Aware & Beware Websites Fraud

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by Thyagarajan, Sep 17, 2020.

1. Thyagarajan

:hello:AWARE & Beware websites fraud:hello:

What is the difference between "http" and "https"?

Time to know this, with 32 lakh Debit Cards compromised in India!
    The main difference between "http://" and "https://" is all about keeping you secure.

"http" stands for "Hyper Text Transfer Protocol".

The "s" (big surprise) stands for "Secure".

If you visit_ _a Website or Web Page, and look at the address in the Web Browser, it is likely to begin with the following: "http://"

This means that the Website is talking to your Browser using the regular unsecured language.
    In other words, it is possible for someone to "eavesdrop" on your computer's_ _conversation with the Website.
    If you fill out a form on the Website, someone might see the__information you send to that site.

This is why you NEVER ever enter your Credit Card Number in an "http://" Website!

But if the Web Address begins with "https://", that means your Computer is talking to the Website in a Secure Code that no one can eavesdrop on.
    Now, hope you understood why this is so important.
    If a Website ever asks you to enter your Credit/Debit Card Information, you should_automatically look to see if the Web Address begins with "https://" or http://

If it is http:// ,
    then you should NEVER enter any Sensitive Information such as a Credit/Debit Card_ _Number etc.

NEXT

While checking the name of any Website, first look for the domain extension (Eg: ".com" or ".org", ".co.in", ".net" etc).
    The name just before this is the domain name of the Website.
    Eg: in the above case,_
    "http://amazon.diwali -festivals.com", the word before ".com" is "diwali-festivals" (and NOT "amazon"). So, this Webpage does not belong to_"amazon.com" but_ _belongs to "diwali-festivals.com", which we all haven't heard of before.You can_ _similarly check for bank frauds.
    Before your e-banking logins, make sure that the name just before ".com" is the name of your bank. Eg: "something. icicibank.com" belongs to icici; but, "icicibank. some1else.com" belongs to_ _"some1else."_*
    This is a very Simple, but an Important and Necessary Piece of Information.

ALL THE BEST WITH YOUR ONLINE BANKING.
    MY FRIEND booked 2 tickets for USA EX CHENNAI . HE lost a fabulous amount thinking that he was buying air passage at great discount.

2. HariLakhera

HariLakhera Platinum IL'ite

Very useful information. Net frauds are becoming very common now and seniors in particular should be very careful. Thankfully most seniors are not in shopping so much.

joylokhi, Thyagarajan and kaluputti like this.
  3. iyerviji

Thanks for the information

4. RoshiniMichael

RoshiniMichael New IL'ite

Thank you so much for sharing. So far I didn't know about this and hereon this will help me to be careful.

5. Thyagarajan

:hello:windfall dont fall for it mobile pay:hello:

Beware of the emerging Mobile Money fraudulent tricks.

Someone can send you money on your phone. It will usually be a small amount, say 2000/=.

Then they will call you to to say they made a mistake, that they were sending airtime to someone else.

Then they ask you kindly to reverse it and send it back to them. Please, DON'T YOU SEND IT BACK.

That's a trick for them to steal your PIN in the process of you sending the money back.

In the next few seconds they will access your mobile money account and steal all your reserves on your mobile money account.

Don't feel guilty that you have taken their 2000 immorally.

When that person rings you, tell them you are ready to return their money in cash if they are ready to meet you at a secure police station.

And they should be able to prove that the mobile number that they used to mistakenly send the money is theirs, and that it is validly registered by a legal telecom provider.

Hopefully you will have managed to escape their fraudulent trick for now.

Please send this to family and friends who use mobile money services.

Last edited: Oct 13, 2020
    Needtobestrong and joylokhi like this.
  6. HariLakhera

HariLakhera Platinum IL'ite

Good Info. Thanks.

7. pinkydarling

pinkydarling Platinum IL'ite

Thanks for information

8. Needtobestrong

Needtobestrong Platinum IL'ite

Thanks for sharing sir, but can you explain how someone can steal money when we reverse the transaction ? Like if we enter UPI pin how will they steal, and if the payment app needs OTP authorisation, I.e OTP sent by SMS then how will they get hold of it for fraudulent transactions?
    Can anyone explain this..
    I’m asking because in this situation, we are making cashless payments to so many vendors using different payment wallets and apps.. so want to be safe.

9. Thyagarajan

:hello: Trick WhatsApp To Act As Diary, notebook, groceries list....:hello:

To keep a personal diary or groceries list or even a sort of bulletin board or any important notes at spots meeting places save in WHATSAPP .

The trick is as below:

Did something embarrassing like this?? Okay, I will let you know acool whatsapp trick whereyou can list down your grocery list, daily goals and write whatever the ******** you want, as I do

Follow the below steps:

1.Create WhatsApp group adding one person ( I added my daughter, because daughters are cool!)

2. Delete the person from group (Sorry daughter just for fun)

3. now the group is exclusively for you, don’t forget to pin it.

Your diary in WhatsApp ready.

Last edited: Oct 20, 2020
  10. Thyagarajan

:hello:
    Only (ethical) hackers can unravel but until then be guarded. If someone is investing a substantial amount into snother’s Account for future gains, there must be some method to it. Regret I am not a telecom nor it professional to discover this ingenious steps behind making quick bucks.

Thanks and Regards.