Birthdays

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by Kamalji, Dec 28, 2007.

Birthdays

Birthdays we all have, but some days are special.Im sure u wont forget any of my family's birthdays.Here's how

Wife Harsha - 24th April, shares it with Sachin Tendulkar

Me - Kamal - 1st of September - the days the offical Fishes start to sell in Jaipur.All the months containing the alphabet 'R' the fishes are allowed to sell, and that starts from September to April.May june july and August, dont have a R , and they are the breeding season fo fishes.

Daughter Radhika - Born 2nd July 81, the day Infosys was born.
    Daughter Pushpa - Born 14th Feb 87, Valentine's Day.

Simple mathamatics isnt it ? I am so smart, iplanned the family's birthdays too.

Morarji Desia had an unusual one.He was born on 29th Feb, and his birthday came once in 4 years.He died at 100, but actually celebrated 25 birthday, with his own special yellow fluid,and some dry fruits.No wonder he deprived all the people of Gujerat from their daily spirits.Spoilsport !

My Uncle who is no more, also had something unusual.He married the day John F Kennedy was shot, First Daughter born the dyobert Kennedy was shot dead, and his son,9 th Dec, some special day.ut i dont remember it.

My brother in law,he is born on April Fool's day, his brother on 25th Dec Christmas Eve,his wife New year, 1st Jan.

I am very poor about remembering Birthday's.A few that i know I call up, but thats it.I dont celebrate birthday's,and i encourage my daughters, to celebrate calling their friends over, or go out with them giving them a treat at Pizza Hut or Mcdonald's .And go for a movie among themselves.

Birthdays remind me of the Chinese, who dont like it bcs it is one year getting closer to death.And i celebrate each day like a Birthday, having my non veg and drinks,which i love, so a birthday dosnt mean much to me.And wife can buy clothes or Jewellery whenever she wants, and dosnt have to wait for a Birthday or a DhanTeras.As it is she is very frugal, so am I.And i am so Kanjoos, I wont drink my own Black Label on my birthday,or ever, rather wait to share it with a nice friend..And the bottle is waiting for a Friend.

A friend of mine, staying a few lanes away, used to celebrate his kids birthdays in style, calling over around 40 close friends and their kids for drinks and dinner.He used to call the balloon fellow,the silly ride fellow,and have stalls of popcorns,dosas, and the works in his huge lawns.He used to invite only my kids,and never us.No problems with us.My kids used to love going there.We used to drop them and pick them up.And in the end, they had a huge baloon filled with all choclates and toffess, and the birthday boy or girl used to put a knife in theballon and burst it, and the kids used to wait for the goodies to fall, and scramble all over.Wow

Once the invitations never came, and my kids remembered the Birthday and asked me Papa, today is the Birthday, and why have we not been called.What could i tell my darlings.I had just come from the evenign walks with my wife, and seen the celebrations going on,and how do i explains to my little ones, that this year we are not in their good books for reasons beyond me.I just took them with me for a ride, and treated them to icecreams, and other goodies in the city.But they insisted we pass the house of the friend, and they started to cry seeing the celebrations going on there.This was a long time back,when they were kids in small pretty frilly frocks, and now the elder one is married, and the younger one in her Final year of College.

There are some questions in life, to which even Kamalji dos'nt have answers.So whosesoever's birthday is today, have a ball,and the drink is one me ( just the Coke, not scotch stupid) ! Have a great day, ladies and Gentlemen.

2. Nivedi

Nivedi New IL'ite

Kamalji,

Your post made me curious to find out who shared their birthdays with me. I found a long list of people, none of whose names I was familiar with :confused:. A couple of Nobel laureates, a whole lot of sportspersons and musicians. I was searching for any interesting occurences on that day, besides my birth (just kidding :)). Nothing really except for a small tit-bit - Venezuela, Cape Verde and Algeria share their Independence day with my b'day. So, I guess the people of these countries will be having a holiday.

3. puni88

puni88 Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

Hello Kamalji,
    That's a good way to remember b'days.

~Punitha

4. Saraswathipv

Saraswathipv IL Hall of Fame

Hello Kamalji....

I have always been fascinated by birthdays. Somehow, I remember the b'days of most of my friends and relatives.

During schooldays, I was always interested to know, with which famous personality, I shared my birthday, Oct 19. And used to get excited with every new find.

Among those in the list that I can remember now are....Priya Tendulkar, of the "Rajni" serial fame in Doordarshan, actor Sunny Deol, Little known Australian cricketer, Bob Holland, Actor John Lithgow(I m not familiar about that name though) and a scientist whose name I cannot recall right now.

It is also a black day in American stock market. bonk. Some 20yrs back,I guess, it recorded the biggest crash in their history on that day.

Saraswati,

You have some memory.I just cant seem to remember birthdays,barring a few.Thanks and regards.kamal

Puni,

Nivedi,

You took pains to find out eh ! Lucky u.They should give u free citizenship of those countries.:hatsoffThanks and regards.kamal

And wishing u all a very happy new year.

6. malspie

malspie Platinum IL'ite

I share my birthday with:

Hiroki Suzuki (Japanese Actor)
    Tommy Lee (Singer)
    Clive Owen (British Actor)
    Rob Liefeld (American Comic Book Writer and Artist)
    Neve Campbell (Actress)
    Ashlee Simpson (Singer0
    Stevie Ray Vaughn (Musician)
    Effie Cochran (Singer)
    Fred Brazalian (Fottballer)
    Gore Vidal (Author)
    Chubby Checker (Singer)
    Jack Wagner (American Actor)
    Thoman Clayton Wolfe (Novelist)
    James Alfred Wigh (Writer)
    Lindsey Buckingham (Singer)
    Emily Price (Writer - Emily Post)
    Gwen Stefani (Singer and Fashion Designer)
    Events of the day;

Iraq gains independence from Britain
    East and West Germany are united
    National Foundation Day - South Korea

To list a few!!!!!!!!

Mals,

that is a great list.You are so famous i did not know that.:hatsoffREgards.kamal

8. Noorie

Noorie New IL'ite

Hello Sir

Why it so kamalji, Some friends are so close at some point of life and other moment woh jante bi nahi ( they act as if we were never friendzzzz)

This incidence remind me of my engineering college friend we studied in the same class.

After college we never met.

We both got married and landed in Singapore. We saw each other again while in Singapore Airline we were going to India for our holiday, After that we shared great friendship for 5 long year coz we were also staying very close by.

But now this year she reached US, God!!! she behave like we were never friendzz.

This hurt me alot.

Sorry kamalji bahaut pakaya.

Thanx for reading.

Last edited: Sep 3, 2008
  9. Bhiku Mhatre

Bhiku Mhatre Senior IL'ite

Kamal - BHAI : nice way to remember birthdays, my wife and my sister's birthday is on the same day so its easy to remember them two.

Morarji Desai had his own special drink - looked like beer but dunno what it tastes like - would never try that ....haha

Dear Noorie,

Sometimes for reasons unknown, friends change their attitude towards us.With me this has happened many a times.

I think they overestimate us initially, and later when they find out we are worth financially much less than they thought, they try to distance themselves from us.

So I have got used to such people, and I thank my staurs and say “ Good Riddance to Bad Rubbish “.

So don’t u worry at all, Regards.kamal