Hey all living in and around Tambaram - Handicrafts exhibition

Discussion in 'Chennai' started by rajmiarun, Dec 8, 2006.

1. rajmiarun

rajmiarun Gold IL'ite

Do you all know that Poompuhar is conducting a handicrafts exhibition for the first time in Tambaram. The exhibition is for 10 days in Surana Thanga Mahal in Rajaji Street near National Theater.

Handicrafts on display are Panchaloka Idols, Tanjore paintings, furniture, jute products, furnishings, paintings, sarees etc. Price range is from Rs.10 to Rs. 2 lakhs:clap

2. Eljaype

Eljaype Bronze IL'ite

did you see it?

Hi Raj,
    Did you visit that exhibition?? I saw it in the hindu about that. One more thing I saw in the hindu was about the jute weavers and their jute products.
    Did you see that?
    My sister wanted to know about those weavers. She wants jute silk sarees for her boutique in Trivandrum. Have you any idea??
    Latha

3. Ami

Ami Silver IL'ite

Not abt exhibition..

Hi Ladies,

My query is not related to the above, but, regarding an item available in Chennai.

I saw my friend has bought this OM, SRI and swastik symbol from Chennai which we can fix at the door or pooja door. pls pls tell me where can I find them very commonly all the time. She said that she had bought at the entrance of GRT, but, a few yrs back, when I came, did not see anything.

So, Mrs.C or varloo or any other shopping experts, pls suggest me.

4. honeybee

honeybee Gold IL'ite

Re: Not abt exhibition..

Dear Ami
    Sorry for the belated reply.Just saw your post.Yes.. the stickers you mentioned are commonly available in Chennai in the platforms of pondybazaaar .:wave

Honeybee

5. Ami

Ami Silver IL'ite

Thanks, sowmya for yr reply. I am not sure what you have meant is the same the one I am talking. I am looking for brass metal which has a square shaped glue at the back to stick in the door and NOT the paper stickers. Did you mean the same becoz, one of our neighbor looked everywhere and could not find the same.

Rgds.

6. rajmiarun

rajmiarun Gold IL'ite

Hi Ami,

I saw your post and sorry for this belated reply. Yes you get these in Pondy Bazaar platforms, Giri traders-Mylapore, in some other shops too. If you can specify me your locality I can ask my friends over there and let you know where it is available

7. Ami

Ami Silver IL'ite

Thanks a lot, Rajmiarun..

My parents live in Saligramam and hence, is that available in Vadapalani which is the closest shopping area? Or any particular shops in T.nagar will also do. The problem was that, my mom's neighbor checked in some shops and they all told the same answer that it was sold out. Since my parents are quite old enough, cant ask them to check each & every shop.

Rgds.

8. Chitvish

Dear Ami,
    Please come home - that is my standard gift to everyone who comes to my house for the first time !
    It often goes out of stock & reappears all over again in Chennai shops !

9. Ami

Ami Silver IL'ite

Thanks, Mrs.C for yr warm invitation.

Of course, have already put YOU in my list to visit whenever come to Chennai. Just to relish some goodies, atleast!!! Just kid.,

Thank you for the response.