Senior Citizens Of Wisdom

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by sln, Apr 4, 2020.

1. sln

sln Platinum IL'ite

Let me give you the case study of a gentleman,85,sitting on a pile of FDS.He has five children and eight granchildren.He has distributed over a crore each apart from a house.He will sweat it out in Chennai weather but will not allow ACs to be switched on[exception only for me].He will question even a 50 Rs increase in salary to the maid.He is saving 50000 Rs for each of his eight grandchildren every year.
    Another case-My sister[70] does all the cooking while her DIL goes around in scooter.WHY? Sister says that she cant offend her DIL because only her son and Dil have to do the last rites. The attachment of over 3/4 decades cannot be alienated just like that.
    Regards.SLN

2. Thyagarajan

:hello:
    Rib tickling

It happens often with me too.
    But in your case it is reversed.
    But then I thought she makes only. THE MILAGOOTAL.
    QUITE ENTERTAINING FULL MARKS STRAIGHT TO THE PODIUM OR WINNIN STAND FOR APRIL 2020 AWARD BY IL. @cheenia Requested kindly do make a note of my nomination.
    @sln is percipient interpreter of senior citizens & public mood.
    GOD - blesseth the Humourist.

Last edited: Apr 5, 2020
  3. sln

sln Platinum IL'ite

Dear Thyagarajan,
    Thanks for your detailed analysis and comments on the article.I maintain that age is not a barrier for humour.Many think that seniors have become impervious to emotional upheavels-they are not but have learnt to hide their emotions. The reason they dont come out is ,not to upset the apple cart.As always wonderful to have your FB.
    SLN

4. Srama

Dear Sln Sir,

Thank you for giving us a peek into the senior citizen life style with in your community! It is nice to read about the friendships, camaraderie and humour in the relationships. No matter what age, it goes to prove having like minded people even if not deep friendships help us live life better. So glad to read about the wonderful relationships developing. Perhaps the sense of belonging comes from the like mindedness and is even enjoyable with the group.

Enjoyed reading...GAMAPA is such a lovely name, not to mention all the other nick names :)

5. sln

sln Platinum IL'ite

Do appreciate your discerning comments on the write up.Two things torment the seniors.One is loneliness [particularly singles] and the second is uncertainty.We cant discuss the past as it has become a chapter of Indian History and future is daunting.Therefore we have to live for the present and what better way than to closet ourselves with peer group and relax as well as gain confidence in dealing with pressure..The beauty is that every member gains some way or other from this association.
    Thanks.SLN

Srama and Thyagarajan like this.
  6. Novalis

Novalis Gold IL'ite

Kudos to the humorist in you, the ability to tease out humour in aged gatherings. I liked the "bullet train" nickname on your friend.

Recently, I, too, was toying with futuristic retirement and elderly living with my wacky friends (most of them avowed to be happily single recounting their flirtations of youthful past). Decided that conventional retirement homes might oust us over our pop-themed Friday night dance parties, not to mention, bored by the sedate retreats within the old-age campus. Hopeful that one amongst us would own some rickety farm house that others would swoop by as housemates.

So far we have only had consensus on the name plate inspired by Mike Dowdall's book "Coots and Biddys". A big plaque -- "Beware of the muttering coots and whining biddys within the walls", to forewarn the visitors.

I am yet to pitch my acceptance in that B & C home as my friends are alarmed of that fact that I might push them to their calorific death with my maddening and decadent cooking, starting with breakfast of buttered pancakes with syrup, cherries and bananas, even if they convince me to ease out on clotted cream.

I hope your 'senior citizens of wisdom' have better innings than our proposed nuthouse.

Last edited: Apr 5, 2020
  7. sln

sln Platinum IL'ite

1. starting with breakfast of buttered pancakes with syrup, cherries and bananas, even if they convince me to ease out on clotted cream.

I hope your 'senior citizens of wisdom' have better innings than our proposed nuthouse.

2. The breakfast suggestion augurs well for the association.Having lived in retirement homes for over 2 years after Mythilis demise I have a fairly good idea what life is like.Freedom from cooking and house keeping is a very good reason to look for a home.A wider circle of friends in an established home makes life interesting. Food is one item where no two will agree.
    3. Happiness depends on the right choice of the location,premises and friends.
    4. Advance congrats for buttered pancake with syrup,cherries and bananas.Being a diabetic I enjoy them on paper.Regards.SLN

8. Thyagarajan

:hello:That is cent percent true.wellsaid.
    Thanks and Regards.

9. sln

sln Platinum IL'ite

We like to buy peace at any cost including damage to self esteem, having had more than a fair share of turbulence in our lives.Pocket it and forget it ,my boss used to say when I had to cross swords with bureaucrats in my official life.The same holds true now but daughters make a delightful difference.SLN

10. kaluputti

kaluputti Platinum IL'ite

sln ji, I really enjoyed reading your original and the subsequent posts, why all of them. You must be extremely lucky to have people of the same mental wavelength around, to be enjoying your life.Sure 'me too' loved the nick names...ha.ha..! and amulet,about " many young things would gladly marry a gentleman of substantial independent means, and especially one who is owning upmarket flat".. consider sln's remark... "girls have a wider choice instead of hitching on to cardiac,diabetic, prostrate and gastro patients".it will be very difficult to find a healthy person, leave alone the seniors, even youngster nowadays have umpteen health problems..Everything comes in as a package. Being a senior, I also agree with todays younger gen not needing the seniors' advice/suggestions/thoughts since the information boom made available to them thru the media, social platforms etc are more than what they can chew..and it is always...'My teacher is always right' attitude too.

sln likes this.