Lets Take A Look At The Puja Pandals Of Kolkata

Discussion in 'Festivals, Functions & Rituals' started by sunkan, Oct 18, 2007.

1. sunkan

Hai Friends Our Friend Amitava Bhowmik Captured All These Pics And I Have His Permission To Share Here With You All, So Lets Take A View...hope U All Like It..sunkan

Last edited: Nov 6, 2007

2. yamusarna

yamusarna Silver IL'ite

Hi sunkan,

Thanks to you and Amitava Bhowmik, for sharing the photos.I was in calcutta for a year. The festive mood, and the wonderful pandals are just great.

Thanks for sharing the photos.

3. Anandchitra

Anandchitra IL Hall of Fame

Dear Sunkan
    Thank you so much for sharing. My mst memorable times of Durga pooja was at Calcutta and visiting all the pandals. most of them have a theme so very nice and unique. can never forget that experience. Thanks so much for posting here. I have always wondered how bengalis can stay away from their native place during this special time of year.

4. priyauc

priyauc Bronze IL'ite

dear sunkan, you made me miss calcutta even more than i already am this time of the year....

Thanks for sharing these beautiful photos .

5. sunkan

dear yamuna,
    my best part of years were in kolkata where we walked the entire night, and sometime took a cab to a little far off places.
    the pandals like you say were amazing just with meters and meters of clothes they were able to create such beauty, and the sambrani smell used to lure us to the mother's presence..sunkan

6. sunkan

most bengalis return home for puja, and now Bangalore is another hub for them, from their variety of fishes, which the Bangalore have started harvesting and supplying to the potal, which they cannot do without, and manyplaces opening up just for bengali joints selling their menus, and now in the pandals we get all those products from Saree to dress materials just like kolkata, so each place they create another kolkata atmosphere, except for food, i think they have adjusted a lot, now ashtami navami all would say this devi mahathmiyam in all the pandals, by morning 9 all will follow the pujari with ya devi, and it is nostalgic, our festivals have their own color to lend..sunkan

7. sunkan

dear priya,
    i thought i was soothing your mind that missed all these, i also miss it a lot but then life moves on, and these are just the finished products in his photograph. he had it from the start you know the basic clay and then color and then attachment of hair and clothes and all those gada yukth, create the ambiance wherever u are..sunkan