Can anyone tell about actuarial sciences?

Discussion in 'Education & Personal Growth' started by deepshikha, Nov 22, 2007.

1. deepshikha

deepshikha Senior IL'ite

Hi friends, i want to know who should attempt an exam in the actuaries? I have a humanities back ground and was wondering whether i should think about actuaries as an option? Is it very difficult for someone with non-statistical non-commerce background to make it? If i want to appear for the exam where should i begin? Can anyone of you guide me? I have to do self-study as being in US without an income i cannot take up expensive perp courses. Can someone please guide?

2. bipasha

bipasha Senior IL'ite

The Life Offices Management Association in the U.S. offers a 10-course self-study programme that gives you the certificate of Fellow of Life Management Institute (FLMI).I am an MBA in insurance and was working as a CRM manager in a life insurance firm in India.But since I am on H4 I cant work. Actuary is a very good career option if you take it up seriously.I am planning to do FLMI level-1 and level-2 courses during my stay in the USA.All the best

Bipasha

3. pragatim

pragatim New IL'ite

Even I am looking for acturial science course.Whats ur progress in this regard?
    Have u got any information.

Pragati Mohan