Sick Parents Thrown Out

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by Kamalji, Jun 26, 2014.

Sick Parents Thrown Out

A few days back , in jaipur, this is what happened.
    SHOCKING: Son

Mohanlal Sharma, 62, and his wife Kailash Devi, 58, were thrown out of their own home, by the son they were staying with. He suffers from Asthama, and she from a fractured leg. Seems they refused to transfer the house in the name of his son, and so he locked up the house, threw them outside their own home, and went away.They have been there since the last 4 days, out on the streets.

If I get the opportunity and the address, I might go and interview them, I want to know why they took this **** from their son, and do they plan to do about it.

The other two sons had come to meet the parents sometime back, and this son and his wife complained to the police that the two brothers molested his wife, so those two stopped coming, and are scared of this brother( molestation, does it ring a bell , the easiest thing to put someone behind bars eh !).

I am amazed at the old couple, they are scared of their son, for reasons best known to them, and they expect the world to face him, and put their lives at risk ? The son is at fault, for sure, but are the parents faultless ? That is what I want to discuss here, who knows there arelessons in this for us all.

What would I do if I was in the old man’s place ? Fristly I would have complained to the police, and have the son behind bars. Then break open the lock, and throw out that fellows belognings on the streets, and tell the police, that pls ensure that we don’t want to see this rascal miles around us.

Then put an advt in the papers, disowning this son, as it comes regularly in the papers. And also proclaim that I don’t want him to perform m y last rites, and remove him from my will or nominations.

To live with this kind of a son, means the parents still have love for these chaops in their hearts, and for the grandchildren too, who knows. Remove this, and now live for urself and yr wife. If u need money, go the bank and get reverse mortage for yr house which must be worth crores, and u will get a lakh or so everymonth, and get to stay in the house till u both die.Then why do u need such sons eh !

Why do we need children in old age, cant we manage on our own? Even if they are good, keep them at arms length, learn to live on yr own, and as I keep saying it is a crime to be poor in old age. Save sufficiently for old age, and live a life well, with servants, and enough money for a luxurious life for Air conditions, a driver , if u cant drive, a nice car, and have good mediclaim, and a good friend circle, who can come to yr aid in an emergency, even if yr children cannot, either they are bad quality, or that they are good quality but staying far away overseas.

I and wife have saved well for our old age, that did require some sacruifices in our younger enjoying days, but better a missed cruise, and a nice AC hospital room now, rather than having enjoyed then, and now bcs I don’t have money, I do the rounds of government hosptials as theya refree, and a living hell to go there even once.

I don’t have a son, and I am old now at 60, so who will take care of me ? So, should I commit suicide, get depressed, or sell my house, and go and live in my daughter;s house, bot of us eh ! This is what most people do, in my beighbourhood, a friend, his MIL has come to stay with them, as he had only daughters, She has substantial FD’s , which may go to her this daughter, for she is taking care, lodging and boarding too eh !

Well we both have different ideas, we want to be independent, and live in all possible luxury, with plenty of deomestic help, for we ensureed we were not short of money as we retired, so a few sacrifices were called for, and now we are haivng a decent time. And after us, all goes to the daughters, till we are alive, it remains with us, as simple as that.

I have no regrets not having a son. We can take care of ourselves , thank you.

Friends what do u have to say to this episode.Would like yr views on this, Thanks.

(This time no HAHA, there is no room for it here).

Nurse to patient with bleeding head: Your name?
    Patient: Sunil.

Nurse: Age?
    Patient: 25 years.

Nurse: Married?
    Patient : No, no, car accident!

[22:31, 24/06/2014] Kamal Mahtani: SSC result special

Father: nalayak
    Padosi ki ladki ko dekh, first aayi hai.

Son: aur kitna dekhun ?
    Usse dekh dekh kar hi to fail hua ...

: A superb line written on a hospital board:-
    If you still want to continue Looking @ girls, Even after your death 
    DONATE YOUR EYES. 

Sardar to Librarian: l want a book named "Psycho The Rapist".
    The shocked Librarian searched for 3 hrs then came back & Slapped the Sardar & said
    -U Idiot the book's name is "Psychotherapist"

Lalu Football match dekh kar bole: Itne saare log Football ko laat kyu maar rahe hai ???

Secratory: Sir, GOAL karne ke liye...

Laalu- ''Sasuri gol hi to hai aur kitna GOL krenge.. 

Ek aadmi ka wallet
    chori ho gaya.
    Woh police department complaint karne gaya.
    Havaldar ne pucha.
    Kitna paisa tha usme.
    Aadmi bola paisa gaya tel lagane.
    Mera ek saal ka train ka pass tha usme

11 people like this.

2. Srama

What can I say other than, "Where is humanity?" Kamlaji. It is really saddening to see things go this way. As much as parents want to save for after retirement, I think many parents would have given their all in bringing up their kids. Not because they expect to be taken care of but because may be they believe they have done a good job of keeping some humanity alive in their kids. I am sure more than the ability to complain, it is the sheer helplessness that makes them keep quiet I think. Really sad Kamlaji!

3. joylokhi

joylokhi Platinum IL'ite

Yes, Kamalji - sometime last year also i had heard of a similar case in a Delhi home.
    and there may be umpteen number of cases of neglect/torture by children to helpless parents.
    As u rightly say, financial independence in old age is the most important step to guard against such instances. However, even with a good financial background, an elderly couple once they reach a stage where they are physically vulnerable, have to depend on youngsters for support. But once they know that their children have no
    feelings or respect for them, the ideal thing would be to get into a retirement community/ old age home and protect their interests. It is really depressing to see what the world is coming to. However, your jokes in the end have as usual lightened the mood. Thanks for sharing.

4. kelly1966

kelly1966 Platinum IL'ite

Kamalji..
    I agree with you.. save up for the retirement days and never be a burden to your child.. we always sympathise with the old.. the meek .. the weak..the poor.. but its always good to know both sides of the story.. BUT BUT nothing can be justify the act of putting 2 people from their own home onto the street.. this is outright indecnt and inhumane..
    thats all.. hope you are well
    kerman

5. navs23

navs23 Platinum IL'ite

I really pity the parents, but, would not be the least surprised, if they decide to give that son the house rather than punish him and eventually, the son throws them out again, once the house is in his name. There's a saying in my language which translates to 'the heart of the parents is crazy and gullible, while the heart of the child is a stone'.

People will go to any extent(inhuman) possible, if it comes to money or other materialistic things. I am not trying to be cynical here, but have seen it happen, where money or property comes into picture and even a sibling or parent becomes so ruthless. But, what goes around, comes around.

6. shyamala1234

This is very very inhuman. Is there no one to help or guide them? 62 and 58 is not a very helpless age. We have a friend in Help Age India (he is a retired banker). Supports the concept of reverse mortgage very much and ready to help . But he says there are very few takers. The reason is what would people say, do not want to malign the name of children and in many cases children do not agree and at the same time do not want to spend money for parents!
    I fully agree parents should save for themselves as much as possible to make their old age comfortable.
    A good and practical one. Thank you.

7. ambika04

ambika04 Gold IL'ite

I have been to a house recently & the DIL is telling her MIL that only she is there to take care of the MIL in olden days or if she falls sick & she keeps repeating that many times.I was not sure whether she is mentally making her MIL to believe in her words.There are only few who overcome their fear,emotional attachment towards their family members as they grow old.The MIL must have made a strong comment that she can very well take care of herself as she got lovely children,2 houses & should have stopped sharing the rent for the DIL house which she lives.I will dig into your previous post as I missed so much in between.

8. PushpavalliSrinivasan

PushpavalliSrinivasan IL Hall of Fame

A very inhuman act! Nowadays we read many stories like this in the news papers. Love and respect to elders is diminishing. People are becoming materialistic and they they do not care for relationship for their siblings or parents.
    PS

9. muthuswathi

muthuswathi Silver IL'ite

Dear Kamal ji,

The similar case happened to one my colleagues in Bangalore.

Whose brother has thrown the parents out of the house and the parents took wise decision, approached court and won the case after few years. Now the son and his wife is out of the house. The parents are peacefully living now. It is a brief story I have narrated here. But the amount of struggle to get back their own house .... it cannot be expressed in words.

It is always prudent to provide for the future.

muthuswathi

Dear Sabita,

Tmes change, so do children, and so also parents must change.Dont spend all on the children, keep some for yrself. Wha tis the helplessness ? The parents have to be strong to tell the sons to go take a walk, that we can take care of ourselves, and that we dont need yr money, simple.if u are poor, and if yr son is bad, well that is yr bad luck for sure.
    So while u are in yr forties start planning for yrself and spouse.

Regars