Suman.

Discussion in 'Stories (Fiction)' started by PoojaShah, Jan 13, 2017.

1. PoojaShah

PoojaShah Gold IL'ite

Part 1

"To be or not to be...",The Shakespearean hero 'Hamlet' pondered.

"Come on...come on! Avenge the murder of your father or you'll die too.",Suman cried.

She knew it was just a play and she shouldn't get so excited. But she couldn't help it. She was a romantic at heart. And that's why she had decided to study English literature.

She loved Shakespeare and 'Hamlet' was her favorite tragedy. And why not? A handsome prince wronged by his family - fails to avenge his father's murder - finally meets a sad, untimely death.

Suman put the book aside and started to think about handsome princes and a smile came on her face.
    "When will MY handsome prince come?"thinking she drifted off to sleep.

The alarm went off and Suman was going to push the snooze button when her eyes caught the time. It was already 7 am. Her first lecture started at 9 am. She didn't want to miss it. She got up hurriedly and went to freshen up.

She put on a blue jeans and a white T-shirt. Then she did her hair and decided to keep them loose. She wasn't much into make-up. But she put on kaajal and a little touch of lip gloss. And voila! She was ready for the college.

She looked at the clock and saw that it was 8 am. She still had half an hour before she had to leave for the college.
    She turned on the radio. Her favorite song 'Mera kuch samaan' by Gulzar was playing. She was deeply engrossed in it when her mom called.

Suman's mother Meena ben was 45 year old. She was a good mother and a homemaker.

"Suman...Suman!",Meena ben shouted.
    "Have your breakfast. I have made aloo ka paratha for you."

"Yes mom...coming.",Suman said.

"Wow! Your aloo ka paratha is so yummy, mummy.!"Suman said.

"Hey, it rhymed...",She joked.

"Thank you,dearie."Meena ben smiled.

"Now finish your breakfast or you'll be late for your college."

"I am almost done, mom!"

After a while Suman finished her breakfast and left for the college.

"Bye..bye mom."

Deepu04, MahimaGowda and meepre like this.

2. meepre

meepre Gold IL'ite

Nice Pooja, superb simple but interesting start, waiting to see Suman's life... :thumbsup:

PoojaShah likes this.
  3. PoojaShah

PoojaShah Gold IL'ite

Thank you so much.:)

4. PoojaShah

PoojaShah Gold IL'ite

Part 2

Suman said bye to her mom and kick-started her red scooty. It was 10 minutes to 9 when she reached her college. She parked her scooty and walked towards her class.

Just outside the classroom, her friends Ratna and Kavya were chattering.

"Hi Ratna...Hi Kavya..!", Suman said.

"Hii Suman..!", Both Ratna and Kavya said together.

"So what are you guys talking about?", Suman asked.

"Oh! Nothing much...did you hear the new song,'Kudi nashe di char gai'? It's awesome.", Kavya said.

Just then the bell rang and all three girls rushed into the classroom with others.

" 'Look Back in Anger' is a revolutionary play by John Osborne.", Prof. Mistry said.

"The protagonist Jimmy Porter is angry with himself,his wife,his friend,the government and to be honest with the whole world."

"He is an original Angry Young Man."

Suman was taking notes.

"An original Angry Young Man!!", Suman thought.

Prof. Mistry was portraying Jimmy Porter's character and Suman was fascinated.

"I would like to have an Angry Young Man in my life.", Suman thought.

"If only Hamlet was an Angry Young Man, he wouldn't have died.!"

"So you want a guy who is handsome like prince Hamlet and tough like Jimmy Porter...hmm...hard to find.", Suman talked to herself.

She couldn't help but giggle.

"Suman? What's going on? Why are you laughing in my class?", Prof. Mistry brought Suman out of her reverie.

"No...nothing ma'am.", Suman stammered.

The whole class was looking at her. She felt flustered. Ratna was looking at her with her eyebrows raised.

"Sit down, Suman and pay attention in the class.", Prof. Mistry instructed.

"Yes ma'am.", Suman said taking her seat.

"So what had happened in the class?", Kavya asked.

"Nothing!", Suman answered.

"Don't lie. I had heard you giggle.", Ratna chimed in.

"Well... I was thinking about something and couldn't suppress a laugh", Suman said.

"About what?", Both Ratna and Kavya asked.

"About a prince!"

"What prince?"

"An Angry Young Prince..! You wouldn't understand.", Suman smiled

5. PoojaShah

PoojaShah Gold IL'ite

Part 3

It was 2 pm and the fifth lecture was going on. The subject was 'Literary Criticism.'

It was Suman's least favorite subject. She stifled a yawn and tried to be attentive.

She was taking notes when a crumpled paper ball hit her. She picked it up and smoothened it out.

It read, "I love you - Anshul."

Suman was flabbergasted. Nobody had ever said these three words to her until
    now.

"So Anshul likes me...no...no...he said he loved me", Suman thought.

Although she was flattered, she didn't know how to react.

"Should I tell Ratna and Kavya?"

"Or should I talk to Anshul first?", Suman kept thinking.

After that Suman couldn't concentrate at all in the class. She kept thinking about Anshul.

"He is a nice guy... decent looking...and most importantly he loves me."

The bell rang. Everyone started to leave the class as it was the last lecture of the day.

Suman looked at Anshul. He looked flustered. Suman too gave a shy smile.

Suman, Ratna and Kavya walked towards the college parking.

"That was one boring lecture.", Ratna said.

"Yeah...it was.", Kavya joined in.

"Hey, Suman! You are not saying anything. We know you don't like 'Literary Criticism'.", Kavya said.

"Hmm.. yeah...it was a boring lecture.", Suman said.

The girls were chattering but Suman's heart was not into it. Her eyes were looking for Anshul. She decided to stay back and talk to Anshul.

"Hey guys! I have to borrow a book from the library. You guys go ahead. I will see you guys tomorrow.", Suman said.

Suman pretended to go towards library. Ratna and Kavya left.

After seeing the both Ratna and Kavya leave, Suman walked back to the college parking.

"Hey, Suman!", Someone shouted. It was Anshul.

"Hey, Anshul..."

"Suman, I need to tell you something."

"I know...I read the note."

"Yeah...but it was not for you. It was for Kavya."

Hearing that Suman's face fell.

"I am sorry, Suman.", Anshul said.

"Oh! It's ok... I understand.", Suman said.

And then she kick-started her scooty and left the college.

Deepu04 likes this.
  6. meepre

meepre Gold IL'ite

Wow good going. Somewhere I felt it was not for her and it was as I thought. Good narration dear.

PoojaShah likes this.
  7. PoojaShah

PoojaShah Gold IL'ite

Thank you.☺

8. PoojaShah

PoojaShah Gold IL'ite

Part 4

"Hii dear! How was ur day?", Suman's mother Meena ben asked.

"It was ok, mom.", Suman replied moodily.

"You are not your usual self today. What happened?"

"Nothing mom. I am fine. Just a little tired.", Suman said and went to her room.

"Suman! At least have some snacks!", Meena ben shouted to her.

"I'm not hungry, mom. I just need some rest."

Once in her room, Suman dumped her books on her study table and plopped herself down on the bed.

Usually she would turn on the radio but she was not in mood today to listen to songs.

She started thinking about all that happened in the college.

"So the note was not for me.", Suman thought sadly.

It was not that she was in love with Anshul. But the note had made her happy that there's someone who liked her.

In one's teen years, attention from the opposite sex means a lot. And Suman was no different.

When she got the note from Anshul, it was like someone had validated her existence. She felt important.

But, alas! The note was for Kavya. First time in her life, Suman felt jealous of Kavya.

Suman parked her scooty and was walking toward her class when she saw Anshul. He was sitting on his bike surrounded by his friends.

"Hey guys! There is Suman. She thought that the love note was for her. As if anyone would like her!!", Anshul said and his friends laughed.

Suman felt so stupid and a tear trickled down her eye.

Anshul and his friends were still laughing.

Suman started to cry and suddenly she woke up.

"So it was just a dream...no...it wasn't a dream, it was a nightmare.", Suman thought with a heavy heart.

"Even though it was a dream, what Anshul said still rang true. He was right when he said no one would like me!", Suman thought.

"I'm 18 and not a single guy has asked me out. Why doesn't anyone like me? Don't I deserve love?", Suman was depressed.

That night she cried herself to sleep.

Rampuri9, MahimaGowda and Deepu04 like this.
  9. PoojaShah

PoojaShah Gold IL'ite

Part 5
    Suman woke up with a sound of an alarm. It was 6.40 in the morning.

She didn't push the snooze button as was her habit but sat in the bed pondering.

"So the note was not for me but it's not the end of the world.", Suman thought.

"So now cheer up, Suman!", She told herself.

She turned on the radio before going to the bathroom to freshen up.

"Gunguna rahe hai bhanwre...khil rahi hai kali kali...gali gali...gali gali..." , The song was playing.

"I am a kali...I just need one bhanwra now!", Suman thought and smiled feeling upbeat.

She came out of the bathroom and put on her favourite off white and red salwar suit.

She wore kaajal and red lipstick and bang she was ready for the college.

"Jab dil hi tut gaya...hum jee ke kya karenge!", The song started playing.

"Oh no! No sad songs please!", Suman thought and changed the station.

"O mere...khwaabon ke...khayalo ke shehzaade..."

"Yup! That's more like it." , Suman was relishing the song when her mom called her.

"Beta Suman! It's almost 8.30 am...you had better come and have your breakfast."

"Yes mom...I am coming...I am hungry.", Suman said.

She finished her sandwich and left for college.

Suman parked her scooty and was looking for Ratna and Kavya when she saw Anshul.

Anshul was with his friend Raj.

The dream came back to Suman but Anshul called her and pulled her out of it.

"Hii Suman", Anshul said.

"Hii Anshul"

"What does he want from me now??", Suman wondered.

"Suman! I was wondering if you could tell Kavya how I felt about her.", Anshul said.

"Sure! Will do.", Suman said.

"Thanks Suman!"

"You're welcome, Anshul."

"Hey Kavya...you are one lucky girl!", Suman said with a smile.

"I know I am...but why?", Kavya asked cheerfully.

"Anshul likes you.", Suman said.

"Really??"

"Are you interested?", Suman asked.

"Very..!", Kavya answered with a giggle.

10. creativemumma

creativemumma Gold IL'ite

Good Going! So Raj is Suman's Angry Young man?