Thriller: The Ultimate Choice

Discussion in 'Stories (Fiction)' started by Tamrakshar, Jan 25, 2020.

1. Tamrakshar

Tamrakshar Platinum IL'ite

Whatever is written in this episode, I think the motive of the kidnapper doesn't look good at all. Thanks for your feedback Mistt.

Mistt likes this.
  2. Tamrakshar

Thanks Riverstream for your comment. My guess is this may not be the voice of a ghost.

Riverstream likes this.
  3. Tamrakshar

Hello folks! Hence onwards, I warn you, you will require some nerves. The next episode is coming at 9 PM.

4. Tamrakshar

Episode 11

Everything went according to his plan. After dropping his children along with the luggage in his ancestral home in Visakhapatnam rural mandal, he wanted to meet Mr Reddy, a bank manager, before meeting his college friend Suresh Rao in Hyderabad. But, within 15 minutes of his walk towards the bus stop, someone tripped him on the road in a desolate place, and he fell down. Since then he found himself here in this dark room with his hands tied with a chain.

Suddenly, a very dim blue light lit up the place where Rajan had been lying. It took around couple of minutes of squinting before Rajan could guess that he had been lying on the basement of a house. However, there was nothing on the dusty floor. Rajan, quickly looked at the door. As expected, the metal door was closed, and it seemed to him that the door could be operated by a remote control.

Rajan was hungry, but he still had some energies left. He climbed towards the door, and banged it with all his might. Newton's third law made his weak fist very sore after three hits, and quickly he retreated. Rajan shouted with all the power of his throat, "Help! Please Help me!"

Rajan shouted there for few minutes, and waited with bated breath in front of the staircase. As the light was switched on, he was damn sure, someone had arrived outside.

Rajan's joy knew no bound, as within a minute he heard the sound of footsteps of someone. Rajan stepped a couple of steps backwards as the door started to open.

"At last, the God has listened to my prayers." Rajan thanked God with folded hands.

But the guy who arrived inside the basement didn't seem like a God-sent guy from his mere appearance. He was wearing a complete black dress and a ghsot mask, which people wear on the Halloween. As if that was not enough to frighten a god-fearing guy like Rajan, he had a rubber hosepipe in his hand.

Rajan was scared, but he tried hard to belie his real feelings. A Hindu religious guru told him not to lose hope under any circumstances. What appears on the face of it may not be true always. The arriver might have a scary look, but in reality, he might have come to save him. Remembering his guru's face, he garnered some courage to say,

"Hi! I am Rajan! Somebody has incarcerated me here. Please release me, and let me go out from here." He pleaded with his chained, folded hands.

The arriver, wearing the mask of a ghost, didn't respond. He took a remote from the pocket of his black pant, and closed the door. Again, this move didn't augur well to Rajan. If he was on a rescue mission, why would he close the door?

But, Rajan didn't lose his hope, and he repeated the same words thinking that the arriver didn't hear them last time.

The arriver looked at Rajan. Rajan was hopeful. He pleaded, "Please rescue me from here."

But, the arriver turned his focus from him. He was searching some thing in the room. He went to one corner, and he brought a box from a nook. It seemed to be a medical box to Rajan. At last, Rajan got assurance that this guy had come for his aid. He said,

"Yes, I am hurt, and need some treatment. But, that is not essential at the moment. You release me from here, and take me to a hospital."

The guy seemed to pay no hiddance to his prayer, and put the medical box near Rajan. From the insousiant reaction of the guy, it appeared to Rajan that he hadn't understood English. Rajan knew this was India, and every one in India didn't understand English. This gave him a feel of comfort, and he spoke in Telegu, his mother tongue and the local language of the state.

But that guy didn't seem to understand Telegu as well, as he opened the medical box completely ignoring Rajan, and he seemed to be checking it.

"Oh, this guy must be Tamil." Rajan consoled himself, and translated his prayers in Tamil.

But, he didn't react, and closed the box giving an impression that he was satisfied with the content of the box.

Rajan tried Kannada, Malayalam, and Hindi, all the other three Indian languages he knew in quick succession.

"Is this guy deaf?" Rajan wondered!

"No, he is not deaf. His mother tongue is Bengali, but he understands English and Hindi. He is not talking, because he doesn't have the permission to do so."

Rajan was shocked to the core.

"Who said this? How could he know what he was thinking?"

Where was that spooky voice coming from? Rajan looked frantically throughout the room. There was nothing on the floor, but a few nooks on all the walls, 4 bright fluorescent tube lights on the big room, two ceiling fans and two industrial fans. Rajan himself was a software engineer, he was well aware of CCTV system. But, Rajan could not see any camera with his naked eyes. But, what the nasal voice said just now was just a thought of his. Did that mean that there was a lipreader, who understood Telegu?

Confused Rajan didn't know how to react. However, as an afterthought, he garnered enough courage to ask this pertinent question,

"Who are you Sir? I am in deep trouble, Sir. Please release me from here."

"Me? Ha ha ha ha! What's the hurry man? You will know. But, for the moment enjoy the treatment." The voice stopped despite Rahjan's various pleas for the next 5 minutes.

"Treatment, is he talking about medical treatment?" Rajan didn't understand.

The ghost man advanced towards Rajan with the the orange hosepipe in his right hand in a threatening manner.

Now Rajan was really scared. He pleaded, "Please, don't beat me, Sir! I didn't do anything." Rajan tried to hold the legs of the ghost man in a manner of pleading.

The ghost-man seemed to be a butcher sort of guy with no heart. Even the Gods would have responded to Rajan's earnest and sincere pleas. But, this ghost-guy pushed Rajan as if he was an untouchable. Rajan fell onto the floor like a toy. The guy didn't waste any time in beating him mercilessly with the hose pipe.

Forget about hosepipe, Rajan had never been beaten by anything since he was 6 years old. He had never been involved in any brawl. Being a very good student, he had never been beaten by teachers in his school. He was such a good guy that his relatives couldn't even thought of putting their hands on him. In the IIT, like every other student, he too was ragged when he was in his second year. But, that was of very mild nature. He was totally unaccustomed of this kind of brutal beating.

The next episode will be published on Wednesday night

Last edited: Feb 22, 2020
  5. Tamrakshar

Haan Bhai, aap ke lie ek khas suchna hai. In case you are interested, and I get kicked out from here, you can read the rest of the story in my blogspot Tamrakshar's Universe every Wednesday and Saturday on 9 PM IST till the end.

Last edited: Feb 22, 2020
  6. Mistt

Mistt IL Hall of Fame

Now, the story is heading towards real thriller part and liked your narration so far. It is clear that Rajan seized by same person who abducted Archana. That abductor controlled Archana with just taking an oath on God but here he is showing horror show to Rajan. I will wait for Wednesday to read exciting update.

Tamrakshar likes this.
  7. Tamrakshar

I, too, believe the abductors must be same. Yes, more exciting episode is coming on Wednesday. Thanks for your encouraging comment.

Mistt likes this.
  8. Tamrakshar

Chapter 12

"Oh God! Mercy! Please show mercy on me." Rajan screamed when he was hit by couple of hosepipe strikes. He had no idea that a hosepipe strike could be so excoriating! Couple of more strikes made him feel that his skin was being peeled off. He was very weak due to hunger and anxiety. Couple of more hits, and he could not take it any more. He lost his sense, and was falling on the floor like an object.

But, that ghost-man saw this coming, and in a flash he saved him from falling. He laid Rajan's body on ground with care. Hesitantly, he took off Rajan's shirt. Rajan's back looked horrible with red marks. Droplets of blood were oozing from his wounds, too.

Did the ghost-man have a heart inside his coarse exterior? Very mercifully he dressed his wound, and left the scene.

"Congratulations! You have passed your first test!" The nasal voice declared cheerfully.

Archana was heaving heavily. She was so exhausted, both mentality and physically, that it appeared to her that had she been a doll made of clay, she would have been broken into thousands of pieces. No doubt, she had been hating Rajan for quite some time due to his complete neglect towards her. Sometimes, she thought of slapping him. But beating him to a pulp was beyond her imagination. Rajan's screams, his pleas for mercy were still reverbating in her ears. She could still visualise the red scars on his back. She cringed again. She could feel a lump on her throat due to building of emotions. She needed to cry loudly.

"I can't do it any more." Archana cried.

A complete silence prevailed in the big air-conditioned hall where she was standing. She had come here for couple of occasions before. This was the hall when the nasal voice called her to give directions. However, she had never seen him in person. All she could see was a masked man appearing on a television. The mask was that of a joker.

There were a couple of sofas clad in white velvet inside the room, and a small glass table. Once, she was asked by the joker to sit on one, and have few sip of water from a glass situated on the table. Today, the joker hadn't said any such thing so far.

"Do you remember the pledge you made to your revered God?" This time there was no hint of cheer in the nasal voice.

"In case you forgot........".

After a gap of 10 seconds or so, Archana was shaken to see herself on the monitor. With folded hands she had been taking an oath to obey the directions given to her. That meant every moment of her captivity was being recorded! This seemed to be a very organised, and tech-savvy gang to her. Could she ever escape from this hell was the question that seemed to have no answer right at that moment. Archana was silent for couple of minutes!

"Of course, you can get back your free life, but there is only one way of doing it. I repeat only one way!"

Again, Archana was shaken, and this time she could not hide her reaction!

"The frigging agency can even read my thoughts! How come? I didn't say a single word, or even opened my mouth?" Archana was surprised to the core.

This time there was complete silence! So, Archana asked,

"And what's that only way?"

"As I told you many times, you have to pass all the 5 tests. The good news is that you have already passed the first test with flying colours! It appears to me that you have the ability to make it."

"Five tests! Of this type? This was the first one, meaning easiest of all." Archana dared to think what the last one would be!

Will she be able to sustain up to that?

Again the nasal voice spoke, this time with a rather grave tone,

"It's true that everyone doesn't make it. In fact, only one lady has passed all the tests so far, and she was freed."

"And, how many have tried?" Some desperation seemed to have taken over the otherwise timid soul of Archana.

"Not many dear! Only 19, 8 of them were men, and the rest were women. But best of luck to you for the remaining tests. You can go back to your room now. See you on tomorrow sharp at 1 PM."

Archana looked at the wall clock. It was 8 PM. That meant she would get 17 hour to cry her heart out. Who knew what the second test would be! With her heads down Archana headed towards her room.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Archana was blindfolded, but she could understand that she was taken inside a lift, and the lift went downwards. Then she was made to walk for 15 minutes in various directions. When the masked men, 3 of them in number, who accosted her, opened her eyes, she was again taken aback.

"Welcome to the pool!" The nasal voice announced cheerfully.

It was true that Archana was mesmerized by the impressive look of the pool, its crystal clear blue water, the lush green surroundings, its vast size, but she was quick enough to look at the three masked men. Archana could not figure out who spoke those words!

"Ha ha! You seem to be perplexed! Don't look at them, as they are mere servants of orders."

Still, Archana could not divert her gaze from them. One of the men, with a strong body, seemed to be around 5 ft 10" tall, the second one, medium built, was around 5 ft 6", and the third person was the shortest of the three, hardly 5 ft 4" in height with a plump body. All of them were wearing black vest and black pants.

She could see a big field, which she was pretty sure was a golf field on the front side of the pool. On her back, she saw a massive 10 storied building! Had she been kept in that building? The surroundings gave her the impression that this had to be a rural area. The building looked very odd in the otherwise serene, natural atmosphere. On the two sides of the pool were vast open fields followed by lush greenery. When she was done with her little detective skills, the nasal voice spoke again,

"Now it's time for business, Honey!"

The next episode will be published on Saturday night

Riverstream, katchibinanda and Mistt like this.
  9. Mistt

Mistt IL Hall of Fame

What a twist!:clap2: @Tamrakshar and I had read whole episode at a glance. I couldn't understand that what did that abductor get while beating Rajan with his wife? :confundio1: I guess other 4 tests must be more horrible than first test and feel sorry for both Archana & Rajan.

Tamrakshar likes this.
  10. Tamrakshar

Thanks Mistt! Yes, Archana and Rajan are indeed in deep trouble.

Mistt likes this.