I am unlucky to enjoy luxurious life but lucky to enjoy simple pleasures

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by iyerviji, Jun 25, 2014.

Of late my son has been buying so many things for us but some things are giving us testing time. Like he bought a Laptop for me and sent through my daughter as he was not able to come . But he had not formatted it and I was after people to get it updated and finally it was formatted. Then he got a Photon Wi fi card . I am not much used to Laptop but since the net connection to my computer was getting over by June and also we were shifting to a new rented house I stopped the net connection to my computer and did not connect it after coming to this house as Laptop is there. Slowly I got used to the laptop and I was so happy because I became active in Facebook also and I was enjoying browsing through Laptop. But now since Sunday the net is very slow. I am not getting yahoo mail and Face book and yesterday I wentt the shop from where the Photon wifi dada card was bought.They told me your usage is over, thats why the sites have become slow but both those sites the message is coming web site not available. Its really surprising that I am getting Indusladies, so atleast I amable to enjoy being here.

People get upset if some problem is there in the family but besides getting worried about other problems I get worried if my net connection is not there as if the whole world has come down. People might think I am very silly and that too at this age but what to do I am like that and different from anyone, you know God has also made me different. Every has five fingers in the feet in order starting from thumb till the little finger where as mine starts from thumb but my last finger is big and the fourth finger is small . So am I not different from others :)

Also after coming to this house my son bought as flat TV Panasonic and along with that there was an offer for Philips hope theatre, I told my dil I dont want that because there is no time to use it . But she said you are getting for a less price so keep it. But our bad luck it is not getting connected to our TV. five people came to fix it but with no luck, finally one electriciancame and fixed it but three days back only I have got the cds . Dont know when will get chance to view them.

Sorry if I have repeated again my problems. My washing machine is also giving problem because the water flow is less in the 3rd floor so it has becomesemi automatic and I have to pour atleast and and a half bucket of water or little more everyday which has become an exercise for me. Early days I used to get back ache but with God's grace now I have got used to it.

I wanted to add some quotes as always but since I am not gett other sites not able. If we have faith in God , He will show us the way and everything will bocome alright but it will take time. In Hindi they say na I dont remember exactly, Kuda ke ghar me dher hai par andher hai(please correct the saying

I know I am not going to get much responses for this post because as always I am grumbling about my problems, everyone has problems but everyone does not share but I know atleast people will view my thread

Glad atleast I am getting IL otherwise I would have gone to depression

11 people like this.

2. joylokhi

joylokhi Platinum IL'ite

Dear vijimam,
    i can understand how frustrating it is, when we have to handle things needing repair etc.
    Myself and husband also stay by ourselves, with our grandson coming after his school hours, i.e at 12.30 and will be with us till late evening when his parents will take him
    to their home which is only 2 kms away from ours. My main problem would always be
    with the desktop PC which i have. My son has updated it well, still many occasions
    arise when the speaker doesnt work or the webcam will go off or mike problem or some such thing. Ofcourse i try to set things right by asking instructions from both my boys over phone -or google for it myself - but till matters are settled the tension makes me really irritated. So, coming to your situation, its nice to see u take everything positively, and things will definitely work out for you sooner than later. Take care:)

3. iyerviji

Joy dear just as your userid you have made this 70 yr old young at heart :) happy with your first fb, if I dont get any other fb also I will be happy that atleast I got in fb. Yes dear sometimes we have to struggle to get things but that is also good then only we know the value of things. Getting everything easily has no fun. I have always experienced especially after marriage that I have to struggle for everything then nly I get it. But in the long run I am happy and then I feel why I was so much worried. Sorry to know that you also go through those phases in life.Thanks for your encouragement dear which has given me hope that soon everything will be alright. Any way with experience only we learn and have the patience to bear everything and look forward to the best If we are positive onlythings will happen according to our choice

4. neetugtb

neetugtb Silver IL'ite

Dear mam, though I had been a silent reader almost for four years, I am relatively new as a registered member. What is most wonderful about you is that you make an effort to move with time. Motivation thru children could be one of the reasons behind it.
    My mother is a retired pgt and father retired from govt. service, my bro and SIL both doctors but all of them stay away from technology, I see a lot of communication gap in the house due to lack of time and energy. No matter how many times I have tried to convince my mother about the advantages of internet, she takes it as a waste of time only. I can only manage to visit her in 2-3 months, that too for an hour or two which wears away in dining and talking. She has a lot of lonely time on hand and I know what is she missing out on, so feel bad about it but it can happen only when she herself want to keep up with the time.
    I can only say that you are a lucky one to be blessed with children who insist that parents should live life to their fullest, of course the hectic lifestyle of modern times hardly permits enough time but the initiation by your loved ones fills you with a new motivation. I hope that during my next visit, I would be able to convince her to join the forum and have innumerable friends.

5. SGBV

SGBV IL Hall of Fame

Amma,

Are you living with your children or alone?

I remember my mom was complaining about everything under the sky. We tried to give her an easy to use laptop, internet connection, flat TV, CDs, washing machines, and all the affordable luxuries at home. There was a full time maid too.
    But the thing is, none of us were staying with her. Myself and my brother were living in abroad, where sister was living in the same country, but a bit far from mom as she was studying. None of us were married then.

Mom became very depressed day by day, specially after my dad's demise. She would complain always. But god's grace, we decided to come back home for good. She is now living with me.

See, she is more older than before. She has more health complications than before. She runs around the home and baby sits my kids. She has more work than before. But thank God, this lady is very happy now. No complaints, nothing.

I think, for parents like you and my mom... The presence of their kids are more important than their presents (gifts). JMO

6. Cheeniya

Oh God! Why are you teasing my sister like this? You give her a laptop without formatting. You give her a data card but its behaviour is erratic. You give her a Flat TV with a Home Theatre but it has awful starting trouble. Five qualified technicians come to rectify it with no positive result and finally an electrician comes and makes it work. You give her lots of CDs of good movies but she has no appetite for them. You give her a sleek washing machine but make her live in Third Floor where water pressure is low. You make her pour buckets of water into the machine to complete the washing cycle. Is this your way of giving her some exercise? I am amazed at your 'Leela'! My sister can't even sing your praise because she cannot get internet connectivity and so no access to the Quotes Sites!

God, I must register my protest about the over doze of your 'Leela'. She is a good woman and deserves better. Please attend to two problems immediately. Make the water pressure in her floor normal so that her washing machine becomes fully automatic. Make her internet ok so that she can have continuous supply of good quotes about you.

8 people like this.

My dear Anna

First of all thank you so much for your sweet fb and recommending my case to God. Your fb brought a smile on my face and I am sure God will definitely listen to you and solve my problems. If I am living on this earth at this age means it is due to the excessive love shown to me by my family and brothers like you. I am in quest of love and thank God by his grace I get abundant love from everyone. Usually I get upset that I am not getting IL but now it is other way round , luckily by God's grace I am getting IL but not getting yahoo mail and Facebook.

My son told me that he will try to set right the photon and if not possible then I can get my laptop connected to a internet connection with whom I am very familiar and they will see that I always get the internet connection. If I get connected to the other internet connection then I need not trouble my son who is always busy and sometimes in a meeting and is abroad.

Thanks my dear Anna, with your blessings everything will be alright soon

8. iyerviji

Sorry Nitu I wrote reply to your fb but it did not get posted due to internet problems. Will write to you later

SGBV and Nitu sorry for reply Cheeniya Sir, my dear Anna first as his fb brought a smile on my face and so immediately replied to him. Will write to both of you later

9. jasmine25

jasmine25 Gold IL'ite

Aunty,
    I know how frustrating if net connection is dead slow.. Am facing this problem too after coming to India recently... I had a jet speed internet abroad but here :-( pathetic...there are times I get irritated but am trying to accept the fact and while away my time somehow...happy that at lest you are able to login to IL.. So nice of your children to gift you with laptop and what not? My hubby has gifted inlaws with android phone n PC etc but they are unable to access it and they say they are comfortable speaking over phone itself rather than skype..Still android phone set is sleeping royally in the wardrobe as they fear using it.. You rock with exploring gadgets and utilising it by continuous learning.. Hats off to your immense potential and positive attitude towards life..don't worry please.. Things will get settle down aunty.. All the best!

10. PushpavalliSrinivasan

PushpavalliSrinivasan IL Hall of Fame

Dear Viji,
    OMG! In spite of so many problems with your WiFi and laptop you get IL and that's great!
    We are living on the top floor and for our washing machine we use a tube to fill water from a tap in stead of filling water in a bucket and pour it. But we use washing machine only twice in a week.
    Hope that your problems get solved sooner and you have access to FB and yahoo mail.
    PS