Sri Ramanuja, the Srivaishnava saint and social Reformer

Discussion in 'Religious places & Spiritual people' started by PushpavalliSrinivasan, Aug 16, 2007.

1. PushpavalliSrinivasan

PushpavalliSrinivasan IL Hall of Fame

Sri Ramanuja​

Sri Ramanuja was one of the Vaishnava Acharyas. He was a religious as well as a social worker. He was the first one to introduce free meals and to fight against discrimination of caste. He renamed the adhi dravidas as “Thirukulathar” and allowed them to enter the temples. I am happy to share my meager knowledge about this noble Acharya with you all after prostrating before him and praying to bestow his krupa kataksham for this tough job I have undertaken.

Birth and Parentage

More than thousand years ago in Sriperumbudur, which is situated between Chennai and Kancheepuram , there lived a couple named Asuri Kesava Somayajulu and Kanthimathi. They both were leading an orthodox and religious life. They had no children for a long time and so they longed for a child.
    At that time there was a staunch Vaishnavite devotee, Thirukachi Nambikal, who lived in Poovirunthavalli, which is now called Poonamallee. He was a vysya by birth. Daily he used to go to Kancheepuram by walk to have darshan of Lord Varadaraja. He used to do Alavatta Kainkaryam ( fanning) to Lord Varadaraja. As he had to cross Sriperumbudur, he used to stay for some time at Somayajulu’s house to refresh him to prepare for the long walk. One day Somayajulu told Thirukachi Nambikal about his longing for a child. He requested him to appeal to Lord Varadaraja on his behalf. Thirukachi Nambikal was a bestowed bhaktha who was fortunate to talk to Lord Varadaraja. He prayed earnestly to Lord Varadaraja and The Lord was pleased and told Thirukachi Nambikal that Somayajulu and Kanthimathi should go to Thiruvallikeni and perform Puthra Kameshti yaghya and then he would fulfill their wish by He Himself taking birth in Kanthimathi’s womb as the Amsam of Adhisesha.
    Thirukachi Nambikal was very happy and he gave the good news to Somayajulu. Both Somayajulu and Kanthimathi’s joy knew no bounds. They at once went to Thiruvallikeni and performed the Puthra Kameshti Yagya with shraddah and Bakthi. Lord Parthasarathi also was very pleased with them and they acquired His Blessings also. They returned to Sriperumbudur and were waiting for the birth of the son.
    After one year Kanthimathi gave birth to a son. It was the year Pinkala in Tamil and the 13<SUP>th</SUP> day of Chaitra, on sukla patcha Panchami, Thiruvathirai star, and the day was Thursday. According to the English calendar the birth date was <?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:smarttags" /><st1:date Year="1017" Day="4" Month="4">4/4/1017</st1:date>..
    As the child was born with the Blessings of Lord Varadaraja and Lord Parthasarthy Somayajulu and Kanthimathi were very happy. They also felt very much indebted to Thirukachi Nambikal, for without his grace and affection they would not have got their wish fulfilled.
    Kanthimathi had an elder brother whose name was Thirumalai Nambi. He was at Tirumalai, doing kainkaryam to Lord Srinivasa. He was very happy to hear the good news and he came to Sriperumbudur to see his new born nephew. When he saw the child he was struck with the beauty and the thejas of the face of the child and was spell bound. He felt that Lakshman who was the amsam of Adhi seahan had born again and so he named him Ramanujan. Anujan means younger brother. So this was Rama’s younger brother Lakshman and hence was called Ramanujan.
    Thirumalai Nambi had another sister, who was younger to Kanthimathi. Her name was Sridevi. She was married to one Sri Kamalanayana Bhattar and was residing at Madhuramangalam. She also gave birth to a male child in the month of <st1:country-region><st1:place>Thai.</st1:place></st1:country-region> Thirumalai Nambi went to Madhuramangalam to see his new born nephew. He named him as Govindan and after some time he returned to Tirumalai.
    At Sriperumbudur Ramanuja was growing up. As for tradition aksharabyasam, thread ceremony and all were conducted at the right age. He was very shrewd, had good grasping power and memory. He had learnt whatever he should learn and always kept company with highly educated and wise people.
    At the age of sixteen his parents had arranged his marriage with a girl called Thanjamambal alias Rashakambal. Some months after his marriage his father had fallen sick. His health was deteriorating and he attained the lotus feet of the Lord. Ramanuja performed his last rites and other ceremonies according to shastras. Both Ramanuja and his mother Kanthimathi were engulfed with grief. They were always thinking about Somayajulu and feeling his demise very much. They felt that if they remain at Sriperumbudur they would be always thinking about him. Hence they shifted to Kancheepuram.

Ramanuja joining yadhava Prakasa’s gurukulam and his visit to <st1:place>Benares</st1:place>

There is a hamlet called Thiruputkuzi near Kancheepuram. At Thiruputkuzi lived one Advaita acharya named Yadava Prakasa. Ramanuja came to know that he was very good at teaching Vedas and granthas. Ramanuja wanted to become his disciple. Hence he went to Thiruputkuzi and earnestly requested Yadava Prakasa to accept him as his disciple. He consented to his request and started teaching Advaita philosophy. He taught the meanings of Advaita and Ramanuja was learning with rapt attention.
    In the mean time Ramanuja’s cousin Govindan came to know that Ramanuja was at Thiruputkuzi as the disiple of Yadava Prakasa. He also desired to join with his brother Ramanuja as a disciple of the same guru. Ramanuja introduced his brother to his guru and requested him to accept him as his disciple. Yadava Prakasa gladly accepted his request. So both the brothers were learning Advaita philosophy under Yadava Prakasa.
    Ramanuja had already acquired a great knowledge in Sanskrit language. Some times he used to give better interpretation and even contradict his guru’s version. So Yadava Prakasa used to get angry with him and used to order him to shut up. One day when Ramanuja was giving oil massage to his guru, he was explaining the meaning to a sentence in Chandokya Upanishad. The sentence was “ Kapyaasam pundarikam eeva mashini.” He explained that Sri Maha Vishnu’s eyes were red in colour like the posterior (brushtam) of a monkey. When Ramanuja heard this absurd comparison tears welled up from his eyes and fell upon his guru’s thigh. Yadava Prakasa was upset and asked Ramanuja why he was shedding tears.
    Then Ramanuja told, “I am very saddened to hear your comparison of the Lords eyes to a monkey’s posterior. The real meaning is that the Lord’s eyes are like the broad petals of the lotus.” Yadava Prakasa was wild with anger. He told Ramanuja,” If you want to listen to my explanation you be here: Otherwise you could leave from here.” Ramanuja did not dare to leave his guru.
    Yet another day when Yadava Prakasa was explaining Daithriya Upanishad Ramanuja dared to contradict him. For the sentence “ sathyam, Gyanam, anantham, Bramham” Yadava Prakasa gave the meaning,
    “ Brahmam is the whole form of Truth, wisdom and infinite.” But Ramanuja contradicted his version and told, “Lord has got the qualities Truth, Gyanam and has no beginning or end and eternal. It is not those qualities are Brahmam” Yadava Prakasa was in great fury and scolded Ramanuja for contradicting him.
    He told him that he was giving a meaning that was differing from the meaning given by Adhi Sankara and other great men. Further he told him that he was not competent to give an explanation differing with others.
    Yadava Prakasa was jealous of Ramanuja and thought that he would be a threat to adhvaida philosophy. He also felt that Ramanuja would outshine his guru infuture.Hence he was scheming to get rid of Ramanuja out of his path either by hook or crook.
    Yadava Prakasa arranged for a Thirtha yathra to the holy places in <st1:place>North India</st1:place>. He planned to take all his disciples with him with the intention of pushing Ramanuja in the <st1:place>Ganges</st1:place>. Ramanuja took leave of his mother and left for the yathra with his brother Govindan and other disciples along with his guru. When they reached Vindya parvath Govindan came to know about his guru’s plan through some other disciples. Govindan came was very much shocked and he wanted to save his brother’s life.
    The next morning when Ramanuja was going alone to finish his morning ablutions, Govindan followed him. He explained him about his guru’s plan and requested him to get away from there and save his life. Though Ramanuja was shocked to hear this, he had separated from the group and walked alone wherever his legs could carry him as did not know the direction. Govindan went back to his guru along with other disciples. When Yadava Prakasa did not see Ramanuja, he asked the others where he had gone. They told him that they did not see him since morning. Then all searched for him, but could not find him. Yadava Prakasa pretended as if he was very sad, though he felt happy thinking that Ramanuja might have been drowned in a river or some animal in the forest might have devoured him. They all continued their journey towards <st1:place>Benares</st1:place>.
    Here Ramanuja kept on walking until dark. He was feeling thirsty and hungry, but as he was in the middle of forest he could not get anything. When the night approached he got frightened.
    Then all in a sudden he saw a hunter and his wife coming in front of him.
    The hunter asked Ramanuja, who he was and how he happened to come to the forest all alone. There were chances that some wild animals would kill him. Then he asked him where he wanted to go. Ramanuja told him that he got separated from his group and that he wanted to go to Kancheepuram. He asked the hunter where they were coming from and where they were going. The hunter told himthat they were coming from Siddhashram and were going to Sathyavratha shethram that was kancheepuram. Ramanuja told the couples that he also wanted to go to Kancheepuram and he would be glad if they allowed him to go with them.
    The hunter gladly agreed to take him with them. The three of them kept on walking for a long time. Then around <st1:time Hour="0" Minute="0">midnight</st1:time> they were tired and decided to take rest under a tree. The hunter’s wife was feeling very thirsty and she asked for some water. Ramanuja could not find water nearby and felt very sad thinking that he could not quench the thirst of the lady. Again they started walking at Sun rise and they found a well. The hunter couple requested Ramanuja to bring some water from the well. Then Ramanuja went to fetch water. When he returned with water, to his astonishment he could not find the couple. He was searching for them, but could not find them. He saw huge houses and <st1:place><st1:placeType>temple</st1:placeType> <st1:placeName>gopuram</st1:placeName></st1:place>, shops and all. He asked the people nearby what place it was. They looked at him up and down and said, “ Can’t you see the big gopuram of the temple? Can’t you see this big well which is called Salai Kinaru? This is the most punya shethram Kancheepuram. From this well only water is taken to Varadarajar temple for thirumanjanam.:
    Ramanuja’s joy knew no bounds. He felt that the Lord Vardaraja and His Devi Perundevi Thayar only came in the guise of hunter and his wife and guided him safely to Kancheepuram. He went home and prostrated before his mother and narrated all that had happened. Ramanuja’s mother Kantimathi was glad that her son had returned safely. From then onwards Ramanuja daily used to carry water from that well for thirumanjanam of Lord Varadaraja.

P.S. " kana mayilaada kaNtiruNtha vaankozi thaanum athuvaakap paaviththu than poLLa siRakai viriththu aadinaaR polume
    kallaathan kaRRa kavi" enpathaRku inanka I have started this Ramanuja Saritham. I pray to Acharya Sri Ramanuja to bestow me the required knowledge to accomplish the task successfully.
    Pushpavalli

Last edited: Aug 17, 2007

2. PushpavalliSrinivasan

3. PushpavalliSrinivasan

Alavandar attaining the lotus feet of Lord Ranganatha

When Ramanuja was ordered to leave Yadava Prakasa’s School, he started studying on his own. One day Thirukachi Nambikal came to his house. Ramanuja was very happy to see him. He told him that Yadava Prakasa had sent him out of his school. Hence he could not find a guru. He beseeched Thirukachi Nambikal to be his guru. Thirukachi Nambikal told him that he belonged to Vysya caste and Ramanuja being a Vaishnava could not become his sishya. Further he was only doing alavatta kaimkaryam to Lord Varadaraja and he had not aquired the knowledge of Vedas and Granthas. He told him to bring the Thirumanjana Thirtham to Lord Varadaraja and He would Bless him to obtain the proper guru.

There in Srirangam Alavandar’s health condition was deteriorating. He came to know that Ramanuja was free from the cluctches of Yadava Prakasa. So he had sent his pratham shisya Periya Nambikal to Kancheepuram to bring Ramanuja to Srirangam. It took four days for Periya Nambikal to reach Kanchipuram as he had to walk all the way.
    He went to Lord Varadaraja’s temple to have darshan. There he met Thirukachi Nambikal. He stayed with him at night and he told him about his mission.

Next morning he went to the temple with Thirukachi Nambikal. On the way they saw Ramanuja going to the temple with thirumanjana thirtham. Periya Nambikal was spell bound on seeing Ramanuja’s thejas. He started chanting Sanskrit slokas with beautiful meanings. Ramanuja was attracted by the beautiful voice and the meaningful slokas of Periya Nambikal. He approached Periya Nambikal and asked him, “ Reverend Sire, the slokas you had rendered are very sweet and meaningful. I am very much enthralled to hear them. Could you please tell me who is the great person who wrote these beautiful slokas? I would like to pay my obeisance to
    that great man. I feel I had obtained the object of my birth by hearing these slokas.”
    Periya Nambikal said,” Alavandar is the author of these slokas. He is my Paramacharya. He wanted to meet you, but as he is indisposed, he sent me to take you with me to Srirangam.” When Ramanuja heard this he felt that he was very fortunate to have the darshan of such a great man. He instantly agreed to go with him. He told him that after reaching the thirumanjana thirtham to Lord Varadaraja, he would be ready to accompany him. Though Periya Nambikal told him to finish if he had any work at home, Ramanuja told him that there was no greater work than obeying the order of a Paramacharya.
    Both of them started their journey to Srirangam by walk. Periya Nambikal walked hurriedly with Ramanuja as he felt that the time was running out as Alavandar was critically ill. When they reached Srirangam they saw people looking sad, standing and conversing in low tones. When Periya Nambikal asked them for the reason of the sadness, he came to know that Alavandar had attained the lotus feet of Lord Ranganatha. When Ramanuja heard this, his head started whirling and he fell unconscious. Periya Nambikal Started crying beating on his head, saying, “ Oh! Why did you send me away? At least I would have been with you when you left this world!”
    After some time both of them recovered from the initial shock and hurried to see him for the last time. Alavandar was just looking as if in deep sleep.They both prostrated before his body and broke down and cried. Ramanuja looked at Alavandar’s lifeless body for some time. He noticed that three fingers of his right hand were folded. Then he asked the disciples who were standing nearby, whether his fingers were always folded or only after his death. Alavandar’s disciples told the strange thing had happened only after his death and they could not understand the meaning of this. Then Ramanuja started singing a Sanskrit sloka in which he declared that he would always stick to Vaishnava Sampradaya, and he would administer Pancha Samskaras to the people who are covered with the darkness of Aghyana and teach them the Tamil Vedas and strive to help them attaining the lotus feet of Lord Narayana. When he finished the song Alavandar’s one finger of the right hand got straightened. Then he rendered another sloka in which he mentioned that he would write the meaning of Brahma Sutra in short and simplified manner so that all people would get benefited. When he finished the sloka another finger got straightened. Then he started rendering the third sloka in which he promised to give the name of Parasara to a Srivaishnava Acharya to show his gratitude for giving us the Vishnu Purana. After this song the third finger also got straightened. All those who witnessed the scene were struck with wonder and they felt that Ramanuja was the one who could take the place of Alavandar and enshrine the Acahrya peetam. They all requested Ramanuja to stay for a few days and have darshan of Lord Ranganatha. But Ramanuja was very much upset and told that he did not feel like having the darshan of Lord Ranganatha who had deprived him the fortune of meeting and enjoying the company of Alavandar even for a few days. He took leave of Periya Nambikal with a heavy heart and returned to Kancheepuram.

to be continued

Last edited: Sep 19, 2007
  4. PushpavalliSrinivasan

Ramanuja Inviting Thirukachi Nambikal for lunch

After returning from Srirangam Ramanuja was always looking very much depressed. He had already lost his mother who used to cheer him up whenever he was feeling sad. Ramanuja was not enjoying the company of his wife also. He always wanted to be alone. Only from Thirukachi Nambikal he found some solace. Thirukachi Nambikal tried to bring him out of his depression. He told him that Alavandar had attained the lotus feet of Lord Ranganatha as the purpose of his birth in this world was over. Now Ramanuja should take over the mission and he should fulfill the vows that he had made which straightened the fingers of Alavandar. Further he told him to continue his service to Lord Varadaraja. After hearing all this once again Ramanuja beseeched Thirukachi Nambikal to be his guru. But Thirukachi Nambikal told him that it was against the law of Varnashrama dharma. Being a vysya he was not fit to be a guru of a srivaishnava. Further he told him that very soon he would get a guru by the Grace of Lord Varadaraja.
    Now Ramanuja who was very much disappointed devised a plan to obtain the grace of Thirukachi Nambikal. He felt that Thrukachi Nambikal got the divine grace and so he was able to talk to Lord Varadaraja. Hence he thought that he would invite him for lunch at his house and then he would eat the left over after he finished eating. So one day he approached Thirukachi Nambikal and requested him to have lunch at his house the following day. He gladly accepted the invitation and told Ramanuja that he was really fortunate to have lunch at his house as he held Ramanuja in high esteem.
    The next morning he told his wife Thanjamambal to prepare lunch for Thirukachi Nambikal. When she told him that the lunch was ready, Ramanuja went to Thirukachi Nambikal’s house to bring him. But Thirukachi Nambikal had already left for Ramanuja’s house through North mada street while Ramanuja went through South mada street. After reaching Ramanuja’s house Thirukachi Nambikal told Thanjamambal to serve him lunch as he had to go to Lord Varadaraja’s temple to perform the Alavatta Kaimkaryam to the Lord. Thanjamambal made him sit at the verandah and served him food there. When he left the house after taking food she washed the place thoroughly. She also threw out the left over and took bath. Then Ramanuja came home and asked her why she had taken bath. She told Ramanuja that Thirukachi Nambikal came for lunch and told her that he was in a hurry to go to the temple and so she served him the lunch. She felt that Thirukachi Nambikal being a vysya it was against vaishnava sampradayam to serve him food in side the kitchen. Further she told it was also not proper to eat the left over dishes and so she was cooking afresh for them after cleaning the house. Ramanuja was very much annoyed to hear this. He scolded his wife for what she had done and left the house.
    In the mean while Thirukachi Nambikal felt that Ramanuja was holding him in high esteem, but born in a low caste he did not deserve it. Hence one day Thirukachi Nambikal appealed to Lord Varadaraja that he wanted to go to Tirumalai to have darshan of Balaji as he felt that Ramanuja was the reincarnation of Adisesha and also Ilayazvan Lakshman and that he did not want to be his acharya. Lord Varadaraja gave him the permission to go to Tirumalai.
    After a few days the summer had started and Kanchi was reeling under scorching heat. Lord Varadaraja called back Thirukachi Nambikal to serve him with alavatta kamkaryam.
    One day a beggar came to Ramanuja’s house and asked for food. Then Ramanuja told his wife to give him food. But she told him that there was no food in the house and left to take bath. Ramanuja didn’t believe her and he went to the kitchen to find if there was food. He found rice in a vessel and he gave it to the beggar. Ramanuja was very much upset with his wife’s behaviour.
    He went to see Thirukachi Nambikal. He told him that he was very much upset and was in a confused state of mind. He requested Thirukachi Nambikal to get clarification from Lord Varadaraja on his behalf. Thirukachi Nambikal promised him that he would put up the matter to Lord Varadaraja.
    The same night Lord Varadaraja gave reply in six words.
    Ahameva parabrahma jagath karana karana
    Shethragye swarayore bedha siththa yeva maha mathe
    Mokshopayo nyasa eva janaanaam mukthimi sathaam
    Math bakthanaam janaanaancha naanthimas mruthi rishyathe
    Dhehaava saane bakthanaam thathami –paramam patham
    Purnaacharya mahaathmaanam samashraya gunaashrayam
    Ithi Ramanuja charyaaya mayoktham vatha sathvaram

The meaning as follows:
    1. I am the absolute Brahman, the cause of the whole universe
    2. The distinction between the Jiva (individual soul) and Isvara (supreme godhead) is an established truth.
    3. Complete surrender to God is the only cause of liberation from the cycles of birth and death.
    4. My devotees will surely attain moksha even if they fail to remember me at the point of death.
    5. My devotees attain the highest goal (moksha) after death.
    6. Ask Ramanuja to take refuge under Mahapurna (Periya Nambikal) without delay and get initiated into the five samskaras of Vaishnava tradition.
    The next morning Thirukachi Nambikal told Ramanuja the six messages. Ramanuja felt that Lord Varadaraja was so Gracious that even though he did not tell Thirukachi Nambikal what were the questions that were raking his mind, he got all the answers. He felt so happy that he danced with joy. He prostrated before Lord Varadaraja and also at the feet of Thirukachi Nambikal as he felt that he was very much indebted to him. He decided to go to Srirangam and request Periya Nambikal to accept him as his disciple

To be continued
    Dear Ilites,
    I would like to have FB from you. If you find any discrepancy in the narration kindly let me know so that I can correct .
    Pushpavalli

Last edited: Sep 25, 2007
  5. PushpavalliSrinivasan

Ramanuja obtaining Diksha from Periya Nambikal

There at Srirangam after the demise of Alavandar one srivaishnava Thiruvarangar was installed as peetathipathi in place of Alavandar. All along he was only performing kaimkaryam to Lord Ranganatha. He was not proficient as Alavandar in teaching the granthas and prabandams. He felt that he should fulfill Alavandar’s wish and invite Ramanuja to take over the seat. After consulting all other disciples it was decided to send Periya Nambikal to Kanchi. He told Periya Nambikal that perhaps Ramanuja might be enjoying Thirukachi Nambikal’s company and might refuse to come to Srirangam. In that case he told Periya Nambikal to stay at Kanchi and teach Ramauja the Thamiz Vetham ( Naalaayira Divya Prapandam) and wait until he was ready to go to Srirangam.
    Periya Nambikal had started his journey towards Kanchi with his wife. After two days they reached Maduranthakam. There he went to have darshan of Eri Katha Ramar. Ramanuja also reached Maduranthakam He also went to the temple and he met Periya Nambikal there. Both Ramanuja and Periya Nambikal were very happy to see each other.
    Ramanuja fell at Periya Nambi’s feet and told him that he was going to Srirangam to request him to give diksha to him and accept him as his shisya. Then Periya Nambikal told him that both of them would go to Kanchi and there he would give him diksha. But Ramanuja told him that he did not want to delay even for a single minute for no one knows what would happen in the future. Already he missed the opportunity of having darshan and company of Alavandar.
    Hence Periya Nambikal arranged for the homam and other rituals for giving diksha to Ramanuja. The most important for Srivaishnava is the pancha samskaram.
    1.Thapa Samskaram ( Chakra at the right shoulder and Shanku at the left shoulder).
    2.Pundra Samskaram (Chanting the Lords name and applying Thirumankappu)
    3.Nama Samskaram ( admitting and accepting the name adiyen, dasan)
    4.Mantra Samskaram (mantra upadesam)
    5.Yaga Samskaram ( to perform yaghya )
    Ramanuja was very glad to obtain diksha from Periya Nambikal and then they both returned to Kanchi. Ramanuja gave the upper portion of his house to Periya Nambikal to stay with his wife. Daily he learnt Divya Prapandam and also Darsana Rahasyartham. He finished Naalaayira Divya Prabandam within six months. He was looking after the family of his guru Periya Nambikal and so he was was very much pleased with Ramanuja. Ramanuja had shown great respect to Periya Nambikal.
    He felt that there was no one equal to his guru. More than that he considered him as God. Daily in the morning as soon as he got up he used to pay obeisance to his guru. He believed that without guru’s grace he could not achieve any thing in life. But destiny had separated him from his revered guru.

to be continued

Last edited: Oct 2, 2007
  6. Sriniketan

Dear Mrs,Pushpavalli,
    Thanks for starting this thread. I don't know how I missed this thread which you had started a month ago. I feel sorry for that. But I was thinking about the conversation we had during the meet and even told my daughters that I am eager to know about Sri Ramanujar.
    You have explained it very well in simple English even I can understand it well. But I had read only the 1st part which you had posted on 16th August. From that I came to know the meaning of Ramanujam and also the signifance of the temple town Kancheepuram.
    thanks once again for this thread and will post after reading every post relating to Sri Ramanujar.
    Sure you are blessed by Him and the Acharya!
    Sriniketan

Last edited: Oct 5, 2007
  7. Sindhuja

Sindhuja Silver IL'ite

Dear Pushpa ji,
    Thank you so much for posting about Sri Ramanujar. I just finished reading the first part. I have never read in detail about Ramanujar before. Thanks again! Enjoyed reading and knowing about the great Ramanujar. Will get back to you after I am done reading all the articles.

P.S. Thanks Sri, I would have missed reading if I haven't seen your fb on the mainpage.

8. Sriniketan

Dear Mrs. Pushpavalli,
    Today i read all the other posts at a stretch so that i may not miss anything in between.
    Superb! waiting to read more on our Acharya.

I have one humble request. After writing about Sri Ramanujar, can you please write about Alwars too!

Sindhu, I even didn't notice this thread for nearly 1 and a1/2 months. yesterday I made it a point to go through this section daily.

Last edited: Oct 6, 2007
  9. PushpavalliSrinivasan

Dear Sriniketan,
    I am really happy to know that you like my simple English and enjoy the thread. In fact I was thinking of sending a PM to you to have FB from you. You only encouraged me to post this thread. In fact Mrs Chithra also told me that if you really enjoy writing,without bothering about FB and all you go ahead. So she was also instrumental in starting this thread. I was also having idea to write about Azwars also. Thank you for the FB.
    With love,
    Pushpavalli

10. PushpavalliSrinivasan

Dear Sindhuja,
    Glad to know that you read this thread and liked it. As i had mentioned in my reply to Sriniketan, she was the first one who encouraged me to start this thread.
    With love,
    Pushpavalli