Shanni Maharaj

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by Kamalji, Oct 2, 2007.

Shaani Maharaj

People are very scared of this God called Shani.They go to temples and priests,when they face hard times,and the pandit tells them,"Beta Shani bahut Bhari hai Tere Sar pe.Kuch karna hoga Shani ko hatane ke liye.So a lot of Prayers take place,and the person is lighter in his pocket substantially.

I love Shanni Personally . I speak for myself , and i know very few will agree with me, or see my viewpoint.Thats OK.Shanni is very necessary for everyone.Shanni brings the hardship.Shunni makes you lose money,friends,business, and respect.We have a period called Seven and a Half Years,which for that period, bring a lot of trouble,and drives the person up the wall,almost to suicide or bankruptcy.And it is this Shanni that I love,and pray to.

Shanni teaches you what is life.Shanni teaches you what it is to be without money,And shows you who stands by you then.It shows you who your real friends and well wishers are.Shanni make you a man out of a boy.

Look at Saurav Ganguly.Hes been out of the Indian Captaincy and team for a year.Hes been humiliated by the coach,shunned by the players,and the media.He went to mee t Sharad Pawar,and they said he has gone to use his influnce him to take him in the team.Even a century he made in the local matches, some said that it ws against low quality bowling.All his advertisments stopped.So Shanni must have been sitting on Gangully's head and shoulders.

Now look where Ganguly is.He was brought into the team on his own merits.He needed no push and influence.And he is the star performer in the test match,and better than Tendulkar or Sehwag or Dravid.And every news paper and news channel is singing praises of him.The same ones who just a while back were spitting fire on him.

Shanni taught him and Kumble,Zaheer Khan, what it is to comeback again.When Shanni Blesses, he gives you much more more than he took away.And we realise what it is to have back what we have lost.and we value it more now.Ganguly would not have appreciated being in the team, if he had not been dropped.He know knows the value of being in the team.

Look at Amitabh Bacchan.He was Bankrupt from ABCL, courtesy. Shanni Maharaj.And look at Amitabh Today.Shanni gave him much much more,filling his coffers with infinite wealth.

Shanni is like the Hot scorching Sun.The hotter it is, the better u feel the coolness of the Air Conditioner.So welcome Shanni Maharaj into yr lives with open Arms.He will teach you who are your true friends in yr adverse times,driving away the useless friends and relatives,and bringing some new friends into your fold.He will teach you what is the value and worth of money,and how to be careful in the future.

Really, there is no one like Shanni.I just adore him.Hats off to you,big boss.You are always welcome to me.You are the best teacher that I ever had.You are hard as a nut,but soft too.Welcome dear.My doors are always open to you.

Kamal Mahtani

2. Nivedi

Nivedi New IL'ite

Kamalji,

Shani is a great teacher, as you say. It is true that he gives us an insight into who will really stand by us and who will abandon us. All through the Sade Saathi period he tests our survival skills and while he transits to the next phase, he bestows enough well-being. He can take us deep into misery and pull us out too. That is his strength.

3. Kamalji

Nivedi,

Thanks firstly for this being the first comment and such a nice one at that.

Yes the Sadi Sat vari, as we call in Sindhi, are the seven and half years of hell if shanni comes.

But then i feel, that it teaches u to survive , and let u know who are yr friends and who are yr enemies.Everyone runs away.My dad had one, and he had a horrid time.

But when it left him, it gave him back with interest everything, and much more.

I treat Shanni as a friend,irrespective of what others think of him.

Thanks and regards.kamal

4. subbutr

subbutr Senior IL'ite

My dear Kamalji,

A practical approach to Lord Saturn seen from your posts.
    Yes shani bhagawan teaches us all basics of our Life's journey.

Let us study these points one by one.
    First, let us discuss the planet Saturn.
    People in general tend to fear saying this planet's name and are scared once they find that they are under the influence of Saturn (Saade Sathhi or the so called Seven and half years period of Saturn's cycle).
    In astrology.....Saturn represents restrictions and limitations...
    long before the invention of telescopes....which brought the discovery that the planet itself was surrounded by restricting rings..
    Saturn spends about 2 1/2 years in each sign of the Zodiac..

So he takes about 29 1/2 years to complete one orbit of the Sun...
    Saturn is often regarded as a stringent ...strict...and depressing influence...
    yet he can also act as a firm foundation ...and produce dogged determination in people....
    He is the last of the "personal planets"...the planets that move fast enough around the skies to affect us all personally...
    In our charts..he represents achievement and failure......
    Saturn is identified with Iron & Steel and its rays contain Iron particles.
    When Iron substance is excessively found in one's body then the neuron chips in the brain gets disturbed.
    Thus the emitting of brain wave is also disturbed or scattered and this puts a person under Saturn's effects to great hardship.
    People tend to ignore this person. Many a time clashes occur.
    A person under its influence is likely to slip from his or her routine.
    They are more often attracted towards unwanted and unlawful activities.
    Greed takes them for a ride and they may even tend to go for gambling, howsoever a refined person he or she may be.
    Saturn is a very slow moving planet and it takes roughly two and half years to cross one sign of 30 degrees.
    Unless it is a new moon or full moon day, generally during all Saturdays, the atmospheric pressure is very minimal.
    This low pressure in atmosphere causes lethargic attitude in most of us & for those who suffer from the 7 1/2 years period of Saturn, in particular.
    That's why persons affected by it become lazy / lethargic during the ill effect period. This we have seen in many peoples' horoscopes that practically during the Saturn's ill effect periods, they tend to forget even most important assignment, lose valuable items, become very lethargic & inactive, lose weight, spend money more than usual and mostly borrow it even if it is for higher interest rates etc. thus taking him to a bad debt trap.
    Many a person who suffered these bad effects were given some remedial suggestions according to astrological considerations. If a person wears a blue sapphire stone during that specific period, the Saturn's ill effects are minimal.
    But how a stone or gem can bring solace is questioned by many.
    Fact is that the mineral content in a particular stone and the cosmic radiation combined together are beneficial, that much one can be sure of.
    I have undergone such a traumatic period in my life during 1990's & within 2 months suffered a loss of 18 lakhs financially, has to keep quite for few months without doing any new ventures in business except the ongoing process.
    Then visited Thirunallar Saneeswar temple( near Karaikal,
    <?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:smarttags" /><st1:City><st1:place>pondicherry</st1:place></st1:City> ), Thirunageswaram ( near Kumbakonam) conducted those rituals and started wearing the blue stone embedded on silver ring

Now coming back to the role of saturn :
    Some alternative methods are also suggested to weed off Saturn's radiations.
    0ne such suggestion is to light/burn the gingili seeds soaked into gingili oil and inhale the carbon.
    This method is practically done on every Saturday evenings in the famous South Indian temples which hold a separate location for the
    <st1:place><st1:placeType>Temple</st1:placeType> of <st1:placeName>Planets</st1:placeName></st1:place>
    This method supposedly relieves one from Saturn's ill effects, viz. by inhaling the gingili Carbon, the ventricles take it directly to the brain and the chemical reaction caused in the brain releases the excessive Saturn Radiations from the brain, through the seven visible holes in the face itself - i.e. nostrils, ear, eyes and mouth. In addition, the skull punch or the focal point, (from where brain waves are emitted) also ventilates the Saturn's radiations.
    Saturn's rays are, presumably, thick containing iron substance/iodine.
    Another such method is, just to keep the gingili seeds into one's palm for few minutes and then to gift it to a Brahman.
    It is said, that gingili seeds absorbs the Saturn's rays directly from the body and gives relief to the sufferer. This is also done on a Saturday.
    It is widely believed that the receiver of this gingili gets the ill effects of the Planet Saturn and the receiver is mostly a Brahman who should take remedial measures to correct the imbalances.
    The sade-sati of Saturn refers to its transit through the trio of the two signs flanking the natal moon and the moonsign itself.
    This phase of 7.5 years repeats again in about 30 years and so, many individuals may experience 2 to 3 such periods during their lifetime.
    To a somewhat smaller extent, the ‘influence’ is also believed to occur when Saturn transits the signs that is fourth and eighth from natal moon.
    These 2.5 year periods are known as panoti, dhayia or adhayia in folklore jyotish. There is also a bigger picture view of Saturn which is a product of experience, imagination and a different way of looking at life. This provides one with a slightly different take on Saturn and what it is supposed to represent and do to us in our human experience of a lifetime.
    Saturn is about removal or all that is unnecessary, all that is old and in need for an overhaul.
    The deathly winter of Saturn can only be followed by the spring of regeneration. This kind of optimistic thinking gives one some hope, that if we can only cling to the root that is sticking out in the river, we would be able to survive the rapids, the twister that sade-sati is.
    We also see Saturn as the teacher whose sole purpose in our life is to make us realize our mistakes, our moments of laziness and inaction that landed us in the deplorable state, today and which we need to address and reverse now so that we fare better during the next encounter with Saturn.
    Saturn is considered a benefic and yogakarak for Libra ascendants.
    Some people have experienced rise and gains during sade-sati, though often with some degree of mental turmoil or uncertainties that plagued ones mind and disturbed if not destroyed mental peace.
    If sade-sati is beginning to sound like a factor to be taken into account but not expected to override everything else at a given moment, then that is indeed what is observed.
    With approaching sade-sati, if one can adopt a certain degree of mental detachment towards the outcome and goals and can take the opportunity to exercise some self-discipline and a sense of fairness, the better one will be prepared to withstand what the period has to offer.
    On the one hand, this smacks of astrological opportunism, but on the other hand, this can be taken as an opportunity for one to practice certain ways of living and reacting to life, ways that are in tune with and harmonious with what the astrological rhythms and signatures signify.
    A karmayogi, one who carries out ones duties without excessive attachment to the goals and fruits of such actions will be less affected during sade-sati than another who continues to cling to a goal-oriented life and has difficulty in letting go of control.
    While such a perspective of living throughout life is very welcome, we are all creatures of desires and passions and cannot be ‘good’ all the time.
    But, if we can live as we should and as we are supposed to in order to attain spiritual growth, even for short periods of time, then we do come out that much better in life.
    As they say, there is a time to sow, a time to care for the crop and a time for harvesting – then this is exactly what the astrological periods and rhythms of life are indicating to us.
    When we do manage to work with astrological cycles, life seems to be smoother and more wholesome than otherwise.
    The emphasis is obviously on right action (and right speech and thought as well) at the proper time.
    Approached thus, sade-sati takes on a different form and Saturn can almost become an ally, a teacher and not the menacing destroyer that it is often made out to be.
    However, the best time to act is ‘now’ and not necessarily when the piper begins knocking on the door.
    Even so, I hasten to add, that proper action never goes to waste in the long run, so those who awaken late may not reap immediate benefits, but eventually will, if they go through their tests with a certain degree of detachment.
    This, though difficult to do, is basically what a devotee does.
    The surest form of detachment is through spiritual surrender.
    Surrender is what Bhakti or devotion is all about.
    Surrender is not the same as shirking ones responsibilities or assumption of passivity.
    One never surrenders actions, one surrenders the goals, or more specifically the desire and expectation of the fruits, the outcome of proper action.
    This is the primary lesson that Saturn in our charts is supposed to provide us to the degree that we require, in the manner that is necessary to get our attention.
    Sade-sati is about ones duties and proper discharge of those and it is about ones dharma. It often makes its influence known through its impact on our ‘luck’ or our escape buffer.
    This is the benefic reserve that we enjoy through our past good actions.

Subbu

Subbuji,

Thank u so much for yr kind comment.So long and so informatve i am touched u took so much trouble to explain the details.Thank u very much.

My dad too had to wear a stone, i think Pukhraj, we sindhis call it, and it made life better and progress faster.

Thanks once again,subbuji.Regards.kamal

6. puni88

puni88 Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

Very good information.

Thanks for sharing,
    Punitha

7. Vandhana

Vandhana Silver IL'ite

Hello Kamalji,

My first post to you. I am in your camp , as in I treat Shani bhagwan as my friend!!. I don't blame him for all the woe that befalls me.....Nor am i scared to my bones about him. And in my horoscope he is sitting right there as the lord of my 8 th house!!

I do pray to him everyday. I think generally, for all our failures and misfortunes, we do tend to blame some one rather than ourselves and the Sade sathi of Shani is very useful to pass the blame on to!!
    Nice write up . I did read a few more of your middles, and enjoyed them a lot.

Rgds
    Vandhana

8. Shanvy

hi kamalji,

You never realise the shade of a tree unless you are coming under it after standing in the blazing hot sun.

The same way sani maharaj tests us and then showers us. He is doing his duty. We dont grumble when sukhra dasha showers on somebody.

it does not mean that we have to blame sani maharaj for all that happens to us during that period. In fact he teaches us something in life in each of the 3 times he comes in the life of a person.

9. subbutr

subbutr Senior IL'ite

My dear Kamalji,

Thanks for the feedbacks and glad to interact in such topics.

Let's do our duties and the almighty takes care of it for the results.

Be humble, honest and helping to self and others.

Subbu

Vandhana,

Welcome to my camp:-D Thank u for yr kind words, and reading my blogs.Your comments make it worthwhile for me to blog here.thanks and regards.kamal

Shanti,

I did not know Shani comes thrice in everyone's life.But to me he is always welcome.The shade of the tree is a very good example.I rmember as a child,when the doctor used to give the liquid medicine,bitter one,I used to gulp it down, and then take a spoon of sugar.That sugar was the sweetest i have ever tasted, because it was after the bitter medicine.So i feel more the troubles in life, better the good days seem.

Thanks and regards.kamal

Subbuji,

You are a gem.Thanks and regards.kamal