1. Want to be a Positive Parent? : Click Here

No Parents Should Hear Such A Tragic News Ever In Life

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous in Parenting' started by SGBV, Aug 15, 2019.

1. ashneys

ashneys Platinum IL'ite

It’s very painful to even read this. My sincere prayers for your family.

2. shravs3

shravs3 IL Hall of Fame

Very saddening to hear this. Hoping tat the child will be cured soon. Don’t lose hope. Will pray for her

3. Janakinarne

Janakinarne Gold IL'ite

@And Al's read shasti Devi stotram daily 11times behalf of her,shasti Devi saves the children by giving her raksha to them..she is especially for children.. don't forget..by keeping ur hand on her or by sitting near baby chant the stotram..it's very powerful...

Sandyr46 likes this.
  4. Swetha52003

Swetha52003 Gold IL'ite

Lots of strength,good vibes and sincere prayers to you and your brother's family SGBV.Little one will be healed...all of you are in my daily prayers.

5. MalStrom

MalStrom IL Hall of Fame

I am sorry to hear about your niece's diagnosis. The bright side is that childhood ALL has a 5-year survival rate of 90%. Make sure that she is getting the best care that they can afford.

6. SGBV

SGBV IL Hall of Fame

Thank you everyone for your prayers and genuine efforts to help us now.

The biopsy too turned positive, and the child is awaiting another confirmation (which takes 4 days it seems) to begin chemo. For now, they have put her on some other medication. I will be with the kid over the weekend to relieve the parents to go home and do the needful arrangements for the coming weeks. Then only I could personally see the reports and discuss the same with the Dr with an open mind. Let's see!

What does 5 yr survival rate means?
    I am frightened even to read that. Pardon me with my poor knowledge. But does that mean the child can be guaranteed to live max 5 yrs after curing ALL?
    Does that mean ALL is likely to return after 5 years?
    Does that mean 90% of the child survivors of ALL can live another 5 years?

Aiyo! She is just 5 years, and adding another 5 years in her life doesn't make any sense at all.
    That too after surviving this much that a cancer could give.

Genuinely I and her parents hope and pray that she lives normal like any other kid and see everything in life as she grow older. We just want to fight this cancer and make sure it doesn't relapse never again.

Kindly enlighten me, even if the message is heart-breaking. This internet is sometimes confusing, so I don't wanna read anything on my own.
    Your vision here is much appreciated.

7. Afresh

Afresh Gold IL'ite

So difficult to read this
    Keep the Faith dear.
    People do heal and she'll too.
    I pray that she gets back to normal soon,
    It's a really tough time , but just keep the faith.

8. Afresh

Afresh Gold IL'ite

I think this here means, that those afflicted at 5 years have 90 percent chance of survival.

9. periamma

periamma IL Hall of Fame

@SGBV Hope you have consulted an Oncologist.you can get good treatment at Chennai Apollo hospital.They are best for such diseases.

10. MalStrom

MalStrom IL Hall of Fame

5-year survivals are a way to evaluate outcomes of cancer treatment. In the case of childhood ALL it means that the vast majority of patients will have excellent long term survival prospects. Many children will go into remission once chemo starts and stay that way.
    The websites of the American Cancer Society, Children's Hospital of Philadelphia (CHOP) and St. Jude's Children's Hospital have good resources for more information.

EverydayBloom likes this.