Vegetarian Iron-rich foods

Discussion in 'Indian Diet & Nutrition' started by Dewdrop, Apr 2, 2011.

1. Dewdrop

Dewdrop Gold IL'ite

Hi folks,

I've been diagonised with Anaemia and am looking for vegetarian food items to increase my haemoglobin level naturally , instead of relying on pills. [I just started a similar thread in Miscellaneous Health section].

Kindly share your suggestions for veggie foods rich in iron 'cos we don't consume even eggs.

Divya.

Admin Note: Do check the following useful and interesting links on Anemia

Beat Iron Deficiency or Anemia with Healthy Food
    http://www.indusladies.com/forums/h...44-anemic-how-increase-haemoglobin-level.html
    http://www.indusladies.com/forums/healthy-food-and-living/123980-iron-rich-foods.html
    Foods to Reduce Anemia
    http://www.indusladies.com/forums/indian-diet-and-nutrition/61054-low-iron-level.html
    http://www.indusladies.com/forums/health-issues/130622-treating-anaemia-low-haemaoglobin.html

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 21, 2013

2. laavie

laavie Gold IL'ite

Hai Divya :)

Since your a vegetarian i would advice you to consume vegetables like Beetroot, Carrot, broccoli ,Fresh Greens atleast twice a week, fruits like pomegranate, black grapes. Have Dried Dates & raisins everyday and for sure you will notice an increase in your haemoglobin level.

Avoid taking pills as much as you can ... Take care :)

3. hamsadhvani

hamsadhvani Junior IL'ite

eat dates and almonds together. grapes is also good

4. Dewdrop

Dewdrop Gold IL'ite

Hii laavie & hamsadhvani.
    I include greens, broccoli etc. but not every week like you've suggested. I cannot eat grapes as they immediately give me cough/phlegm -- but all other items I surely will include. Anything to stay away from medicines :)

Thanks ,
    Divya.

5. mankan

mankan Gold IL'ite

u can take munnaka[ a type of dried raisin],an apricot and 2 figs soaked in water daily.this will not give phelgm also.this definitely rises haemoglobin level.

6. kasperrmat

kasperrmat New IL'ite

1)How to soak.........at night.....and eat it next morning...what about the water do we need to drink it(it may contain the nutrients of these soaked dry fruits) or through it out.

2)Can we apply the same method for almonds....i listened as, soak it overnight and next morning peel off the skin and eat...is it right?

3) do you have any idea about how to eat "flakseed",like light fry on heat and eat or directly eat the raw flakseed or saok over night and eat next morning?

7. madhoo78

madhoo78 Bronze IL'ite

hi dewdrop,

you can have drumsticks and spinach which regularly in your diet as they are very rich in iron.
    you can have drumstick leaves juice if you are able to since it will be a little bitter but can be beared for it ia a very rich source of iron.

jaggery is also very rich in its iron content,you can include sweet made of jaggery in your diet.

you can have beetroot juice and can include beetroot in your salads.

all dry fruits especially the dates are a very rich source of iron.

8. madhoo78

madhoo78 Bronze IL'ite

hi kaspermat,

flaxseeds are highest rich source of omega 3 fatty acids.

you shouldn't fry or heat them as the o3 fat contents get oxidised on heating.and it won't serve the purpose they must be powdered as it is in the raw form for full benefits of the fatty acids.

and one more thing you must take only a spoonful of flaxseds per day cause more of it causes diahorea since it has lot of fibre content.

and you can drink that water in which the raisins are soaked.

and better if you soak the almonds in milk and take them along with the milk.

9. shobna

shobna Bronze IL'ite

Even i suffer from hair loss and the doctor suggested iron rich foods in my diet.
    all your tips were very useful. thanks a lot

10. kAlyaniShAnti

kAlyaniShAnti IL Hall of Fame

HI Dear,

Hope you have good suggestions and getting benefited.

Add spinach also to the list. Pomegranate instantaneously increases the level of hb almost. I also suffered from anemia and it helped me a lot.

If you want, can find out iron rich (veg based) tablets for a while to give it a boost .