Dilwalon ki Delhi ! What is the best thing you like about Delhi

Discussion in 'Delhi & NCR' started by sushmasrivastav, Aug 11, 2012.

1. sushmasrivastav

sushmasrivastav Bronze IL'ite

Hi! Calling all Delhites!
    Many of us come from different parts of India. Some may be from Kerala- and others may be from Bengal, Bihar or Assam.All of us have fallen in love with Dilwalon ki Delhi. What is the best thing you like about Delhi.
    As for me, the best thing about Delhi is the Delhi Metro. At present it is carrying nearly 5 lakh passengers every day. It takes you to almost every nook and cranny of this city. Whether it is shopping destinations like Delhi Haat, Lajpat nagar, S N Market, or Connaught Place , or Railway stations like New Delhi and Old Delhi or even hospitals like AIIMS or Safdarjang you can depend on Delhi Metro.
    Truly, Delhi Metro is a woman's best friend

Ankita001, BandanaSen and sweetsanjam like this.

2. Priyathama

Priyathama Gold IL'ite

hi i was in Delhi 33 years back ,i.e, i was little girl. The best thing i liked then was that all the neighbours very good and loyal to you they helped each other a lot without expecting anything in return .My parents used to go by leaving me alone in the house. Every one knew that but nobody tried to harass or disturb me also sometimes they left me at my neighbours but every body were very kind. Indeed dili dilwalon ki he hai. I wish i had been there I never wanted to come down in kerala i cried a lot for my father chosing this place for transfer ( actually kochi is his native place so he would prefer kochi) . i feel nostalgic when i think of delhi. the diwali m the holi etc etc.

3. sweetsanjam

sweetsanjam Senior IL'ite

One of the positive things about Delhi is that good hospitals and doctors are very easily available. There are hospitals like AIIMS, Safdarjang, AIIMS Trauma Centre, LNJP hospital, RML hospital in the govt sector and hospitals like Apollo, Sir Ganga Ram, Moolchand, Max Super Speciality & Medanta hospitals in the pvt sector. I was recently in Max, Saket where I saw that many people from Afghanistan had come to seek treatment. This was because treatment was not possible in their countries. Can we think of leaving our country for medical treatment abroad!
    In fact many areas in our country dont have access to good doctors - it is really a blessing to have such good hospitals. There are many charitable hospitals or clinics too, where for a nominal fee you can get the advice of an exper. In fact there is a doctor for every budget.

4. hivid

hivid Silver IL'ite

Although I am new to Delhi the best thing about this place is Delhi's education!

5. Saisakthi

Delhi, people are quite helpful, friendly Had lived for few months a decade back, you can really depend on your neighbours unlike many other places where you dont even know who lives next door.

6. BandanaSen

BandanaSen Bronze IL'ite

Hi Sushma
    Thanks for starting this thread. I was a keen student of history. Delhi is a lovely historical city with all those buildings from the different eras, the Qutub Minar, the Mughal buildings, the British Raj buildings.
    I love visiting the Old Delhi area with all its famous buildings like the Red Fort & the Jama Masjid. It has a character all its own. Movies like Delhi6 have tried to some of its aura. The area is the hub for its whole sale trade with everything from books to jewellery to spectacle frames available. The area is well known for its eateries too from the parantha at the famous Paranthe wali gali to the Jalebi wala to the delicious biryani and nihari.
    Expats living in Delhi too have been caught by its charms. Did you know that there are cycling groups who take you around the city? They even have three tours - The Old Delhi area, the Raj buildings and the Nizamuddin area. I tried out Delhibycycles.com. It was a good experience.

7. JoyshreeGupta

JoyshreeGupta Senior IL'ite

My cousin stays in Delhi. I have heard a lot about the city from her. Being the national capital, many people from all over India come to stay in Delhi for employment etc.
    My cousin tells me that every community has its own temples and is able to celebrate community festivals with traditional fervour and gaiety. Chhat Puja is an important festival of Bihar. My cousin who lives in East Delhi tells me that special arrangements are made at Wazirabad area for the Bihari community with lights, tents and other bandobast. The Bihari community is able to celebrate the Chhat Puja with ease.
    Another popular festival which is celebrated all over Delhi and which she enjoys is the Durga Puja.

8. RiddhimaT

RiddhimaT Platinum IL'ite

Hey,

I like shopping markets in Delhi...You have a lot of options from flee markets to top end markes...

I especially like sarojini nagar, kamla nagar and CP...though karol bagh is a good one but then a bit too expensive for everyday buying.....
    I also like pic-nicking on the India gate grounds esp at night when you'll find so many stalls of chana, bubbles, ice creams, balloons and esp those gajras ...ooooo...i love the walk in that area at night with lovely breeze even on a summer night....

kaniths and ReshmaHussain15 like this.
  9. fencesitter

fencesitter Platinum IL'ite

FOOD! I always binge on food, when ever i visit delhi. Its a non vegetarian's delight!

10. NitiSaini

NitiSaini Senior IL'ite

Hi Fencesitter
    There is no doubt that there are plenty of good non veg outlets in Delhi. I love visiting Karim's hotel in Old Delhi area. It is located in 16 Matia Mahal Road, Gali Kababian, Jama Masjid. It was started way back in 1913. It is known for its authentic Mughlai cuisine. My favourite is of course the Tandoori Murgh.
    Of course, Karim's have now opened branches in other areas of Delhi too. I have heard that they have opened a branch in the DT@GKII complex in Greater Kailash II in South Delhi.