Who Am I? - Part I

Discussion in 'New Member Area' started by kavya, Aug 15, 2005.

1. Sharada

Sharada Senior IL'ite

Introduction

Who am I?
    That's a good question! I'd like to think of myself as a friend and well wisher to all members on this site. Perhaps you'd like to know more about me.
    I was named Sharada after my paternal grandmother. Studied in a boarding school called Rishi Valley in Andhra Pradesh from the age of 6. Joined at such a tender age as there were no proper schools in Assam where my father worked as a Geologist. Completed my graduation in Mount Carmel College Bangalore and did short stints in Advertising Agencies as a Copywriter. I had started writing for Deccan Herald while I was in Mount Carmels.
    My husband is a Chief Engineer in the Merchant Navy and we have a twenty year old son. Son has just completed his 4th semester engg. at PESIT - one of the best ranked colleges in the state. We live in Bangalore and speak Kannada at home.
    My hobby and profession revolve around writing! I do web content writing, media related writeups for PR companies, work for NGOs like Agastya International Foundation and CBR Network and am a regular contributor to women's mags and Deccan Herald. Many of my articles are on the net - just key in my name in google.com and you'll be able to read some. I watch Hindi serials on Star Plus and am an avid fan of KBC2! I religiously answer all the questions - but so far there has been no call. Each day I think -"mera number kab aayega!" I can almost see myself on the hot seat and glitter falling on me as I answer the 2 crore question! All of you keep your fingers crossed for me!
    If there's anything else you'd like to know about me - do send me a private message. I can send you a personal reply or edit my profile!
    Extending a hand of friendship,
    Sharada Prahladrao

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 27, 2006
  2. Neeti

Neeti New IL'ite

I'm Neeti from Florida(USA).I born and brought up in very small place of Garhwal Himalya(India). I did M.Sc. And M.Ed from India .I got married in Nov 2003 in Jodhpur Rajasthan .And came USA one year ago.
    My story is not different from all the women who r facing problem of H4 status .My husband here in IT . In my life I never thought that one day I will be in USA .I 'm a carrier oriented gal .And always trying to get some new achievement in life .
    I like to explore new places tracking ,hiking or want to make new friends and social gathering .And in my maidenhood I did all thing even rafting to mountnearing,and visited almost all the state of north India.But my life partner is just opposite of mine .When I felt it first time the I thought perfectly mismatch is suitable match
    I used to teach in India and persuing teaching in USA.And still trying to understand American culture.But I miss my India lot.
    With love and prayer
    Neeti

3. Varloo

Who am I?

Hai everyone,
    I am in my early 40s and living in Chennai for the past 18 years. I was born and brought up in Trivandrum, I was employed in the Railways Department there. After marriage in 1987, I moved to Chennai. I resigned my job in 1995 to look after my son. I live with my husband and 14 year old son.
    I am a friendly, out-going person with interests like embroidery, stitching, hand work, learning new languages, travel, cooking, reading, music and so on. I have done my graduation in English Literature. I can read, write and speak Tamil, Malayalam, Hindi and English. I can speak a little Kannada. At present I am learning Sanskrit also, I have completed the first course.
    I hope to get good friends on this website. Wishing you all luck!

4. ru_sa

ru_sa New IL'ite

Who am I??

Hello all...my login name wudnt divulge anything abt my real name..am Rupa.ru for rupa,sa for Sai my husband.Am presently at New delhi waitg to join my husband at Sydney..
    Am actually a tamilian brought up in kolkata..completed my bachelors fm presidency college,kolkata in sociology.did my MBA fm madras university and worked there for 3 yrs before gettg married to Sai in 2003.We stayed in sydney for a few mths after which we lived in hyderabad for 2.5 yrs..Now its back to sydney again.Sai is an IT Consultant..and the work he does is greek and latin to me..coding,testing,designing def not my cup of tea..
    I am a new mother...7mths old to be precise..we have a lovely daughter Kavya who is getting naughtier by the day..but keeps me occupied wth her pranks.But yes its taking time for me to get used to the new status..
    Am an internet freak and love to be hooked to my mobile phone...smsg of course(sadly now i have to put away my phone often cos its fascinating my daughter and she just waits to get her mouth into it!:)...
    Am a typical aquarian,minus the eccentric part[​IMG] and love making friends...can speak tamil,hindi,bengali and understand malayalam and littl telegu..
    Thats about me...
    Would love to be a part of the Indus team...

5. nitu

nitu Guest

Nitu Chikala

My name is Nitu Chikala. I was born and brought up in Delhi. I came to the US to do my MS in Information Technology. After my MS, I joined Proctor and Gamble in their IT function. I later did a part time MBA and moved to the marketing side of the company. Right now, I am an asst marketing manager with P&G.

I got married 5 years ago and have a 1 year old daughter named Anusha. My husband is an IT consultant. Work is pretty hectic, but I do find a few minutes here and there to login to IndusLadies and see what is going on. I want to be more involved with the community!

I love reading. I used to read a lot of books before my kid was born. My favourite author is Danielle Steel. With my daughter, I hardly find time for reading. I also like outdoor activities like trekking, wandering in busy streets and Shopping!

Nitu

6. meenaprakash

meenaprakash Silver IL'ite

Who am I????????

Dear Friends,

Who am I?

This is the first time I am writing an answer to a question like this.
    Feel a little embarrassed and at loss of words.

Like any one else, I am a simple woman in my early thirtees, a loving and caring wife and a mother for a lovely young girl. I come from an ordinary family. Both my parents are there to bless us. I have finished my Bachelor Degree in Science with Botany as major subject. I’ve done my computers too and had an opportunity to work and be a career girl for six years in various places.

But if you ask me who am I now?

I am a satisfied, settled, serene, serious, systematic, self content, serving housewife and mother. I love my family woman status.I enjoy looking after my two wards, and make sure they are happy.

My most enjoyable hobby is collecting recipes from various sources – TV channels, Net, Friends, Elders and sincerely trying out each and every one of them. Beautiful pictures, soft music soothes my senses.

Love Greenery around the house so take a lot of interest in my garden and strongly feel working in the garden is a therapy by itself. I love to watch movies with my man next to me, and get carried away emotionally. I wish sometimes I don’t cry, especially with him staring at me to burst anytime, and I give in and just do that!

I like to travel, see different places and various ethnicities. I am lucky to visit Europe and South East Asia. I want to see Americas one day.

I am possessive about my family. I believe in God but not ritualistic. Little egoistic and don’t accept defeat if I’m sure of my position.

I belong to Scorpio Sun Sign, and act like one- that is my husband’s saying. You are free to add on all other positive qualities of Scorpio.

I like to groom well, dress well, and would like to see the same in everybody. I detest people who are ogglers and hate to be in their company. I believe in the proverb, Cleanliness is next to Godliness.

Is this enough? I am sure I might have pushed some people from coming closer to me by my tirade, but I’m sorry………….

[font=&quot]For me friendship is very sacred[/font]. I don’t and don’t like someone close to play with emotions. I am very sensitive and retract very soon from any sort of assault. But my husband says I come back with double dose afterward. I don’t know if it is true. I don’t like people who pretend and put up show. I believe in innate worth, whatever little it might be.

I’m also a DREAMER. My dreams are something close to my heart and too intimate to be revealed. I Love to watch rain drops falling from the sky; luv to spend time looking at the flowers in full bloom, enjoy watching squirrels and birds pecking at the fruits in my garden, on a festive day love watching people in their best attire

And finally like any other Mom, I like to see my child grow up into an independent, god fearing, moralistic, non-submissive and strong woman.

God help me to retain what I have and get what I want!

Last edited: Sep 4, 2005
  7. ambika ananth

ambika ananth Bronze IL'ite

Dear friends...

Dear friends,
    I want to make this ‘self-introduction’ into a letter to all of you, laying bare my heart.

I am in my early forties (as a typical woman I lied …I am actually forty-five). I am married to Ananthnarayan who is self-employed. He runs his family business of Refractories and is Managing Director of a Software firm specializing in e-governance. He is handsome and good-hearted and loves me and cares for me. Though we don’t share similar interests, he takes pride in my literary activities, and in fact, has written a short story just to please me..( that I laughed and teased him for one full year about that story, is a different story ). We have two sons- the elder one is doing his MS in University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, USA and the younger one just graduated and is completing 3D Animation this year and wishes to proceed to Canada. Both of them are caring and loving and the elder one shares my passion for writing. My 93 year old mother-in-law is with us, a grand old lady. We live in <?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:smarttags" /><st1:City><st1:place>Bangalore</st1:place></st1:City>. That’s the picture of my family.
    I love to write, to sing ( croon, rather) to paint and to predict ( Astrology is my serious hobby).

My first poem’ Plea to the sea’, appeared in one English daily of Andhra Pradesh – ‘DECCAN CHRONICLE’ when I was 14 years old. That was written with a sense of disillusionment of a teenager, and that trend continued for sometime. Later, I matured as a writer and started writing short stories and poems in Telugu too (my mother tongue) and before I turned twenty, few were published in popular Weeklies. The half-open lotus of my Creative thinking, blossomed in the sun-rays of constant encouragement of my father. He was in the Indian Administrative Service ( IAS) and was a brilliant man and a great human being. If one can imagine a ‘tall dark handsome man’, that is the picture of my father and if one can imagine a ‘ fair, demure and petite woman’, that is the picture of my mother. The most unfortunate thing is, both are no more….father passed away with kidney failure at the age of 52 and mother passed away with Cancer at the age of 60. I always ask God to be ‘partial’ to us- we four siblings, because we are ‘orphans’…but He has proved time and again that when He is on our side, and when we are enjoying a natural legacy of His Love, we are not definitely orphans.!!

After my marriage though there was a brief hiatus, my creative writing continued. I am fortunate enough to be associated with few stalwarts in the field of Literature, and their guidance and mentoring helped me a lot, to gain a standing in Literary circles. I have few published works, both in poetry and prose, I am on the Editorial Board of two Literary journals, I am into translation, and I contribute to two English Dailies. I am handling the poetry section in MUSEINDIA.com as the Editor-Poetry.

My two important dreams to be realized are - to start a school and run it on the lines of Gurudev’s ‘Shantiniketan’, and to do my Doctorate in Translation Studies, focusing on the contribution of some great saint-poets. I am seriously working towards these goals.. Wish me luck friends…

I try to lead a good and fulfilling life so that a Chariot is sent to me at the end and then I wish to say…’Thank God, I have done my duty, I am ready to step in’….

Love you all..
    ambika

Last edited: Sep 5, 2005
  8. Shal

Shal Senior IL'ite

That's Me!

Hi Indusladies!

I am Shalini living in Silicon Valley, Calfornia. Born and brought up in Mumbai, I came here after getting married to my dear husband who works here. Like any typical wife imported from India, I am here trying to explore opportunities to keep myself occupied with education/work/both:)
    Life's really exciting for it has come a full circle with me being a brat even a day before my marriage and a total transformation now with me working like a lady of the house!
    Never thought being responsible could be so much fun!!!:tongue Marriage is teaching me many lovely things including cooking!!!! My lovely husband is a great cook...yet helps me with exploring my hands on cooking and almost everything else:)

All in all, enjoyin life to the fullest now!

Rock On!:thumbsup
    -Shalini

9. sushdevi

sushdevi Senior IL'ite

my life ...my solace

Dear frends,
    I am sheela devi.I am new to this thread .and has found this site a very close knit one .it is the nearest one can get .
    I would like to tell a little about my self through this thread .I am a lady who had a lot of ups and downs in life..I started my life like any other ordianry woman brought up in a very happy ambience .A very secluded and close knitted one ..Marriage to a business man made all the changes in my life .Life started getting dizzing speed .But not for the better ..As he was a very child like and fickle person ,who viewed money as the source of relief to all kinds of problems .Little did he know that his deeds and the impulsiveness in going about it all were the sole problems.Yes friends ,i had to withstand a lot of brick bats and troubled times .All due to his mismanagement of the situation.Initially I was unaware of the noxious nature of his attitude.But when I came to know about it ,it was all so late .I am a graduate .But the orthodox nature of my in laws mingled with superfluous prestiege of my husband made me a house wife . Just a house wife .The birth of my son brought some welcome breeze in to my life .So i lived for him amidst all turbulent times .but i didinot loose my faith in that super power .The financial losses and the running away from cut throat financiers ,and finally loosing all my share of wealth ,were a few outcomes of the million problems i had to face single handedly .As ,my husband was not strong minded as to face a problem ,even if it was created by him .So he shunned .But i faced them all with undiluted faith and positive thinking .it did have effect on me .God in heaven heard my prayers .My son studied well and grew up with just good traits and got an wonderful job with the No1 Software company in india.Slowly i found ways and means to mend my financial problems ..but i never lost faith ..I am an ardent devotee of Goddess Lalithambika.I recite Lalitha sahashra Namam every day .And that faith has paved a clean way for me to tread on ..
    As for my husband ,he had an unfortunate demise ..Was not lucky enough to see his son prosper& ,his wife welfare ..But i am sure, from somewhere amidst the land of dead ,he is watching his earthly familly,gathering all the threads loosened by him...He must be smiling and feeling contented ..Because basically he was a good person ..A person with good intentions but engineered badly .
    Friends ,why i had wanted to write a little about my life is because i want you all to realize that undiluted faith and positive thinking can see us through all the troubled times .Lalitha sahashra namam can do wonders to our wound up nerves .it can act like a soothing Panacea always and forever...... .
    God Bless you All
    love and regards sheela

10. lakshmisuresh12

lakshmisuresh12 New IL'ite

Hi!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hi everbody,
    I'm Lakshmi from Bangalore. I'm married and have a kid. She is 2yrs old. I'm working for Motorola. My hubby is working for an Advertising Company.......
    I have completed my BBM and now doing MBA.
    I love reading novels, listening to music, dancing, movies....
    Once again HI to everybody in this site.................

Last edited: Sep 12, 2005