They Live Among Us

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by HariLakhera, Jul 18, 2019.

1. HariLakhera

HariLakhera Platinum IL'ite

THEY LIVE AMONG US

I wish to narrate this incident. I am sure there are many such people among us.

This happened on Monday 27th December 2010. My elder daughter was here from the USA with her family for the New Year. We had planned to visit Sunderbans close to Kolkata with her friends. We had to leave by the afternoon flight to Kolkata.

Her friends had sent her e-ticket by email. I have the internet at home but no printer. So we decided to go out to a cyber café and take a printout of the ticket. Unmindful of the fact that Monday is a holiday for the local shopkeepers and small businesses in our area, we went to the cyber café I knew and found it closed. We tried to locate some other cyber café or a place with internet and printing facility without success. We decided to get it done at the Airport counter of the Airlines for which we would have to squeeze some time and reach early at the Airport.

I wanted to make a last try and entered an office to inquire if they could guide us to a cyber café nearby. We enquired from the lady sitting in the office. She tried to exercise her memory but in vain. She casually asked what we needed it for. I said to take a print out. She said ‘you can as well do it here’.

Obliged to hear that, my daughter logged into her account and took a printout of the ticket. We thanked the lady and asked for the charges.

“No way, Sir, It’s just nothing. Have a nice flight”

“Many thanks.” we murmur and leave thanking her profusely.

They live among us.

saileela85, Afresh, Vidya24 and 6 others like this.

2. Amulet

Amulet IL Hall of Fame

The folks who received the help knew how much it mattered, what hassles were avoided etc... but still, skipped getting the name/address of the woman who helped.
    And did not bring/send her a box of Bengali Sweets from Kolkatta.
    Such people do live among us.

Amica and Thyagarajan like this.
  3. iyerviji

Very true there are people who help us in need

Thyagarajan and HariLakhera like this.
  4. HariLakhera

Like your sense of humor.

5. Balajee

Such rare specimens do exist.

6. HariLakhera

I thought members would share their own experiences on the subject. I am sure each one of us has met someone, somewhere, sometime.

satchitananda likes this.
  7. satchitananda

This was in my college days. I had been feeling unwell and had to go to the doctor. I hired an auto rickshaw and went to the dispensary. On alighting, I realized I had forgotten my purse at home. I requested the driver to take me back home. On hearing why I wanted to go home, he said I could pay him sometime when I saw him again. I tried telling him that the chances of that were very low. He insisted that I did not have to go home just for that. In order to get him to take me home, I told him I also had to buy veggies on the way back home. The guy offered me Rs. 25/-! At that point, I told him, I'd need more and please take me home, which he then did! Times change, people change. Today auto-wallahs try to cheat us out of change. I fight with them for that Re.1/- or 2/-. It is not a question of the money, it is a matter of principle. If the auto-wallah does not bargain and comes without asking 50 questions about where I want to go etc. I let him have even Rs. 10/- extra!

8. HariLakhera

There have been many cases of auto and taxi drivers returning valuables running into lacs to the owner or depositing with the police. They do live among us.

Thyagarajan and satchitananda like this.
  9. Amulet

Amulet IL Hall of Fame

People who depend on the kindness of strangers go on to create those Samaritans among us.
    Here is a girl on the local subway attempting to create one such kind helper:
    [ I had thought all of us (especially in wealthy countries) had mobile phones, and one of the easiest applications of such things is a vibrate-alarm, that can work without disturbing anyone else on the train]

10. satchitananda