Special shlokas for specific purposes

Discussion in 'Pujas Prayers & Slokas' started by Chitvish, Apr 7, 2006.

1. tripuradasan

tripuradasan New IL'ite

Dear Ramyakaushik avargale,

This has some errors.....I am correcting it..

The correct form is:

Om Sri Devii hi amrutOdhbhUtA kamalA chandra ShObhanaa
    Vishnu Pathnii Vaishnavaii cha VarArOhA cha SArngiNI
    HaripriyA DEvadEvI MahAlakshmI cha SundarI.

(Your version of Saaranginii is also correct; but kindly note the other differences. This is from Devi BhAgavatam).

Your advice is however very pertinent.

Blessings,
    Tripuradasan

2. tripuradasan

tripuradasan New IL'ite

Thai Krittikai festival today

Dear All

Today is Thai Krittikai. I am giving the link to an interesting article on this:

Pandit. Dakshinamoorthi R

Clicking on the above link will take you to that link. The Panditji has given wonderful mantras for miscellaneous purposes (all short name mantras on Murugar).

Blessings to all.
    Tripuradasan

Last edited: Jan 18, 2008
  3. Devika Menon

Devika Menon Gold IL'ite

Translation Pleaseeee

Hello Chithra!!!!

I cant tellyou how glad I was to come across your blog and threads. Well I am quite fond of Sanskrit but apart from a few lines blindly taught in school , I havent been able to get enough knowledge about it. Actually whenever I have to write some speech for my sons school programmes , I tend to add those few lines that I remember and his speeches are always liked in school.

There are a few lines that I nowe remember but am not able to understand its meaning . I would be very obliged if you could help me. These lines go as:
    Sahanamavathu Sahanau Bhunathu Sahaveeryam Karavavahai Tejasvi Navadeeramasthu Maa Vidh Vishav Hai . Om Shanthi Shanthi Shanthi.

These lines were taught to me 25 years back , but i guess they are more or less correct. Unfortunately we were never taught the meaning.

Thanks & Regards,

Devika Menon

4. Chitvish

Re: Exclusive pdf files for deity-pictures

Dear Devika,
    Welcome to this sub-forum.
    What you have written, is the Shanthi patah:
    Om sa ha naavavathu sa ha nau bhunakthu
    Saha veeryam karavaavahai Thaejasvinaavadheethamasthu
    Maa vidvishaavahai
    Om Shanthi: Shanthi: Shanthi:
    Translation:
    May the Lord indeed protect both of us. May He indeed nourish both of us. May we together acquire the capacity (to study and understand the scriptures). May our study be brilliant, May we not disagree with eachother.
    Om, peace, peace peace.

Explanation:
    At the beginning of a class, the teacher & students generally recite this peace invocation together. Both seek the Lord's blessings for a study that is free of obstacles, such as poor memory or the inability to concentrate or poor health.
    They also seek blessings for a conducive relationship, without which communication of any subject matter is difficult. Therefore this prayer is important forboth the teacher & the student.

5. tripuradasan

tripuradasan New IL'ite

Thai Krittikai today

Dear all

I received a wonderful newsletter from a group that I had subscribed to regarding Thai Krittikai austerities. I am forwarding it to this group also for the benefit of all . This is a newsletter sent by Pandit R.DAKSHINAMOORTHI....(I have cut and paste the original contents). The credit or appreciation if any for the contents, should go to Panditji and not me; I am just a messenger here spreading a good message for the benefit of all.

The message is below:==============================================

Thai Krittikai Festival Today (18th Jan 2008)

Dear Members:

Today is Thai Kritthikai - one of the most auspicious days in Honour of Lord Skanda (also called Muruga/ Kartikkeya/ Muruga).

Reciting/ listening to Kanda shashti kavacham, shanmukha kavacham, Kandar Anuboothi, Subramanya Bhujangam or other devotional works in His Honour will prove auspicious.

Worship of Lord Skanda will grant valour, intelligence, and physical felicity. This worship is most beneficial to those who seek progenic bliss, and for those who are troubled by enemies/ debts.

If you are unable to chant the hymns referred to earlier, you may just chant His name throughout the day (like Om Skandaaya namah; Om Murugaa; Om Kumaaraaya namah: Om Deva Saenaapathayae namah: Om Valli ManOharaaya namah, etc.).

Each of His names is a potent mantra which however needs no initiation or formal deekshai! His Grace is open for all.

Chanting Skandaaya namah gives physical strength.
    Chanting Shanmukhaaya namah or Om Shakti Hastaaya namah or Om Taarakaandakaaya namah gives victory over enemies.You can chant any of His names as per your preference.
    Chanting Om Skanda Guravae namah gives Wisdom and Spiritual progress.
    Chanting Om Kumaaraaya namah gives progenic bliss.
    Chanting Om Valli ManOharaaya namah gives success in romantic matters and speedy marriage.
    Chanting Om Daevasaenaapathayae namah gives capacity to command others (this will be most useful for those in management jobs and team leadership positions).
    Chanting Om Agni Janmanae namah burns all sins.
    Chanting Om Sundaraaya namah blesses one with charms and a pleasing countenance.
    ......The list is endless. I have just given a sample of the vast treasures that His names hold for us. May Almighty who manifested in the form of Lord Skanda Bless us all.

Blessed be.
    Pandit R.DAKSHINAMOORTHI.

=========================================================End Quote

Blessings to all.
    Tripuradasan

6. Ramyakaushik

Ramyakaushik New IL'ite

Hello Tripuradasan,

Thanks for correcting the slokam .

Ramyakaushik:hatsoff

7. maruthi

maruthi New IL'ite

thank u so much ramya & tripura

maruthi

8. gayathriar

gayathriar Bronze IL'ite

Dear Sri Tripuradasan

Many thanks for the chanting instructions on Thai Krithikai. Unfortunately Krithikai is only until 8 am as per Detroit Panchangam. Are the chanting instructions only applicable for Thai Krithikai or for all Krithikais?

Thanks in advance

Respects
    Gayathri.

9. tripuradasan

tripuradasan New IL'ite

Dear Gayathri avargale,

The instructions are applicable for all krittikai....or for that matter - all days. Everyday is sacred in its own way though certain days are invested with more mantraic potential thereby increasing the results of our chants manifold.

A general request to everyone: I am an old man and an upaasakaa, and will not prefer to be addressed by "First Name" - the damned American culture that has swept into all forums (I am not referring to Gayathri avargal here who has addressed me properly; I am referring to Shri. Maruti, and Ms. Ramya who have addressed me so casually!). In fact, I avoided all public forums on the web only for this reason. I am posting on and off here only on the explicit request of Shrimati. Vidya of these forums.

Our Indian culture respects everyone unless the person explicitly allows you to address by first name. Strangers do not address each other by first names. Moreover age and wisdom are to be respected. It really is odd that a person like me who is never addressed by name even by well-known friends (all call me Aiyaa - the tamil equivalent of "Respected Sir"), is addressed by first name as if these young persons here have kept my name sitting at my head when I was born!

Even Guruji Dakshinamoorthiji addresses me as Aiyaa or Upaasakarae in his mails to me - though I myself consider him to be superior to me (though he is very much younger to me by almost 50 years - he has great spiritual attainments, and I consider him to be my Guru).

I hope the point will be taken in the right sense here. Otherwise, a person like me with traditional values has no place here.

Blessings to all.

10. maruthi

maruthi New IL'ite

hi tripuradasan sir,

i didn't want to hurt u by calling tripura.I thought u r a woman and addressed u like that.(i am a woman too) i am extremely sorry sir.

maruthi