Culinarians Day Special - International Cuisine with a Desi Touch Contest - July 2011

Discussion in 'Topic of the Month - Contest' started by IL_Admin, Jul 1, 2011.

1. IL_Admin

IL_Admin Administrator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

Dear IL-ites,

Have you been bored writing long articles for the contest? Here is a contest to stage your creativeness…..

Culinarians day is celebrated on 25th July. A special day for anyone who cooks! It’s a delicious day for all chefs and cooks.

The contest for the month of July 2011 is..

International Cuisine with a Desi Touch

This is a different and fun-filled contest. Select any one of the listed International Cuisines and cook in an Indian style. The recipes are…

• Burger
    • Grilled Chicken
    • Pasta
    • Salsa
    If we do not know the ingredients & method of cooking, it would be exciting. :biggrin2: So how would you cook pasta in Desi style? Make it flavored or colored, Soft or crispy, you have your choice..

Share the recipe details along with a beautiful picture of your recipe!!

Points to be noted:

• An IL-ite can post only ONE recipe.
    • Entries should be posted with the recipe details along with the picture of the recipes.
    • Entries should be posted only in this thread for it to qualify for the contest.
    • Strictly NO COPY PASTING articles from other sites / magazines / blogs.
    • Creative recipes with good presentation will be selected by the panel of Judges for a Special gift.
    • The contest ends on 26th, July 2011.

Happy Cooking !! 36_1_72[1].gif

11 people like this.

2. Moonbeams

Moonbeams Bronze IL'ite

Re: Culinarians Day Special - International Cuisine with a Desi Touch Contest - July

Helloo Admins.
    Regarding the burger,do we use use store bought burger or do we make our own burger from the scratch..
    And do we prepare veg or nonveg..Pls clarify.
    Regards Moonbeams

3. IL_Admin

Re: Culinarians Day Special - International Cuisine with a Desi Touch Contest - July

Dear Moonbeams,

Yes, you can use the store bought burger buns. You can prepare either veg or non-veg. It's your choice.

4. shameel

shameel Silver IL'ite

Hai, IL admins,
    My doubt is should each IL compulsorily select two recipes or can post any one recipe from the four choices given.

5. varmaswathy

varmaswathy Gold IL'ite

Could you please clarify what salsa is?

6. spuppala

spuppala Gold IL'ite

even i wanted to ask what salsa is?

7. varmaswathy

varmaswathy Gold IL'ite

Heard that it is a soup, which includes tomato. right?

8. IL_Admin

Dear Shameel,

We have made the changes. An IL-ite can post only ONE recipe from the four choices.

Dear Varmaswathy & Spuppala,

Salsa usually refers to spicy, often tomato based sauce and used as dips. For more details refer here.

9. sunja

sunja Senior IL'ite

salsa is a tomato and capsicum based sauce which is eaten with nachos....

10. sindhunambiar

sindhunambiar Bronze IL'ite

Hi ILites,

Here goes my recipe: PASTA RABRI. (Sweet Desi-Italian dish)

DSC03486.JPG
    PASTA RABRI
    Ingredients
    · 1 liter full-cream milk (for Rabri)
    · 1 tin condensed milk (for Rabri)
    · 1 pinch saffron
    · 5 cardamoms, shelled and ground fine
    · Sugar (As per taste)
    · A pinch of salt
    · Pasta (Any-Spaghetti,shell,fussilli)-125gms
    · 1 cup milk+1 cup water for boiling pasta
    · Cherries/Gems/Almonds-For Garnish

Method of Preparation
    1. Boil the pasta of your choice in the 1 cup milk+1 cup water mixture, till the pasta becomes soft and succulent. Drain and keep aside.
    2. Pour the full cream milk and the condensed milk into a heavy-bottomed pot. Add saffron, cardamom, sugar and a pinch of salt. Bring to a boil, stirring frequently. Cook 10 – 15 minutes, till the mixture is thickened.
    3. Once the pasta and the rabri are ready, take a container/mould and spread the pasta at the bottom.
    4. Now add the thick rabri on top.
    5. Keep the container/mould in the refrigerator to set for around 2-4 hours.
    6. Invert the mould to a serving tray and garnish with almonds, crushed nuts, cherries or Gems.

Your PASTA RABRI is ready!..........:)

Hope you all try and enjoy this!

Sindhu Nambiar