An Enigma

Discussion in 'Stories (Fiction)' started by GeetaKashyap, Apr 25, 2019.

1. GeetaKashyap

GeetaKashyap IL Hall of Fame

The musical chime of the doorbell disturbed Simran’s Sunday siesta. She had been busy cleaning her father’s room the whole morning. After a hearty lunch, she had dozed off on the sofa with a magazine on hand. She wondered who dared to disturb her precious afternoon nap! As the weather was quite cold, she quickly wrapped herself properly in the shawl. She glanced at her image in the mirror and ran her fingers through her hair setting it hurriedly. The doorbell chimed again. Taking a few quick steps, she opened the door to find a tall and handsome young man in his thirties at the door who wore dark blue denim trousers and a cream-coloured cardigan. As he handed over his visiting card to her, he smiled and introduced himself, “Sorry to disturb you on a Sunday afternoon, ma’am. I am Dr Angad Sachdev; I have come from Mumbai to meet Dr Inder Sahani.”

Simran seemed confused. She recovered quickly and invited the stranger into the house and pointing towards the large sofa in the living room, she said,” Please be seated.” She then turned towards her maid and asked her to get tea, snacks and water for the guest. Then sitting on the antique chair facing the sofa, she introduced herself; “Hi! I am Simran, Dr Inder Sahani’s daughter. Sorry, I can’t recall hearing about you anytime from him.”

Angad was amused that without even knowing him or answering his question about Dr Sahani, this girl had gone ahead inviting him, a total stranger, inside the house. And after ordering his refreshments she found time to enquire!

“Well … this is the first time he would be meeting me. I am Dr Sachdev’s son. He will recognize me from the name.” Angad said confidently.

Hearing his words Simran’s face paled. After a momentary pause, she said haltingly, “My father passed away a month back, on the nineteenth of December; he had a cardiac arrest. I did not want to break this news to you at the door especially when you have come all the way from Mumbai to Ludhiana just to meet him. I am sorry.”

Angad was shocked. He sat with his head hung for a while. All at once many thoughts crossed his mind. He then cleared his throat and asked, “I am extremely saddened to hear about his demise. Ma’am, could I at least get to see his photograph?”

Simran pointed at the wall behind him where large photographs of the Sahani couple were mounted. Controlling his emotions, Angad stood close to the photographs and studied them keenly for a while. He felt his entire purpose of visiting Ludhiana was defeated; a lot of his unanswered questions would remain eternally unanswered! As he considered the course of his next action, the maid walked in with a tray full of refreshments. When Angad turned, Simran noticed the sadness in his eyes. She was intrigued by Dr Sachdev's reaction hearing about the death of a man whom he had never met in his life!

Angad was in no mood for the refreshments, but he sat down as he wanted to get some crucial answers from Simran. He was tongue tied and found it awkward to face Simran who was observing him all the while. He hoped that she did not notice his misty eyes as he struggled to keep a straight face.

Simran was a straight forward person who did not believe in mincing words, she asked directly, “Dr Sachdev, just a few minutes ago you said that this was the first time you were to meet him, yet I noticed that you turned emotional looking at my father’s photograph! I thought it was a bit odd.”

Angad nodded in acknowledgement. He thought that he had to be more alert as the girl across was sharp in noticing his changed expressions. He had to find out more about Dr Sahani without revealing much about himself. He rubbed his chin thoughtfully and then clearing his throat he answered deliberately, “Well, our parents studied together. Almost a month ago even Dr Sachdev passed away following a Brain Haemorrhage. Last week, while passing through the belongings I came across your father’s name. It would have been wonderful to meet him and pay my respects. I guess I was a little too late in coming over here. I am really disappointed.”

Simran found Dr Sachdev too good to be true. When everyone's life is so hectic, how could he come all the way from Mumbai just to meet his late father’s friend about whom he had never heard of till last week? She found his explanation unbelievable. She wondered whether he was genuine or was he an imposter with some agenda. To ensure that the stranger wasn’t taking her for a ride, she looked at his visiting card which was still in her hand. The card displayed his name- Dr Angad Sachdev MD, Consultant Pediatrician. J.P. Hospital, Malad (west), Mumbai-400 064. His phone number was mentioned at the top of the card. She observed Angad intently; he appeared genuine and trustworthy.

Even as she assessed him, he interjected, “Ma’am, it is unfortunate that I could not meet and get to know him in person. I wish to know more about your father; it would be nice to know a father from his daughter’s perspective. Hope you don’t mind,” Angad asked earnestly as he sipped tea.

Simran wondered at his strange request. She reasoned, perhaps, Angad’s father must have said many good things about her father. So this young man must be trying to piece together his father’s past to understand him better!

**********************End of Part 1**********************

Last edited: Apr 25, 2019

2. aarthi28

aarthi28 Platinum IL'ite

Nice start dear. Awaiting for next part.

GeetaKashyap likes this.
  3. Mistt

Mistt IL Hall of Fame

Geeta ji,
    Mystery! Love to read and watch thriller/ puzzled stories. Great start and I think this is your first mystery story. Liked the first part of story.

GeetaKashyap likes this.
  4. peddadas

peddadas Platinum IL'ite

Wow! This is amazing, every act is clearly depicted! Picture in motion is right in-front of my eyes. Good going @GeetaKashyap .

Thanks for giving us a story!

GeetaKashyap likes this.
  5. Adharv

Adharv Gold IL'ite

That's was an interesting kick off gurugale. :thumbup: :clap2: Is Angad here to know some secrets abt himself or his dad?? Waiting.

Good Night.

GeetaKashyap likes this.
  6. Thyagarajan

:hello:A stranger was reluctantly ushered in and she was suspecting though he claimed his dad and her dad studied together. What was the purpose of stranger’s visit. Await next part.
    Happenings woven in real time with usual glamour or un-glamour environs. I enjoyed reading. Let us how the story meanders further....good going. Thumbs up.
    God sends disjointed signals and it is for humans to forecast (their) future with it.

GeetaKashyap likes this.
  7. GeetaKashyap

Thanks, Aarthi, for the first encouraging comment.

8. GeetaKashyap

Mistt ji, when did I become Geeta Ji? :smile:

Aage aage dekhiye hota hai kya:sunglasses:

Mistt likes this.
  9. GeetaKashyap

Thank you for your appreciation. As always this story will be brief ie., another 2 parts only. I wish to have your presence for the next 2 days, dear peddadas.

10. GeetaKashyap

Thanks for your esteemed presence here, dear Adharv. Let us wait and watch what turn the story takes!