Many women justify wife beating

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by puni88, Oct 12, 2007.

1. puni88

puni88 Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

From TIMES OF INDIA

If you thought domestic violence was on the wane in India with the rise in education levels, take a look at these hard figures. Over 40% of women in a nationwide survey reported being beaten by their husbands at some point of time. More shockingly, around 54% of the women surveyed thought that such violence was justified on one ground or the other.

According to India’s most comprehensive National Family Health Survey-III, which interviewed 1.25 lakh women in 28 states and the national capital during 2005-06, 41% of women justified wife beating if it was because they showed disrespect towards their in-laws while 35% women were OK with being brutally assaulted by their husbands if they neglected household chores or their children.

Not surprisingly then, 51% of the 75,000 men interviewed didn’t find anything wrong with assaulting their wives.
    Dr Sulabha Parasuraman of the International Institute of Population Studies, who spearheaded the survey conducted jointly by 18 organisations, termed this attitude of Indian women "truly shocking".

"Men are brought up being taught that beating up their wives isn’t wrong while women are told that being assaulted by their husbands is acceptable. Girls are taught that they can be punished by their husbands for disobedience. This social attitude has to change immediately,"

2. Vysan

Vysan Gold IL'ite

I dont know what made you to post this... and what you want to convey... Here I would like to point out few things... This reprimand of wife has been there in our culture for a long time .... In olden days, husbands are used to be the bread winners and the the wife is supposed to be a home maker.... But with the latest trend that both husband and wife working together the things started slowly changing... Now we are talking of equality... ladies are oppressed etc...

In reality, women were not opressed... They are given equal freedom... The concept of freedom is something which become question mark all the time..

In Indian conditions, where majority of the women are housewives and are dependent on the husband... They are used to these reprimands and take it as part and parcel of their life... If going by western culture... you can call it as domestic violence etc.... But, if tomorrow if the husband turns around and says... please leave... Or she on her own decides to leave... Where will she go... Will the society accpet it... will their parents allow.... Though things are fast changing with the number of divorce rate going up.... But it is still a very meagre % compared to our population... This is not US, where if you declare that you dont have any income, the Govt will provide the sustinence allowance... The women has to be practical and not in an illusionary world... She should know how to handle things and run the family....

We have to be really practical.... All the NGO's and other associations can only lend their support to some extent.... We are entering into somebody's residence and entering into their personal life... It is the lady/women who has to take a decision and choose what she wants to do.... We cant do that for her... This is all media hype and to attract attention...

Sorry, I am not in favour of women abuse.... NO.... But let us take things in the real perspective....

I may be wrong in my views.... Please correct me if I am...

Veda

3. Kamalji

A dicey topic .i too read it.It is sad if it is ingrained in theminds of these women that is is all right if husband beats them, then what can u and me do.

Sad state of affairs.Regards.kamal

4. pia123

pia123 New IL'ite

Irrespective of anything, I am totally against this, "wife beating". I do not care whose fault it was, or who ignored or neglected what. I totally CONDEMN IT and diagree with you Vysan ji. I am sorry, if I sound rude.
    All your arguments can be weighed if the topic is "women and their freedom". But abuse, an abosolute NO NO. God made everything for a reason the way it is, I would like to think, but do not understand why he made women a weaker sex in terms of phsycial strength. Even if women has euql strength as men, still I WILL BE AGAINST ABUSE no matter whoever would be the victim. To bring things can be brought under control, there are several other diff. yet effective ways, "abusing" is definitely not one of the way.
    My 2 cents
    pia

5. Vysan

Vysan Gold IL'ite

Dear Pia,

I am definitely not in favour of women physical abuse or for that matter mental abuse... What we want is a wishful statement... Condemning it is great... What I talked about is practical day to day reality that is happening in our society by large...

What I said about is we cant enter into somebody's family matters, unless the lady comes out and complains about it... The first initiative should come from the lady in question...

Your 2 cents is worth in millions for somebody...

There is nothing rude / personal about you expressing your opinion... Whatever I expressed is my thought process... I may be wrong...

Veda

6. Neerjavakil

Neerjavakil Silver IL'ite

A few days backI also came through this article in the Hindustan times that 40 to 45% women are in favour of 'wives should be beaten by their husbands.' I felt very shocked, In my opinion ,the notion is very wrong even if she is only home maker the men have not right to beat their wives.

Today, in the male dominating society like ours, women has been not only abused by their husbands but by their an in-lawsalso. She is even exploited at their work places.

I am sorry i dont agree with vysan that women are dependant on husbands. Even if she is dependent Why it is the Women that should leave the house , she holds the equal share in the property.

THE VALUE OF A WOMAN THIS COULDN'T BE SAID MORE BEAUTIFULLY....BE CAREFUL IF YOU MAKE A WOMAN CRY BECAUSE GOD COUNTS HER TEARS. A WOMAN CAME OUT OF A MAN's RIB NOT FROM HIS FEET TO BE WALKED ON, NOT FROM HIS HEAD TO BE SUPERIOR OVER, BUT FROM HIS SIDE TO BE EQUAL. UNDER THE ARM TO BE PROTRCTRD and
    NEXT TO THE HEART TO BE LOVED.

Neerjavakil