Ask here - The recipes you want from ChitVish

Discussion in 'Ask ChitVish' started by Priya Amarnath, Sep 27, 2005.

1. jaynash

jaynash Senior IL'ite

Re: How to make barley water

Hello Chitra

Right now i am seven months pregnant. My feet is all swollen. I heard tht Barley water helps to subside it. But i dont know how to make it. It will really helpful if you could tell me how to make barley water.

Thank you
    jaynash.

2. ksv

ksv Senior IL'ite

Dear Chitramami,

I would like to learn about making different types of "Vadams".

Is it possible for u to help me(us- the indus ladies members!!!).

Thanks and regards
    ksv.

3. krishnaamma

krishnaamma Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

Sorry Chitra,

I am watching from the morning, that you are not answering. You usually answer very very fast and quick. Are you not well? I think you will not mind me answering here.
    தலை இருக்கும் போது வால் ஆட கூடாது, என்றாலும் இங்கு நான் பதில் சொல்ல வந்துள்ளேன். தவறானால் மன்னிக்கவும்.. :bowdown

Hi traveller,
    You can make 'Hanumar Vadai' using those dals.

4. krishnaamma

Re: How to make barley water

Hi jaynash,

First congrats to you. Take a hand full of barley seeds. Put it in a deep pan and pour 2 - 3 tumblers of water and allow it to boil. Let it reduce into half. Remove from the fire and drink the water alone. If you are not able to drink the water please add 1 sp sugar and drink. You can take 2 -3 times this water in a day. This will increase your urine. But dont worry it is normal only. This will cure your swelling.

Last edited: Apr 23, 2008
  5. krishnaamma

Hi Ksv,

You please search A - Z index and I am giving my link here.

Also, check out the link for various categories of recipes given by Chitvish.

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 25, 2008
  6. shree

shree Silver IL'ite

hi chitra ji,

i want to know the recipe of kothamalli satham can u post that for me or can u give me the link . thanx in advance.

7. samayal

samayal Silver IL'ite

Dear Mrs. CV,

I’m planning to make angel burfi. How long does it take to get soft ball consistency when cooked in medium heat?

Thanks in advance

8. Vnbaby

Vnbaby Senior IL'ite

Namaste Chithraji!!

I have been noticing your efforts of giving everybody healthy tips about food and your food chart for pregnant women. You are doing really great job.

I am 15 weeks pregnant and away from my elders in US. My nausea hasnt subsided by now and I am eagerly waiting it to go away because its been long time I have enjoyed my food. I dont like anything to eat specially if I cook it because cooking smells are extremely intolerable for me.

I used to like milk a lot before getting pregnant but now I dont like milk also. But other ILs suggested soymilk I tried and liked it. I want to take it with saffron. So I want to know if it is safe to take saffron with soymilk. Because I heard that certain food combinations are not good specially in pregnancy. Please tell me as nobody is able to answer my question yet.

Take Care
    V n baby

9. Senorita

Senorita Silver IL'ite

Dear Chitra mam,
    can you please post some summer drinks as the sun is going red & hot.. its irritating to take coffee or tea.. tough we have rasna, tang and other ready mades but i want to know if there any more jucies that we can try in home..

I know lemon juice and mango juice only (hope thaz common) want to learn more from you to beat this sun heat..

Kindly give suggestions mam, many thanks in advance.. Bow

10. krishnaamma

Hi Senorita,

Please take a look at A - Z index of her already given recipes.

I dont know why chitra is not answering for the past two day. I am worried about her health. Anybody know why she is not here?:confused2:

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 25, 2008