Change In The Musical Scene Of The Day

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by sunkan, Oct 12, 2007.

1. sunkan

GIVE ME THOSE DAYS BACK:

The exposure was very much less than these days, but the quality of exposure now is so bad u don’t regret being from the past, music you heard never saw. Whether it was films, or food, or outing and snacks all had a nostalgic memory in us. Take for instance films I rather reckon with Amar prem, Aradhana, Do raste, Mughal E Azam, koshish, by sanjeev kumar and jayabhaduri, the music of those times are still lingering in thoughts, even the ring tones are set to the old ones, the Aandhi’s , tere bina zindagi, always brought tears to the eye, what it is to be separated from your partner while living.

These days many instruments have replaced the old ones, but no meaning in the song, the song recording has also changed nothing live the music has been fixed and the chorus has been filled all the main voice is to testify once or twice and the show is over, in those days it was not so, each song sometime took more time and tasking. We don’t wait for the second line to know what is the continuation, where are those classical presentation’s, Baiju bhawra, even amol palekar’s, jab deep jale aana, jab shaam dhale aaana, is such a lilting one, or shankarabharanam, Bro che va, who can forget with those swaram, you join without being aware of it, or Malayalam His highness Abdullah is a great musical fair, not to be missed, deva sabha, gives u immense satisfaction.

Sometimes I wonder may be it is the age, which matters because I see my sis’s daughter humming away songs from sawariya. Is the heart to be young to enjoy music, or is the time factor definitely given it a go. Kishore kumar still lives in many hearts, and the rest of the gems too, rafi, mukesh, mannadey, asha and lata they were the gems of the Indian musical court, and all the presentation were so good, hard to make a choice and the wait for the new ones and variety were immense in comparison to the present period.

From the south we have SPB and PBsrinivas, Dr.Rajkumar, whose voice was so good for the kavirathna kalidasa “manikyaveena mubalalayanthim,” and the scene just brought alive ambal in full beauty in nalini, matha maragada shyama, madhangi madhushalini, was so apt. Sindhu bhairavi if I don’t mention I would be doing injustice here, our jesudas is a versatile singer in carnatic as well as light music in films, his mari mari ninney, is any day welcome.
    The opening song mahaganapathim, made every one join in thalam along with the song, I cant forget bheemsen joshi here in the film music his bhagyatha lakshmi baramma nammamma neenu sowbhagyada lakshmi baramma, with ananth nag and lakshmi it was a wonderful scene too etched in mind. Latest one of rajinikanth, padayappa brought a wonderful presentation with minsara kanna, the voice a well trained classical I felt, so am unable to place her name, the brigha was just too much not to notice…

Janaki is my favourite, her singaravelaney deva, is an all time treat to hear,
    While noticing the saregama, I felt they always picked up the old numbers and when presented well are applauded a lot, so it endorses my thought that old is gold any day and it may remain so if there is no improvement in the bollywood or down south with good classical mixed numbers that can bring peace in the atmosphere immediately.

Even in Sunny we had some wonderful songs, jane kya baat hai, jane kya baat hai neend nahi aathi badi lambi raath hai…///mmmm bye with these thoughts..sunkan

2. Meeta

Meeta Bronze IL'ite

Hi Sunkan Ma'am,
    Count me with you..I also love these songs from old movies......
    So true..even my heart still cries for those oldies......but I love to listen even new songs and always prefer to change them in my Ipod.
    But you know......may be those are too occasion specific or I would say rather mood specific but the newer melodies, we can hear them any time.....
    Like while in a good romantic mood (especially in weekends when we are at home), I prefer to play some old movie/ghazals and feel really good........
    But in general weekdays, I always play all the new release songs as I had no time to sit and enjoy those feelings......so I need some hip-hop sound to keep in energetic so that I can finish my work in their rythem.......
    And the younger mass who is running.....in their life and has no time to feel the pleasure/sentiments in every word of old songs......prefer to escape from these feelings and keep themselves busy in hip-hop songs of todays time.

And another thing, you must have noticed, younger mass loves old songs when they are remixed....means the same old words but Hi-fi music......

3. Anandchitra

Anandchitra IL Hall of Fame

Hi Sunkan
    Totally agree with you. Infact its become so that I have stopped listening to filmi songs now. and turning over to carnatic music. Its the same with english songs too. remember Abba, Beatles and such Now its Rihanna with Umbrella ella ella ella .... and my son goes on and on with the ella.. ella.. ellla..eh:eek

4. puni88

puni88 Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

Hello SUnkan,
    I totally agree with you.
    I still enjoy listening to old music of hindi and kannada.
    My all time favourite is "ANDHI's 'Tere bina zindagi'. It is such a melodious and meaning full one.

Now a days there is no meaning or melody in the music.
    For eg: Joom bara bara joom --- what kind of a movie is that and the music... :bang
    Most of the music directors are copy cats now.. (Anu malik's another name is COPY CAT). There is no originality in the music.
    Now a days there is so much competition with singers, music directors etc.
    I was surprised to know that Shreya Ghosal, Sonu Nigham, Sunidhi Chauhan are singing in south Indian langs. (I was totally unware of these things).

~Punitha

5. sunkan

yes meeta,
    the ghazal section is empty in my article i love them too, i used to sing chitra's
    thum kya jaano thum kya samjho baath meri thanhayi ki...
    sunkan

6. sunkan

very true punitha,

sunidhi i have followed from when young and her voice is something to be heard, but dont know y she is not much into presentation may the directors to be blamed..sunkan