Relationship Hijack And Banter

Discussion in 'Married Life' started by Rihana, Sep 17, 2018.

1. sokanasanah

sokanasanah IL Hall of Fame

This has been debated deeply in contexts other than com.shaadi. Here's some homework, below. Not quite "Relationships" centered, but I'm relying on the implicit permission to "hijack"!:wink1:

Like Sheep to the Slaughter
    The Bystander
    Jewish Responsibility During the Holocaust

Don't mean to get all heavy; nor am I equating desi matrimonial depredations with the Jewish holocaust. Simply pointing out that this debate about the 'responsibility of the victim' exists. The homework is extra-credit, not mandatory.
    :beer-toast1:

Last edited: Sep 23, 2019
    Rihana, startinganew and Vaikuntha like this.
  2. rgz

rgz Gold IL'ite

@armummy -
    Rih was gunning for me actually.
    But anyway - this judge incident and mrs. M (or some alphabet, lets use M) are totally different situations, except in Rih's mind it somehow felt similar enough to compare. Point is - in the other case we dont know if M or Mrs M or both are "victims". There is an argument for mr M to have been the victim too, we just dont know. And that was not such a draconian situation as this. Looks like.
    I dont want to belabor the point beyond this.

3. yellowmango

In this case ,the girl is educated and employable.
    Parents seem to be fairly well off.
    Why couldn't the girl go back home and pick her a job ?
    Why couldn't parents help her take care of little girls to help her?
    Why couldn't she be the ' son ' to her parents?

I think the parents and the girl should think about this and the unnecessary pain she and the kids endured.

The only reason for being reluctant could be custody of children....because the fil fi ex judge....other than that it is purely the ego and face in society that was being saved instead of daughter and grand daughters.

She should have used the video to claim divorce, custody and hefty child support.

shravs3, Dhamini and Sunshine04 like this.
  4. Anusha2917

Anusha2917 IL Hall of Fame

Got a forward in whatsapp. Since we women keep forgetting this ,a reminder. :)

Every woman’s nightmare or should I say daymare....
    What shall I cook?
    And they answer “whatever”

Eureka!! I have found the recipe of ‘Whatever’

Ingredients:
    One cup of this
    Half cup of that
    250 ml of I don’t know
    750 ml of who cares
    2 tabsp of what the hell
    1 sprig of what
    Juice of one ‘why oh why did I marry’

Method:

Take a broad bottomed pan of ‘I hate it when they do this to me’....cook on slow fire.... serve on a plate of ‘Take that’

Enjoy!! Happy cooking to all women out there....

5. yellowmango

Seriously....even if it a choice between this or that...the answer is whatever .
    Why would someone choose to lose the right to choose when given on a platter ?...literally :rolleyes:

Lalithambigai and Sunshine04 like this.
  6. Rihana

If anyone has the time and inclination, can you please provide the gist of the following four Tamil (?) sentences individually in English? Thank you. Read them in a post in a thread, but don't feel like asking there and google translate is not always accurate.

'Unga magal'uku ninga seiringa.

Ninga tha 'kuriparinju' seiyanum.

Naanga ivlo podunga seinga nu demand pannave illa.

Ena ipdi pesaringa... Ponna pethavanga na konjam poruthu than poganum....

7. rgz

rgz Gold IL'ite

Rih,
    You are doing it for your dau.
    You should understand the situation and do accordingly.
    We have never demanded that you should bring a specific amount/jewels etc.
    Dont talk this way, parents of girls should exhibit more patience and 'adjustment'

Sunshine04, Anusha2917 and Rihana like this.
  8. Anusha2917

Anusha2917 IL Hall of Fame

*Dau?? If tat was a problem why not dau. :grinning:

Practice what you preach. :smile::smile:

*dau = daughter.

shravs3 and Sunshine04 like this.
  9. Dhamini

Dhamini Platinum IL'ite

Domestic violence is terribly under reported in India. If the girls are educated and financially secure there is hope that she might leave the abusive relationships and seek some help. Otherwise they stay for few years and leave when the situation worsens. Family and social support would be of immense help. I read this and similar stories online which are quite disturbing.
    http://behindthequest.com/documenting-violence-women-india-actionaid/

10. Afresh

Afresh Gold IL'ite

Could both poser's here be assuming different things for the same situation
    Since we didn't have any background on Mrs M's stand or the lack of it for 25 years of her marriage , why would we only assume that she didn't stand up for herself in early years?
    Maybe she did and repeatedly so, but the other party conveniently brushed off her claims or thoughts as just mindless chatter which did not require any support or response, till a public event such as a divorce forced them to acknowledge that in the public .
    Then they definitely needed to project a 'cruel' DIl who wrote off her "family' after 25 years !
    and this CCTV case is so similar for debate now!