Pathetic Woman Buying Flowers For Herself

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by Rihana, Aug 8, 2020.

1. Rihana

Pathetic Woman Buying Flowers For Herself
    "There goes another pathetic woman buying flowers for herself," mocked our dear colleague, Eric B., spinning the chair around in his cubicle. We women had long declared Eric as irreformable in terms of workplace etiquette. Every Friday around 4pm, Augustin the flower guy showed up in the office parking lot with his pick-up truck filled with carnations, roses and gerbera daisies. A genial and ever-smiling guy, he always waved wildly to us through the glass windows. That was our cue to make a beeline towards the front entrance and for Eric to shake his head and pass comments no one really heard or took offence with.

Most of us, including me, were single. Indulging ourselves by spending five dollars on flowers started off the weekend on a happy note. At some point in time, for some reason I cannot identify now, I stopped buying flowers for myself. It became easier to buy them for others. The few times I did buy them for myself, I fretted over each bloom that broke off from its stem way before the others. Each petal that fell from the flower launched me into fresh despair no less than that of the girl in O. Henry's "The Last Leaf."

I cannot deny the joy fresh flowers bring into my life for the days they last. Spending on intangibles and things or events that we "experience" is not something I hesitate to do. But, there is something about fresh flowers -- they will for sure wilt away -- that discourages me from buying them. It would cost only seven or eight dollars twice a month to buy them, but I always talk myself out of it when at the grocery store or Costco. Even if the checkout line is slow and I am standing next to the flower aisle for long, I resist the temptation.

This really has to change. I deserve better. The flowers bring me joy. A happier me means a happier household. My daughter and son will observe mom investing time and money on her own happiness and thus teach them a lesson in the importance of self-care. It will make my stride more confident as I push my cart out of the grocery store. I won’t look covetingly at the flowers in another woman's cart, thinking to myself, "There goes a confident woman who buys flowers for herself." Instead, we will acknowledge our shared prudence with a quick smile as we walk back to our cars.

Last edited: Aug 8, 2020
    SpringB, Amica, Thyagarajan and 9 others like this.

2. Rihana

How about you? Do you buy flowers for yourself? Or is it more that you buy "for your home"? How often? If not, why don't you buy?

Also, did you have to train your husband over the years on how to buy flowers? Did you ever get really mad at him when he spent too much on flowers for a special occasion?

Thyagarajan and nandinimithun like this.
  3. MalStrom

MalStrom IL Hall of Fame

I buy flowers for the house from November to April. Nothing fancy, just the grocery store bunches. The rest of the year I pick them from my yard. Husband will occasionally show up with an arrangement and I never ask what it costs.

Rihana and Thyagarajan like this.
  4. sarvantaryamini

sarvantaryamini Gold IL'ite

Rihana, why the guilt? If you feel so much about them wilting away, you could place them in a vase with flower food (supplied with the bouquet) and keep them for a week or so. Spending on oneself should be okay as long as it is not at the cost of family. Especially for women. A little indulgence and self-pampering should be totally fine.

5. Giri12

Giri12 Gold IL'ite

Next time when i will see that beautiful bunch of flowers i am gonna buy them for myself without hesitation. I will not wait for any celebration or any special moment. I think it will create a beautiful memory only after i buy it:blush:

6. ashima10

ashima10 Platinum IL'ite

I m not a flower person but i see a bigger picture here. i would totally invest in getting food just for myself.

now i feel i do spend on my skin care too which i never thought before.Still a long way to go.

7. shyamala1234

Dear Rihana,
    I buy flowers for my home and indoor plants too. They give home a kind of serenity, nature inside the house. That changes the mindset too and make me a happier me! Is it not a reason enough to buy flowers....zindagi Gulzar hai!

Rihana, Thyagarajan and KashmirFlower like this.
  8. nandinimithun

nandinimithun IL Hall of Fame

I am not a flower person, and i buy them only for pooja purposes.
    The one thing which i buy for myself and have been buying since college days are earrings....
    Nandini

9. HariLakhera

HariLakhera Platinum IL'ite

Once, on my morning walk, during the time when almost every tree is blooming in colorful leaves and flowers, I picked up, or should I say snatched and I heard someone commenting from behind me, 'Flowers look better on trees/plants'.

Rihana, Thyagarajan and kaluputti like this.
  10. sarvantaryamini

sarvantaryamini Gold IL'ite

But that dilemma shouldn't be there for a bouquet :grinning:. And I have heard this comment so many times. Once the sin is committed it is better to go ahead and enjoy rather than repent :tongueclosed: