, let go of his important stuff and came back. He told me nothing is more important than us. That made me look at him like my knight in shining armor. He cooked something quickly, fed me and told me to just go sleep before going to the bus stop to pick up the kid. I don’t know what was spoken during that ride but I woke up to a clean house, folded laundry and a very remorseful child.

That has been my most cherished moment. I know I can call and he will come. He brushed it off that day. Even now, when I mention it, he brushes it off. I remember that often and remind the kid often enough :grimacing:.

SunPa, amunique, Thyagarajan and 11 others like this.
  3. Novalis

Novalis Gold IL'ite

Hello doobyda! Kitna pyaara thread hai! I am itchy to respond.

If the thread is not strictly on spouse, and, if, I may, interpolate to my quirk, as an inquiry on any timelord-styled companion in his tardis adventure, from the past, future, some hypothetical, some alt-universe, a man, or a composite of men, in a fun-slam to share a memorable gesture of the mosaic of men who made my heart go dhak dhak -- it's -- (drumroll) language and communication. I cherish the language in him.

... and the aspiration he sneaked into me to cultivate a higher form of language and expression groomed by him, observing him in a lazy dialogue, heated contention or even a causal analysis of a thought-experiment where he invariably outperforms. Not an instance or event but the sweep and presence. Every utterance, the ability to communicate even a theory or sentiment in such stupendous flair. I cherish the influence sourced from his inimitable presence to improve my juvenile communication compared to his suavity. That has moved me intensely.

I treasure such influences, even if they are intangible.

To advance me in envy, in frustration, in optimism, in conceit of having improved, in distress of the illusion of having improved, when undyingly he fuels that agony and ecstasy in me to ascend. His expanse and effective communication unnerves me.

I wish ....someday (like the Black Eyed Peas song in 'Knight and Day' film), I could talk and persuade like him in intellect and wit. All I do today is grunt against his finesse.

I cherish that aspiration he is responsible in the amateur me, to promote my private growth, while he outshines in education and language and is quite a coveted paragon.

One day I'd like to articulate an observation, any proposal, an approach in that outstanding command of his nurtured language in me whereby I am heard in clarity even if it's not to agreement, and I experience a sense of having explained it to the fullest expression possible.

What can I say? This ridiculous claim is the fondest and best gesture of that hypothetical, alt-universe man.

(I know: I never assert things to point. You asked about spouse, and here I am blabbering about 'dhak dhak' vocalization in language about this inscrutable man of mine from Gallifrey which I cherish the most. Hiding behind the chair: I have a feeling, the moderator might delete my gibberish post by morning stating violation of community standards in a self-indulgent psycho-babble)

4. Laks09

Had I known, I would have started the thread sooner. Aap aaye, bahaar aaya!

Of course not! You significant other or future significant other works too.

ahem!!! Composite of men? You've intrigued me. Inquiring minds want to know what exactly is the definition of this said composite?

We know @Novalis! We know! We love your forays into language as well. We didn't realize it applied to the partner with such intensity.

Hold on, there is somebody out there, somewhere, who is better at this than you? Now that in itself has piqued my interest and moved me.

I see this again the same day? Kitne logon ko samjhau? Don't undermine yourself so much. We know your finesse around here. Know your own linguistic abilities.

Hypothetical alt-man is a great person to chat about. There is this one thing though, I'm just glad I'm not your Mom today. Imagine looking for a rishta with all of the above demands. And this is only the first of many such qualities I'm sure :)

I created the thread to have some conversations. Your post is the best thing that could have happened to the thread today.

I don't watch Dr Who but if you said he was from Asgard, I would go dhak dhak with you!

Hmmm. I don't think so. But they may put a disclaimer on top saying fictitious characters from galaxies outside of the milky way should not be compared to spouses IRL to cause more drama here next week.

5. Novalis

Novalis Gold IL'ite

Haan ji! I suspected you would x-ray me about it. I typed ‘composite of men’ and wondered, if it’s Draupadi sounding. Replaced with something which was feverishly docile as Sita. Reverted to ‘composite’ assuming such psycho-babble post might evade scrutiny. But who am I underestimating, someone whose accomplished and charming husband darts back home sensing her uneasiness. (I should have replaced with that evocative of Sita)

Truth be told, I was elated seeing your post on the fondness between you both. I always root for solidarity in a couple and your recollection heartened me.

I wanted to write something, anything, composite, granite or algebra but not skip your lovey initiative.

Thyagarajan, Rihana and Laks09 like this.
  6. Laks09

You know me too well.

Thank you for saying this. It means a lot. I know your standards and I'm elated!

Thank you for stepping in! I loved your something about the composite dude.

Thyagarajan, Viswamitra and Rihana like this.
  7. Novalis

Novalis Gold IL'ite

Oye, had you tracked my historical activity, you'd have noticed, I always swoop on 'happy' threads.
    Gaana wana, bhalle baja, happy spouse and hypothetical partners are my alley.

We both are enough to give Madhuri a run for her dhak dhak in our reinvented inter-galactic dhaklings!
    Asgard bhi chalega! All that hammer-wielding and biceps will come handy in fixing house repairs in spousal support.

Will these inter-galactic men cause more nuisance than the existing terrestrial spouses? Some philosophical rumination.

We usually meet and depart over some bollywood gaana. Your hubsy returning home early reminded me of this sweet melody. (Sometimes you walk towards me and sometimes I do in mutual need.)

So oye ya, happy-wala threads I am ever garrulous.

Thyagarajan and Laks09 like this.
  8. Viswamitra

@Novalis

You must be wondering what is this fly doing in a workshop? Your criteria of a good companion brought me here especially after @Rihana nominated your post (the content) to the best of December 2020. I have decided to create a much more detailed criteria for you to add to your expectations:

1) English Language skill - William Shakespeare
    2) Internal Affairs - Carlo Bruny Sarkozy
    3) Financial skills - John D. Rockefeller
    4) Innovation - Steve Jobs
    5) Scientific knowledge - Albert Einstein
    6) External Affairs - None
    7) Technological knowledge - Sundar Pichai
    8) Knowledge of tourist spots - Wendy Perrin
    9) Child care - Janet Lansbury
    10) Healthcare & Hygiene - Dr Anthony Fauci
    11) Appearance - Tom Cruise
    12) Cooking skills - Gordon Ramsay
    13) Political strategist - Winston Churchill
    14) IQ Level - Marilyn vos Savant
    15) Investigation - Robert S. Mueller

pocahontas, Thyagarajan and Laks09 like this.
  9. DavenaRosalie

DavenaRosalie Silver IL'ite

he took care of me when I had my operation and I really appreciate that.

Thyagarajan, Laks09 and Hopikrishnan like this.
  10. hridhaya

hridhaya Gold IL'ite

@Laks09,

This happened during last year winter vacation.

The night before our trip, we both had a huge fight about something and neither of us were feeling excited to go on the trip. But we still packed our bags and left home. We reached the airport and as we were getting ready to board the flight, he throws a sudden surprise with upgraded tickets just for me and the kid. While I was keeping to myself thinking about the previous night, he had quickly changed his mood and decided to do something nice.

I really admire his ability to not hold any grudge and bounce back to normalcy quickly.

Last edited: Dec 12, 2020