We want to buy health insurance for the whole family.

Discussion in 'Money Matters' started by treenatureindia, Feb 17, 2016.

1. treenatureindia

treenatureindia New IL'ite

In my house (family), I,woman aged 35 yrs suffering from Congenital myasthenic syndrome and my mother aged about 63 yrs suffering from Blood Pressure and my sister aged 33 yrs are there.

We want to buy health insurance for the whole family.

1. what is the meaning of health insurance?
    2. Really, is there any benefit from health insurance?
    3. Please guide me to choose the best few which are suitable to our family and which are low-cost and high-benefit health insurance?
    4. That health insurance which are eligible for tax deductions?
    will Congenital myasthenic syndrome is eligible for tax deductions (in case of a person) with disability (u/s 80U) and also for Tax Deduction for maintenance / medical treatment of dependent (u/s 80DD)?

Please answer all the above questions.
    waiting for your early reply
    thank you very much

2. shobhamma

shobhamma Gold IL'ite

1. Health Insurance is a guarantee against sickness and hospitalization.
    2. You should pray that you don't need it, , but when you do it can be a life saver.
    3. This is the RIGHT time to get one, specially for your mother, because most insurers do not take new entrants after 65. some do take till later, but it is better to get one NOW.
    4. For you and your sister too this is the right time. You accumulate No claim bonus for the years you do not claim, and your premium gets lower .
    5. Age is in your favor, so go for the one with most coverage, as price of hospitalization and medicines is growing by leaps and bounds.
    6. Go for 10/ 20 lakhs cover, usually there are annual premiums.
    7. ICICI, HDFC, Bajaj and of course Government ones are there. Best thing is to find a suitable agent. In times of need it is a good agent who will stand by you and sort out the issues.
    8. All policies have a caveat about existing diseases, and sometimes require medical tests. Your agents will be able to tell you about it.
    9. Some policies do not cover an existing disease for some time it varies from 1 -3 years. That is why it is better to have it when you are young so you build a history of no claims.
    10. Today a medical policy is absolutely needed as it allows you to have cashless transactions in the hospitals for emergencies.
    11. But I cannot stress enough about a good agent! Finally he will be your saviors. I am speaking from personal experience.

I would strongly advise you to go for it, but make a careful study and pros and cons about various policies.

You can check on line and compare them at
    Health Insurance: Compare Best Health Insurance Online

Also almost all the big companies have their sites. Also check their records for settling the claims.

All the best.

3. sunita1211

sunita1211 Silver IL'ite

Group Term Insurance Plans
    Life Insurance Group Term Life , a non linked non - participating yearly renewable group term product,allows you to plan ahead and secure the future of our loved ones.
    If something happens to you than an insurance policy will ensure financial security to meet the uncertainties and make the family feel fully protected.One of the best ways to do this is through Term Plans, the purest form of the insurance Value averaging Investment Plan (VIP) requires monthly contributions. However, while SIP requires your investor to invest a fixed amount, VIP works on the concept of value averaging. The investor sets a target level for his/her portfolio that they desire over a certain period of time.

Last edited by a moderator: Jun 23, 2016
  4. devirenukasiva

devirenukasiva New IL'ite

star health insurance company is good check there

5. BansalNishant

BansalNishant New IL'ite

Hello there,
    As mentioned in your question, it seems you & your mother have some pre-existing diseases. Most of the health insurance companies have a waiting period of 6 months - 4 years, before which one cannot claim. And, as the age of your mother is above 60, premium would be little bit on a higher side. It is advisable to buy a health insurance plan which covers your senior citizen mother. For more details, please check various plans on BankBazaar and choose the best one depending on your requirements.

6. Ooviya

Ooviya Platinum IL'ite

New India Assurance--Floater Mediclaim is best one...

7. kinasakilara

kinasakilara New IL'ite

you can also check PolicyX, at PolicyX you can compare all insurance plans and its features with ease.