How can i combat an evil eye?

Discussion in 'Queries on Religion & Spirituality' started by happygolucky, Aug 25, 2011.

1. happygolucky

happygolucky New IL'ite

Dear Ladies,

I dont know how many of you can understand what I'm going through,but I badly need some good advices from you all. I never believed in badluck/evil eye before till I've been the victim of one. I cannot type the whole lengthy story but here is the summary:

Whenever I feel happy that something good has happened to me or my family and share it with someone, it does'nt last for a single day. I dont know if its the kind of people I share my joy with or something else. Last year I got a very good highly paid job(after being jobless for almost an yr) and was happy about it. I moved to another city and did'nt have contact with anyone here(sick neighbors). Then I met some of the old neighbours at a party and they asked me about my pay and I told them the truth. And the next day, my manager called me and said that they are downsizing and Iam the only one being laid off. After that I started applying for other jobs and I cleared many interviews, felt happy each time and shared it with others and guess what, all the projects were scrapped for some or the other reason in the last minute. Iam so depressed since 5months sitting at home. Even last week I cleared an interview and they said that they are going to setup contract with my employer, and the same story repeated again. I told one of those past friends that I got a job yest and today I came to know that this project is also scrapped. Its not only about my work, I told them my SIL was carrying and she had a miscarriage the very next day. My husband bought me a car for my birthday this yr, and somebody broke its window in the parking lot. I'm really going crazy thinking about everything going around. I just want to stay away from everyone.

Am I thinking too much or do you think its because someone doesnt like seeing me happy? Please guide me if im wrong.

Thanks in advance

2. Mahanu

Mahanu Silver IL'ite

It will be better if you dont share anything sensitive with anyone. Always try to underplay about anything personal.

If that is a recent phenomena, then it will pass on. Dont worry. But if its happening since begining, then consult some senior family member or friend to find ways to ward off such evils. Or you can also consult a good astrologer, to know any remedies based on your horoscope.

3. happygolucky

happygolucky New IL'ite

Thanks Mahanu. This is only happening since an yr or so. I never experienced it before. May be i should just stop letting anything out to others from now on. :thumbsup

I did get my horo checked by an astrologer and he said everything is fine. Anyways thanks for the reply:)

4. rkgurbani

rkgurbani IL Hall of Fame

Dear Happygolucky,

As suggested by Mahanu, just keep your happenings under wrap and try not to disclose everything to everybody.

Other than this, if you feel that there is an evil eye being cast, then there are a few remedies you could follow (of course, from grandma's days)....

*Hang a mirror on a wall facing your entrance door....so that the person entering your house will have to look at his own face first before anything else in your house.

*Place a chappal upside down in some corner of your house before any guest arrives or particularly someone you dislike.

*Hang a small peice of coal, lime and 5 green chiliies held together by a thread in some corner of your house.Change it on every New Moon day. If the lime starts turning black or dark brown and completely wilted, it is an indication of evil eye.

*And yes, last but not the least, always light a diya or aggarbati in the morning and evening. You will find a serene calmness in yourself.

In today's age, all these might sound a little weird, but as they say....science may not have answers all the time to everything. Just relax and don't worry too much. Take each day as it comes.

5. sagimom

sagimom Senior IL'ite

Sometimes things work against our wishes and we start disbeliving in ourselves majorly, which you should stop it at once. This could be a passing phase, and a beginning of something good.

Why dont you start reading some holy books like Bhagvad Gita or Durga Sapthasthi everyday? If you commence then pls. keep a glass of water next to you and once you finish reading a chapter, sprinkle the water around your house? By doing this you will be bringing good energies to your house and into your life too.

Now Hindu festivals are forthcoming, keep a simple Ganesh/Durga/Satyanarayan puja at home and see wonders yourself:))

6. sylviamicheal

sylviamicheal New IL'ite

Many thanks for this ideas..I tried it and it really works. And one more thing for evil eye, we can place "Kan drishti ganapthy" photo in the front door.:thumbsup

Last edited: Sep 7, 2011
  7. happygolucky

happygolucky New IL'ite

Thanks rkgurbani and sagimom,i appreciate your suggestions and tips. I started following them already.I hope everything stabilizes soon:)

8. aaral

aaral Silver IL'ite

Dear Happygolucky,
    You can pray to Lord Panchamukha Hunuman. He will protect you from the evil eye. Evil eye does exist . Before I got married I used to wear a gold chain with an unique fish pendant. One day a lady visiting it saw it and said it was very beautiful within an hour the chain broke. After a few days the same lady remarked about my new salwar suit . After washing it was drying outside in the backyard, it was stolen. We stayed there for 3 years, it was the only dress stolen.

9. vanisriv

vanisriv Silver IL'ite

Hi, Recently we were in a similar situation and our guru suggested the following:

Take a glass of water
    Close the mouth with your right hand
    Chant - Mahamrityunjaya mantra for 11 times (given below)
    Drink 3 spoons of water
    Sprinkle water in four directions in every room including patios, bathroom, entrance etc and when you do so say to yourself that "only good people with good thoughts should enter the house"

Om Tryambakam Yajamahe
    Sugandhim Pushti-Vardhanam
    Urvarukamiva Bandhanan Mrityor Mukshiya Mamritat

10. mickeymini

mickeymini Gold IL'ite

Hi dear sorry to hear whatever you said. Sometimes it really happens.Have you ever noticed that things collapsed after you said it to one particular person, then you can avoid sharing any details with that person. You pray to God. There is no necessity that you have to tell all your personal things to a third person immediately. All the Best. GOD is there you have faith in him.