Very Indian Problems

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by blindpup10, Sep 16, 2016.

Tags:
  1. blindpup10

blindpup10 Platinum IL'ite

Very Indian Problems-

This is a fun thread. Its has been inspired after @Avanti30- gave a gist of a show Very British Problems on Netflix.What Are You Watching On Netflix?

Although I haven't watched the show- I thought we could share some of our stories and experiences about Very Indian Problems

Note to participants- this thread is for you- only if can laugh at yourself or at typical Indian customs and behavior.

Don't participate in this thread- if you are sensitive, can't take a joke.

Seriously a Big NO NO :nono::nono: to start a fight or insult anyone for sharing their experience on this thread.

Last edited: Sep 16, 2016

2. blindpup10

blindpup10 Platinum IL'ite

Very Indian Problems number 1-

How many times is the right amount of time to be asked by the host to eat the sweets?

Host- Please have the sweets.
    Guest- (to himself) OMG! the laddu looks so delicious, let the host ask me one more time. I will gobble it up. Hmm with a smile :)
    Host- I will bring some water.. please take the sweets...
    Guest- Yes, Sure. I will have some water. OMG! please ask me to eat the sweets one more time (to himself)
    Host- Haiii, why haven't you eaten the sweet. Please take it.
    Guest- (to himself) YES! YES! He said it!!! Thanks so much for offering the sweets. I love laddus.

3. Avanti30

Avanti30 Gold IL'ite

I want to share one funny instance. This is about insisting on having more and more food.

Whenever me and my husband go to my nani's place they insist on we having lunch/dinner.
    While having lunch, my nani and mami serve the food and insist us to eat more.
    "Beta take this dish, do you want chutney, achar, raita etc, or do you want something else, take more sweet etc."
    It's just endless. Even I tell my nani that she does not need to worry I will eat properly.
    My husband finds this irritating. So finally he gives in and says ok I will take some more chutney. Later on, when we discussed this topic, he told me that I can see what is laid on the dining table and because you have invited me for lunch/dinner I will take food without hesitation. I understand him.
    But I also explained to him that at my nani's place, my nani and mami serve food, and it's just a formality or by a rule of serving that they ask or insist. If you do not want, do not take it. Also, he is Jamata so people force or insist on offering more food or variety of food to him. This insistence or forceful asking is also a part of culture. I ask him to understand that.
    It is bit difficult for him to digest, though :)
    I thought, how things are different as per each home. Some people are fed up because of too much insistence, while some feel ignored, not honored unless they are offered more or insisted more.

Thyagarajan, geeta79, Giri12 and 10 others like this.
  4. Rihana

How or when to request guests to take off footwear -

They are Indians, and you'd assume they'd look at the pile by the door and get a hint...So how to gently suggest that to guest... Simple plain request in simple English? Block their entry till they de-shoe? Bend to touch their feet and flick away the shoes? Point to the shoes and gush 'what great shoes you have'

Nice thread!

: )

5. Avanti30

Avanti30 Gold IL'ite

Marriage happens once in a lifetime !!!

Marriage happens once in lifetime, so fulfill all your desires and wishes. Take a big mandap, have sangeet, have lot variety food stalls etc. But hello, it is more of fulfilling other's wishes and desires. Fine, it is good to honor to other's wishes and desires.
    But with this logic, "Marriage happens once in a lifetime", let us try to understand what the bride and bridegroom both want ?
    I understand earlier, girl and boy were young during the marriage so they used to obey whatever their parents say, or marriage used to be agreeing to what parents say. But now when times are changing, can we please notice our poor bride and bridegroom who are earning, taking responsibility of their marriage, trying to make elders happy and just try to make their wishes fulfilled too.
    After all elders have taken their share of honors, basked in limelight, let us turn our attention to poor bride and bridegroom, they too deserve to be happy in their marriage, don't you think so?

6. jskls

jskls IL Hall of Fame

Have a note near the doorway - 'Ghar Ek Mandir - kindly leave your shoes here'. And simply point your hands to the Note

Thyagarajan, geeta79, Giri12 and 13 others like this.
  7. Rihana

: ) You are giving me ideas! I know this place that makes custom signs!

I came across few more:

Life is full of choices: remove your shoes or scrub the floor.
    Please remove your shoes. It's an Asian thing.
    Your comfort is meaningless to us. Please take off your shoes.
    Please take off your shoes, and don't take a better pair on the way out.

=====
    BP, done venting about shoes. will be back with more. : )

Thyagarajan, Meghaa, Giri12 and 16 others like this.
  8. MalStrom

MalStrom IL Hall of Fame

I smile sweetly and just request that they please leave footwear by the door. We have an assortment of clean socks for those who feel weird walking barefoot.

9. Akanksha1982

We have the following sign at the entrance.
    mahalo.JPG

Thyagarajan, geeta79, Giri12 and 9 others like this.
  10. Akanksha1982

The 3-bye ritual.

The first bye is at the living room or family room. The second bye is at the entrance where the guests are wearing the shoes. And the final bye is either near the car or from the porch waiting until the guests drives the car. In winter it is so cold waiting at the porch or going near the car.