Taare Zameen Pe - A wonderful movie

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by Kamalji, Jan 4, 2008.

1. SoaringSpirit

SoaringSpirit Silver IL'ite

Kamalji,

I enjoyed reading you write up SO much! Gave me goose bumps and instantly sent me down memory lane!

I have to credit you for literally firing me up to watch this movie ASAP! I had heard and read a lot about this movie and it was definitely on the cards to be watched. But after reading your heart warming write up I just could not let a single weekend pass by! I watched the movie Saturday and relished each scene. What a well made movie. Yes, my eyes welled up with tears many a time during the movie. Acting skills of Aamir Khan are best left unwritten because I have no words to describe this abundantly talented actor.

Your post brought back some of the forgotten but very much cherished ideals of days gone by. I had a wonderful childhood and the wonderful-est of parents! J I know there is no word like that but you know what I mean! We lived comfortably but never lavishly. Looking back I think we lived comfortably because my parents made so many sacrifices daily to give that “comfort” to us.

The one particular thing that I always cherish from my school days is the feeling of “one big happy family” with my teachers. The closeness I shared with most of my teachers, the warmth and genuine concern the teachers exuded for each of us students – this quality is hard to emulate these days. They really cared for our wellbeing, our development and growth. I will always feel blessed to be a part of that golden time (and it wasn’t that long ago either!). Even today when I visit India I make it a point to meet or at least call up a few of my teachers (and I call up different teachers each trip so I get to talk to each one of them). And it is amazing how they instantly relate to me as if I left the school just yesterday!

I have so many wonderful memories of school. All of them are wonderful, in fact! Of course I remember the gola wala. I fondly remember the bhel wala bhaiyya. He was the nicest man – so kind and so giving to each kid that came to him. Sometimes if a kid did not have money, the bhaiyya would just let it go and not even ask for money the next day. I used to be fascinated by his ink blue colored cloth bag which had so many compartments – one for chana, for kurmura, for salted peanuts, for diced onions, sev, the small spice bottles, the cut coriander. Oh man, I loved getting something from him. And I did not have to pay him right there either because I would simply tell him to take money from “Madam” (my mom)! My mom was a teacher in the same school so with these meager perks also came a few disadvantages of being “monitored” J

I am a Mumbai-ite inside out; the city runs in my blood! I spent all my pre-marriage life in Mumbai so naturally it is where all my best-est of best memories are from. I could literally “see” (in my mind) most of the places you mention in your post! What a joy! The rains in Bombay are known to be notorious. I loved the days when school would be declared close because of heavy flooding. Ah! We would enjoy at home by listening to Kishore, Rafi, Lata and Asha songs, dancing to them with our “Ashtami wali (Kanjika)” chunnis (the red ones with shiny golden borders)! We did not have many “fancy” chunnis like those since we wore frocks and skirts outside of school. It all seems so funny now - yet very endearing!

I wish my kids can experience some of that simplicity and the warmth so they can build such indelible memories of their own. These memories are the only passage to my childhood and I hope every kid gets to build such a nice passage that leads them back to their childhood, which, I hope is equally wonderful.

Thank you so much Kamalji for transporting me to that wonderful world for a few hours!

Please continue to write more of these..

SS

2. Meeta

Meeta Bronze IL'ite

Thanks for reading out my stuffs..........
    Meeta

3. Anandchitra

Anandchitra IL Hall of Fame

Dear Mr.Kamalji
    Very nice write up about reflections of your growing up and inter related with the movie too.. I dont see movies but this one we might see..maybe in the next 10 or so years..
    These days things are different..I think even where you grew up it might not be the same..children just get used to where they are..it works out well in the end..

4. Shanvy

Kamalji,

Hum chaley aap key saath yadon ki caravan pey...
    kya kahein beete dinoh khi yadein ki barey mey...
    sirf laut nahin aatey woh gujrey hue pal ......

Simply nostalgic, drive through memory lane...have not yet seen the movie...want to see it with the kids...but have read the rave reviews on the paper, seen the trailer and the songs....really superb...

For me childhood, never had to worry about anything...my teachers if i have to comment on it...I would like them to be my kid's teachers if i get a chance...so that sums up everything.

Things have changed a lot...from then to now..shakeheadshakehead

Ria,

Thank u for yr sweet comments.I value money,and squeeze out the max from it.As for my ramblings be prepared, they may never end really.

When I was a teenager, when Rajesh Khanna was at his peak, my Dad used to talk of 20 yrs back, about Saigal, and Ashok Kumar, and we used to feel bored.

And here I talk of things 30 years to 40 year back, and u ladies love it ? What an irony really,hence my sincere thanks to u, and all others who tolerate me.Im touched.Regards.kamal

Meeta,

Thanks.Regards.kamal

Chitraji,

You will see the movie in 10 days or 10 years ? it’s a must see movie.Take my word.And yes things change, and as u rightly said everyone gets used to it.Thanks and regards.kamal

Shanti,

Wow what a lovely poem that makes sense and rhymes well too.Yes thing shave changed a lot since then.Thanks for the lovely comment.Regards.kamal

6. Kamalji

Soaring Spirit,

Thanks for yr lovely relpy and the kind words of praise.You made my day.

This is how i like, it is unconventional,i cant plan a blog.I write what just flows in my mind immediately,I started to write the review, and these thoughts came flooding in, and this is how this blog turned out to be.took me 20 mins to write this one, my ususal time.

The other site where i write too,they like my blogs, as they are different from others.I write silly day to day stories, i cant make good stories like other writers.I wish i was talented.

Glad to know of yr mumbai connection.A great city really.

7. sunkan

Hum chaley aap key saath yadon ki caravan pey...
    kya kahein beete dinoh khi yadein ki barey mey...
    sirf laut nahin aatey woh gujrey hue pal ......
    bus soch mey guzar rahi hai yeh pal..... felt the last line missing so added it here hope u like it..sunkan

Shanti,

Thanks for the wonderful poem dear.Aap to shair nikle.Now u must write for movies.So

Yes even I would like the same teachers for my children or grandchildren.Yes things have surely changed, but then u and me also have changed Shanti.We now are technology savy , we know the mobile and the computers, which parents of ours did not know.so everything has changed.Just imagine life without computer and blogging ! ! !

Thanks for yr nice comments.Regards.kamal

Sunkan,

You remembered the last line eh ! This poem by u and shanty is super and not heard by me before.You ladies are both superb.thanks for the addition to the lovely poem by Shanti.Veda is lucky to have a wife who says poems.

Your school days and the principal’s ideas are so good.Yes those days principals, even mine, they had the time to turn boys into men and gentlemen,and u into young ladies.

Thank u for sharing yr childhood as I did mine.It feels nice, and I am always thankful to <?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:smarttags" /><st1:place w:st="on">Indus</st1:place> for giving us this platform to share our childhood and dreams.Regards.kamal

Kamla,

The last line was a sweet one.Thank u so much.

Yes the tuitions and other activities are depriving the children of their childhood.I have kept my daughters away from all these,and made them grow as young girls.They feel I am not pushy,can u believe that ? But I see the world, and the other parents pushing their kids up the wall, and I don’t want that to happen to mine.

Regards.kamal

Soaring Spirits,

Sorry, I got cut off in my comments to u earlier.

It is so nice and considerate of u to call up all the teachers when u visit India.How well they must be feeling to hear from their student, who they have seen as a small girl, and they must be very happy to see u well settled abroad.Do u get some gifts for them ?

And u got credit those days ? You are a good business woman I must say.You learnt business early.HAHA.And having mom as a teacher is a sure bonus.

You know I wrote a series on Mumbai, on another site, around 10 blogs related to the different aspects of Mumbai, written in my style, and it was well liked.Let me see if I have posted them here.they are around a year old.

Thanks for yr kind words once again.when I have such lovely readers and commenters as u and other I Lites here, it makes me feel nice.thanks for making my day.Kamal

10. ssubhasr

ssubhasr Silver IL'ite

Kamalji

Gr8 write up!!!!! Thank you soo much for sharing!!!

I watched this movie last week in a website. Such a wonderful movie....no one can refrain those facts in the movie

As far as am concerned its somewhat a difficult movie. Hatts off to Aamir !!!