Dance DVDs

Discussion in 'Queries on Religion & Spirituality' started by Vini K, Oct 8, 2007.

1. Vini K

Vini K Bronze IL'ite

Hello ladies,

My daughter who is 3.5 yrs old,is very much interested in classical dance.I bought a few vcds from India when I went on vacation in august.But to my dismay,the quality of the vcds is not good.There is jerk in the picture which makes it very diggucult to view it comfortably.Hence,I would like to ask you ladies if you can point me out to some websites where I can order DVDs of good dance programs in Kuchipudi,bharatanatyam,odissi,etc.I live in London,so if any of you can tell me where I can try for DVDs of dance programs,I would be really thankful to you all.

2. subbi

subbi New IL'ite

Hai
    I am a dancer myself.there is a shop in mylapore called giri stores,. you can get dance dvds. visit kutcheri .com and narthaki .com. for infomation about dance
    it is natural for a parent like you to take interst in your talented child. beware of useless teachers who promise yousome extraordinary things and make you spend lot of money since you live in london. go in for a good kalakshetra
    trained teachers and make it very clear to them that you are not intersted
    in giving perfomances. if the teacher is really good she will not bother about
    your conditions .most parents end up buying every thing finally they get tired of teachers and perfomances. knowldge of dance is pure joy. go in for bharatha natyam classes.it is cakewalk for other dance forms
    usha[ subbi

3. Vini K

Vini K Bronze IL'ite

Thank you so much Usha Subbi..I will definitely visit the sites you have given.I myself learnt a little bit of odissi and kuchipudi when I was very young.But with me also the problem was that our teachers were on transferable jobs,consequently I could never learn any artform fully.I want to encourage my daughter as she is showing interest now.

4. nandananjali

nandananjali New IL'ite

Hi Vini
    I guess this link should help you. Giritrading.com-Exporters of pooja and temple items, books on Hinduism, Carnatic Music cassettes and CDs from India

I am also working on a site called Bharatanatyam By Anjali which focuses on providing help with basic steps through written explanation and videos. I hope this should help you
    Anjali