Babies during 'Adi' or 'Chithirai'

Discussion in 'Queries on Religion & Spirituality' started by sadwife, Jan 14, 2011.

1. sadwife

sadwife Gold IL'ite

I am not sure whether this is the right place to post my worries.
    Anyway, I want all your valuable opinions and knowledge regarding my worries.

1. I hear many say that we should not conceive in the month of 'Adi' because the baby will be born in the month of 'Chithirai'. They say babies born in the month of 'Chithirai' suffer a lot in life and it's also bad for the father especially if it's a baby boy. I understand that this is just superstition. The logic behind this is, it was said those days in India during the month of 'Chithirai' the weather would be very hot and babies born during this time may not survive the heat with not much developed medical facilities. So not giving birth in the month of 'Chithirai' was only practiced in India and not in other parts of the world.

2. Some say it's not good for the father if a baby is born in the month of 'Adi'.
    I think the logic behind this is most temple festivals take place in the month of 'Adi', so if a woman gives birth during this month she'll be left alone at home with no help while others attend the temple festival. Thus it was advised not to give birth in the month of 'Adi'.

3. I also hear people say it's not good for the father if a baby boy is born on a Friday.

My husband and I plan to try for a baby soon.
    I told my husband that I don't want to conceive in the month of 'Adi' since the baby will be born during 'Chithirai'.

I also don't want to conceive in the month of October and November since the baby may be born in the month of 'Adi'.

My hubby doesn't believe in all these.
    He scolded me saying I can conceive anytime and have a baby during anytime be it 'Chithirai' or 'Adi'.

It would be easier if I could conceive anytime since we could try whenever we want, but if I follow only the time frame as I have mentioned above then we only have limited time frame to try for a baby in a year.

Is it alright (safe) to conceive or deliver during 'Adi' and 'Chithirai'?
    I don't want to live in fear for the rest of my life worrying that something bad might happen to my husband or children if they are conceived / born in 'Adi' or 'Chithirai'.

Please advice.

Last edited: Jan 14, 2011

2. Swethasri

Swethasri Platinum IL'ite

First of all i wont call u as a SADWIFE.I will call u as HAPPYWIFE. see,please dont trust in all these superstitious beleif and dont spoil u r life.u r husband is right in this point of view.Birth and death is not in u r hand my dear,its all in gods hands.please take u r fear out.be happy and have a healthier child.Each and every minute id given ny god and that is definitely a good time only.first of all change u r attitude my dear and please be happy and have a healthy relationship with u r husband and be a good mom to u r children.

Swetha

3. hemalathaK

hemalathaK Platinum IL'ite

In the month of April and May, the sun is very much exalted and most of them born in the month of chitirai have become national leaders.Even I was born in the month of chitirai and I am living happily with all luxuries in life.So june or april. it may be any month, the life of the baby is decided by the time of birth and definitely not the month in which it is born.I am very much sure about it.

4. sadwife

sadwife Gold IL'ite

Swetha & Hema,

Thanks for the feedback.

I know 3 people who were born in the month of 'Adi'.
    1 of them died in their mid 30s although overall had a good life .
    1 is very successful, well respected and rich with all good qualities but lost his spouse at a very young age. And the other person lost his son. His son was only around 20 then.

Then another aunty born in the month of 'Chithirai' lost her husband when she was quite young. But she's very successful in her career and managed to educate all the children very well.

Are these cases just coincident?

So although I try to convince myself it's just superstitious but the above incidents make me worry a lot. Sometimes I think those born in 'Adi' or 'Chithirai' may enjoy most of the good things in life but will have to face a major loss or hardship either at the earlier or later stage in life.

Last edited: Jan 15, 2011
  5. Swethasri

Hey Happywife crores and crores of people are living and dying everyday.its all gods creation.why are u thinking about that 4 members.and also please dont compare with others.everyone's life is different.it all depends on their good and bad Karma.so always think good things,talk good things,do good things,pray god,Especially u r kula deivam,which is very very important.BE HAPPY

Swetha

6. sadwife

sadwife Gold IL'ite

Swetha,

Exactly that's my point. What we grow through now whether good or bad times are based on our good and bad karma. Do you think those with 'certain' bad karma are destined to be born in the month of 'Adi' and 'Chithirai' to pay off their bad karma?

7. Varloo

There is no truth in all these. Only for the first baby, the Chithirai month was insisted. Those days, people had many children and nobody could plan pregnancies, not only then but now also. And the child birth is not even in God's hands- Makkal pirappu makesanukku kooda theriyathu (even God couldn't predict when a child will be born). You cannot plan about when you want to concieve or your child's birth. So throw all these thoughts away from your mind and concentrate on getting a healthy and good child and think positive always.
    My niece got married in June 2010 and conceived in July 3rd week, Adi month. She will deliver in Chithirai only, April (hopefully).
    I got pregnant in March 91 and was to deliver in Dec.91, but my son was born in October itself.

8. sadwife

sadwife Gold IL'ite

Dear Varloo,

May I know why it was insisted that the first baby should not be born in Chithirai?

9. Swethasri

:rotfloh my god happywife,this is too much,whatever month a human born they have to face their own good and bad karma.its not depending on the month.it all depending on the person.ok for example,if person born in month of vaikasi,if that person do lot of bad things in the present birth,and also his past birth have lot of bad things,surely he cannot be a sucessive man.he cannot escape from that bad karma's becoz he born in the month of vaikasi.At the same time a person born in adi or chithirai do lot of good things and that person cannot have a bad life becoz he born in adi or chithirai.

So please understand that a persons karma is not based on which month he born,its all depend on his own action.even his past karma has lot of bad things,we can overcome that and live a peaceful life in this present birth.

So please dont worry about all these thing.but u r very smart and u want to know things which is very good.Always surrender to God very importantly u r kula deivam.sit sometime in the pooja room ask HIM to save u r family from all bad things.He will show u the way to overcome all bad things.BEHAPPY

Swetha

10. sadwife

sadwife Gold IL'ite

Dear Swetha,

Thanks a lot for the explanation.
    May I confirm one thing with you. As far as I am concern, we cannot run away from our past karma no matter what we do but we can do good things and create good karma to have a good life in future, be it present life or next life. But you mentioned "even his past karma has lot of bad things,we can overcome that and live a peaceful life in this present birth."

Is it possible for us to overcome our past bad karma all together and live a good life in this present life?

Sorry if I am bothering you with many questions. :hide: