Covid19- How Has Your Routine Changed, What Are You Doing To Cope Up With Being Cooped Up

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by Vaikuntha, Mar 16, 2020.

1. Angela123

Angela123 Gold IL'ite

Anika,

The time line of vaccine is tentatively 2 years because if they find a vaccine now, the production of it needs quite a bit of process and approval and it will take 1-2 years to hit the market. And we do not have a vaccine yet. So the possibilities are things going back to "a new normal" with restrictions executed.

Where I live,things are reopening from May 3, gyms and some other facilities are open after May 3rd. In most of the places the predicted peak point of curve is in April-May. So things should go back to normal with conditions in place.

If your county has a stay home order at the time of your pooja, it is not a good idea to host it. Check local newspapers to find out what is going on. The gathering has to be according to the ordinances prevailing at the time.

It can easily work from home when compared to some other professions. So what I have heard here is those who can work from home will work from home for some more time. This is what my work place has decided for now.

As for celebrations, people will have to come up with new ways to celebrate. I know some neighborhoods had easter egg hunting,it was not with all the kids together. They still had fun. People attended engagement and birthday parties, had birthday rallies (my kid's friend had this) keeping social distancing.

anika987 likes this.
  2. Rihana

When going out, avoiding lipstick and earrings with masks. I no happy.

Vaikuntha and Angela123 like this.
  3. lavani

lavani Platinum IL'ite

what started as fun with family , now is more stress. handling kids and H all the time, even with H help. now too much fights in home for no reason.

Vaikuntha likes this.
  4. Milaani001

Milaani001 New IL'ite

This pandemic changed our routine a lot. I and my husband work from home..not moving out except it's really urgent like grocery, pharmacy etc.whenever I move out for grocery shopping I never found sanitizer, gloves etc.For these things I have to order online at double rate than usual....but finally thank god at least they deliver online..being at home all the time is never easy in today's life,,but life is more important than anything else....Jaan Hai to Jahan Hai .

Vaikuntha likes this.
  5. twig

twig New IL'ite

Much relaxed, flexible timings at work, only part-time, self-chosen timings, that too. Although I am worried about the plight of the poor and it gets me a little worked up when I read about these. Able to focus on exercise, meditation, de-cluttering etc more. Able to catch up on long-pending tasks at work, at my own pace and choice. My needs are few, so I don't get upset too much about not able to buy stuff. So, overall, much calmer and cool.

Vaikuntha likes this.
  6. sanjuruby3

sanjuruby3 Platinum IL'ite

Omg.. i was thinking same things... We do halloween and diwali ge togethers, small though. Me and my family do love halloween...:))
    What about summer backyard party .. Everything gone. Some of my friends do ganesha.

What about cleaners - Since anyways they do cleaning job with bleach, should i ask her. with gloves and mask and head cover. It hard to do cleaning with masks on btw.
    What about theaters/malls. So many employees who worked there.
    I heard online clothes have become very cheap but still people not buying.

anika987 likes this.
  7. Needtobestrong

Needtobestrong Platinum IL'ite

Can you tell me in which online portal clothes have become cheap? I need to make some online purchases of daily wear simple clothes and personal wear etc.( can guess why clothes are not in demand...it’s risky to try on the clothes due to fear of infection and fear that someone has already tried on..and low demand as all are cooped up inside...and if u wash them before wearing, you can’t return if it doesn’t fit..quite tricky.)

Thyagarajan and anika987 like this.
  8. sanjuruby3

sanjuruby3 Platinum IL'ite

Try gap/kohls/jcp or macys or try amazon. Also, people worry about their jobs, so to save money, they spending less. Then other things have shot up in prices, santiziers ,grocery + delivery . Also people, now y are not going out at all so keeping upto trend does not really matter at this time. This summer will not be same.

Needtobestrong likes this.
  9. FreshDewdrops

FreshDewdrops Bronze IL'ite

I am thinking this site has more American indian ladies

10. Needtobestrong

Needtobestrong Platinum IL'ite

Doesn’t matter to me where ladies are residing..India or abroad....i appreciate the inputs and perspectives given by women from different places , different backgrounds and different age groups...