Eight

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by Kamalji, Mar 13, 2008.

Dear I lites,

I would like to start a new thread today,wherein i would like all of you, to post blogs on the follwing

1) Eight things that u like about yourself
    2) Eight things u dont like about yourself.
    3) Eight movies u have liked, yr all time favourites
    4) Eight books that u have liked and read

I will list eight things about myself that i dont like, so here i go.

Eight Things I don’t like about myself
    <?XML:NAMESPACE PREFIX = O />
    1) I talk too much.When I go out for walks, I think of a topic read in the papers, so that I can impress my walker friends, but who unfortunately for me, have already read it a day before, and know more about it than me.

2) I don’t have a complex.I wish I had, so that I would work harder to earn more money to buy the new car which my neighbour has.

3) I look older than I am.When someone asks me my age, and I tell them I am 54, they look at me in disbeif, as they think I am 64.So these days I tell everyone I am 70,and they look in wonder that I look much younger, which pleases me no end.When they ask about my wife, who is she,I say she is my daughter, and for my daughters , they are my grand daughters.Have got used to it by now, you see.

4) That why did not these beauties like Rakhee Sawant,Deepika Padukone were not around when I was young and eligible.I wouldn’t have minded being the tenth in line for Deepika,but these dames were just not there in my times.Sad

5) That I am not kind to the pretty females who come for ULIP policies to me.I just shoo them away.How will their kitchen fires burn.I should buy each and every policy from any pretty lady that comes over, because they tell me “ Mahtani saab kabhi aap hamare Kaam ayenge, aur Kabhi hum apke kaam ayenge” So to maintain contacts,I should buy all the policies, even if I have to go into bankrupcy,

6) That I eat all these horrible meats, and drink poisons called Whiskey,and unfortunately love them.I must learn to eat Dal Chawal and Roti, and let others eat Meat,andlet their teeth Rot.And I must learn to drink Morarji’s formula so that I can live up to a 100 years,and entertain u all with my blogs on my daily diet.

7) I like to look at pretty women,which I must avoid.The next time I go to Spain and go to the Topless beaches there, bang across the restaurant where we eat our Lunch,I must think of them in sisterly terms.Im glad though I don’t have any cameras in my eyes, otherwise I would have long been divorced, and kiski ko bhi mooh dikhane layak nahi rehta.

8) That I cant write sensible blogs nor think of good stories like most of you.I write all the daily mundane things that happen in my life, why cant I write great blogs like Cheeniya Sir,great stories like Vidya,Varloo and other great writers here.I envy them and their writing skills.Well never mind,let me be Kamalji, as I am.

Have I been honest ? God knows, but there are a 100 things I don’t like about myself, but since that will bore u guys, and luckily u have specified only 8, so that’s it folks.Until u guys tell me to write more ( and don’t ever make that mistake), Bye Bye.

2. Devika Menon

Devika Menon Gold IL'ite

Hi Kamal

8 things I like about myself . God want that make me look immodest but yet these are what people compliment me for:
    1: Gift of Gab
    2: Sense of Humour
    3: Good listener
    4: Nonjudgemental
    5: Optimistic
    6: My ability to make a mark for myself in the corporate world generally ruled by Men.
    7: Respect for my parents
    8: Consider myself lucky to have a wonderfully supportive husband

8 things I hate about myself:
    1. Temper
    2. Cleanliness syndrome
    3. Hate cooking
    4. My allergy to certain foods gets restrictive
    5. My habitual late nights.
    6 High sensitivity
    7. The way I weep while watching movies is pretty embarrasing
    8. My love for sweets is something I hate afer having eaten my share

8 movies
    1. Masoom
    2. Arth
    3Pretty Woman
    4. ErinBrokovich
    5.Sleeping with the enemy
    6.My best friends Wedding(BY now you know Im a Big Julia Roberts fan)
    7.Taare Zammen Par
    8 Stop or my Mom will shoot

* 8 books:(giving Authors since like all their books diff to choose)
    1. Dale Carnegie
    2.Shiv khera
    3.Danielle Steel
    4 Sidney Sheldon
    5.Arundhati roy
    6.Shobha De
    7.John Grisham
    8 Swami Parathasarathy(Vedantic Treatise)

Devika

Last edited: Mar 13, 2008
  3. Kamalji

Hi Devika,

Wonderful.Got to know yr likes and dislikes better.Masoom and Arth i too like,as also the movie Pretty woman, and Sidney Sheldon.

I wish u had written a blog seperatly , thanks for sparing time to post yr comment here instead.Regards.kamal

4. Arunarc

Dear Kamalji
    A nice post but you have mentioned only what you don't like and what about the others?? But can read in don't likes what you like too so 2 in 1............
    A person who talks too much is a person who doesn't keep anything in heart, is suppose to be a caring person...........I don't know about you............Big LaughBig Laugh
    I hope your wish be granted of buying a better car then your neighbour.
    Who ever said you look old you should have told my heart is very young do you want to have a look at it...........
    If not RS and DP in your times you had beauties like Helen and Aruna Irani....
    No wonder you hate pretty woman they empty your pockets............hahaha
    Will better not comment of the Hindi sentence you have put up...........Bow
    Kamalji, Dad says a peg a day keeps the doc away.........kills all the germs too..Big Laugh
    Morarji's formula to live for 100 yrs?????.....................:biggrin2:

Dear Devika
    Wow super Authors ya in that I like Dan Brown too
    DS and SS are my favourite too
    Movies you have mentioed all great movies, have seen all of them but along with them for me cartoon movies are my 1st priority the best one are Tom and Jerry
    Robots.

Aruna,

Thanks for the nice comments, and being on my side on most of the points.I want u to write a seperate blog on thuis, and im sure it will be very ery interesting.

The himdi sentence, it really happened, and i was taken aback as much as u are.I wrote about this a few blogs back about what some ladies will do to push selling their insurance polocies.

And looking at the falling markets as it happened yest and today about 1500 points down, those who must have invested in their schemes, must be rueing the day they set eyes on the woman.

And u are right, pretty women empty yr pockets.HAHA.Regards.kamal

6. Vidya24

Vidya24 Gold IL'ite

Kamalji,

That was a good session. Will be back with my list of 8s, am busy till saturday. Nice to know more about the inner selves of you and Devika. Mine will surely shock and stun.

But, why do you cut yourself short? You have a very distinct style of writing, no bells and whistles, no frills and fancies, very existentialist. You dish it out as it is. At times, it gets jarring to read flowery prose embroidered with cliched and borrowed phrases. Your acerbic style is most refershing, let us say a tangy G&T after a long day.

Dont even put me among the writers in IL, leave alone the great ones like you have mentioned. I just key harum scarum. But then at the end of the day, I feel writing skills should not be compared. True, we have a contest for fine posts, I often compliment members on their writing. But all expressed writing is a manifestation of emotions and thoughts. And is all beautiful. So to say, one is better than another maybe true, but not entirely.

Back soon.

Vidya

Vidya,

Thank u for yr kind words of encourgment.I am a fan of yrs, just love what u write.Your letters from Dad was so moving and touching.Hope to read a lot more from u, and about u in the Eight which i am eagerly awaiting.

Yes i know u must be very busy with life, and as a moderator.God bless u.REgards.kamal

8. aquamarine

aquamarine Senior IL'ite

HI Kamalji,

This is a fantastic thread that you have started.....good one....

My dislikes of myself: constant complains of my health issues, high sensitivity, focus on a single point, cleanliness control, allergic to spicy food, caution in making friends, can never forget and an introvert.

my likes: open minded about most things, analytical of things, patience, love of children, books, music, gardening and most important a tangent with my spouse.

my books: colin forbes, clive cussler, auther hailey, calvin and hobbes, nora roberts, jude devaraux & jeffrey archer and so many more.....how can i restrict it to just 8.

kamalji...what happened to your likes and your reading habits....

warm wishes,

priya.

Priya,

What we share in common is , open mindedness, love for children, Jeffery Archer.

Well i like everything about myself actually so i will bore u all with the detailsBig Laugh

Some of my all time favourites movies are

Padosan,halti ka naam Gaddi,Dil ek Mandir,Waqt,Aradhana,Seeta Aur Geeta,Sholay,

English ones being Its a Mad Mad World, Guess who's coming to Dinner, To Sir with Love,
    Guns of Navorone,Becket,Alfred Hitchcock movies,Godfather 1 and 2, The Night of the Generals and so many more, as also Clint Eastwood movies like Dirty Harry,The Good Bad Ugly

Books well my fvourite authors are Ludlum,Archer,Sidney Sheldon,and these days Freakonomics, Google,The earth is flat and quite a few more.

Thanks and regards.kamal