I felt like whistling and appluading when ........

Discussion in 'Life Without Spouse' started by ansh12, Feb 23, 2008.

1. ansh12

ansh12 Bronze IL'ite

Hi ILites

Some movies leave a strong impact on one's mind. Some movies have portrayed women in such a strong way and as women of substance that one feels like whistling:whistle, bowing :bowdownand applauding :clap. Mother India tops the list.

I am pretty impressed and inspired about the grit and determination of a women showcased in many movies(being a movie buff, I can site many), but here are a few

-Shabana telling Kulbhushan Karbanda Goodbye" in Arth at the ned and telling Raj Kiran that she doesn' need a man's name to carry on with her life in ARTH

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AuMy4Y9S5-8(my favorite song)

-Madhur Dixt telling her husband in Mrityudand "Pati ho Parmeshwar banene ki khoshish mat kigiye..."also, role potrayed by Shabana Azmi

YouTube - Madhuri Dixit (confrontation with husband part 2)
    YouTube - Madhuri Dixit (confrontation with husband ipart 1)
    (watch these videos, you wil really appreciate, I am confident)

-Tabu's role in Astitva-where she says I want to live as Aditi.

I would like to invite you share the movies hwre you like the women's potrayal as a strong women and which part you liked the most.

Best wishes
    Ansh

2. Ria2006

Ria2006 Silver IL'ite

Nice topic..

I have many such favorite Pro-woman movies..

English - FlightPlan - I just loved the Jodie foster doesnot give up on searching for her daughter

Hindi -
    Latest - Aja Nachle - Loved the depiction of Madhuri's character. Her strength of character amidst fallen public image is applaudable.

Taal - where Ash scolds back to Akshay khanna and saya " tumhare baba ki ijjat ijjat hai, meri baba ki ijjat kuch nahi.."

Old one -
    Mughal-e-azam - Anarkali, I loved proudful smile on Madhubala 's face during whole song of "Pyar kiya to darna kya" I mean what a killing and smashing gesture of braveness.

Ria

3. ansh12

ansh12 Bronze IL'ite

Thanks Ria

I haven't seen Aaja Nachale yet. Now will mak eit a point to see that movie.

Mughal -e-azam reminds me of portrayal of Jodha Bai by Durga Khote. I instantly fell in love with her talent.

Did you watch Damini.:wowwhat a powerful performance by Meenakshi Seshadri.

If you can spare few minutes please look at my thread "Bachpan Ke din (Childhood Days)" in snippets of life as I would love to hear from you i that thread.

Best wishes
    Ansh

4. Ria2006

Ria2006 Silver IL'ite

Yes, I have seen Damini.. Indeed a powerful performance.

I loved Aaja Nachle. Its a beautiful movie. Everyone was amazing in that. I will sure pay a visit to your other thread.

Ria

5. lovinglife

lovinglife New IL'ite

Hi Ansh/Ria:

I agree with you both.....I have watched all the movies you mentioned (I have forgotten Arth.....will have to watch it again)...but agree that they were all great performances.

I also like "Panic Room" with Jodie Foster. It was great to see how bad situations can make a simple person so strong!!

I also like "Pretty Woman" because it shows how someone can believe that anything is possible in life, how being sweet can get you places!!

The other one I love is "Erin Brokovich"....it just showed how someone can achieve what they set their mind on, just because they believed in the cause and even though she did not have any formal traning as an attorney.

I am the only Indian on my team at work and my team mates are all facinated by bollywood, Indian culture, the clothes, etc... I have gotten a few of them hooked onto Indian movies. Their all time favorite is "Hum Tum" and "Hum Dil De Chuke Sanam"....they think it's funny and at the same time, showed them modern India but still with all the nuances about Indian culture.

6. ansh12

ansh12 Bronze IL'ite

HI Induskr

god to hear from you. I will also watch some english movies now, it has been long time since I have watched any english movie. I have watched mostly action movies, Like saving private ryan, terminator series and amny more kids stuff.

I liked Julie Roberts in "Sleeping with enemy"

What a powerful performance.

Pat on your back for exposing your team mates to bollywood.

It always nice to hear from you.

Best wishes
    Ansh