Eating Out of My Hands

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by Kamalji, Sep 22, 2007.

Eating out of my Hand<?XML:NAMESPACE PREFIX = O />

Today morning took my cousin's wife ,her kids, me wife and bhabhi to Amer Fort at 7/30 am for an elephant ride.Day before we went in the evening at 4, but halfway came to know that the elephants ply to the top of the fort only till 9 in the morning.So we left early today to give a ride to our guests.

Elephants – They now carry just two people instead of 4,and take people up,but come down empty,instead of the two way previously.the rate has been increased to 550/- per elephant instead of 400/-

We hired two, the first one crried my wife and Mrs Mohan,and the next one, the two children .I and bhabhi walked along with the elephants.We took the pics along the way.As many elephants were coming down while we were walking up,I asked the mahout of the elephants the names,and all were females,with filmy names like Kajol,Kareena,Ashwaraiya.The males are not allowed to ply as they are very aggressive,and last year the males created a rukus,and one male killed 3 people,so now the female elephants are plying,and the males are resting.Who says women don’t work hard.
    Mmy wife is in the blue top.
    Mrs Mohan and her two kids are also feeding the pigeons.

The pigeons there we fed with our hands,and they were fun.look at the pics,and u will know.

this is the Elephant rest house, where they wait, till their turn comes to tale tourists up the mountain.I tipped them a 100/- bucks and they made the elephants salute us,and take the pics.Im sure they will not forget Kamalji in a hurry.

Then there is the rest house of the elephants,and we had fun clicking the pics.
    The monkeys who used to be there in hundreds,now have disappeared or relocated,god knows.But the pigeons were wonderful and they made up .

Then my wife took them to the parlour and with the massages and pedicure and manicure,and gold facial, they found it very cheap in rupee terms.

They have promised to come again (this was their first visit to jaipur) for the elephants,pigeons,massages,Tuffy of course, and above all Kamalji.I have heard fortunate people have guests,and I guess I am fortunate.and it gives me great pleasure to be a host.I hope God keeps my house open for many many more guests to come.

2. Nivedi

Nivedi New IL'ite

Kamalji - Thanks for the pic's. Looks like a lot of elephants and pigeons at the fort.

3. Shanvy

hi kamalji,

AFter seeing the pictures...looks like you will be having more guest...:tongue.. huzur hum bhi aa rahe hain:mrgreen:

4. Kamalji

Shanti,

Most welcome, u and veda.It will be our pleasure.Looking for ward to yr visist soon.Thanks and regards.kamal

But before that i am coming to chennai, around 3 rd week oct and i hope Veda is here till then.Regards.

Nivediji,

Yes lots of those at the fort, but monkeys have dissappeared these days.Regards.kamal

5. Reenae

Reenae Bronze IL'ite

Hello Kamalji

Your hospitality sounds so cool. Reminds me of an old Raj Kapoor song "mehmaan jo hamara hota hai woh jaan sey pyara hota hai, zayada ki nahin lalaach hamko thodey mei guzara hota hai....."

It's so nice to know that there are still people around who care and appreciate visitors - mostly you see people frown even at the mention of someone visiting.

A couple lives in our neighbourhood and at weekends they leave their milk deliveries outside the front door, so any callers would feel that they are away, hence the milk is still at the doorstep! Most of their callers are now getting to know their reasons and have now backed off but this kind of attitude makes one feel that the world is becoming a very "sad" palce to live.

Thank God for people like you!

Take care

Reenae

6. Anandchitra

Anandchitra IL Hall of Fame

Kamalji
    Very nice thread. and so happy to note your hospotality and the photos too. be prepared for 3 more guests!!!! really enjoyed the photos of the elephant and doves. thanks

7. Abha

Abha Bronze IL'ite

HI Kamal Ji

Nice to see your family pics... you and ur wife make a great pair...

Abhaji,

Thank u so much.In fact the elephants look better than me, na ?:) Regards.kamal

Anand Chitraji,

Most welcome to be our guest in Jaipur, with yr family.th is is the best time now, from Oct to Feb, when it is cool and pleasant.So welcome once again.Regards.kamal

Reenaji,

My dad used to be a good host, and we used to have uncles and aunts from the grandmother side coming all over,and that too in a city like Bombay.But we used to love being with the guests, sitting and listening to their stories.

See most of my cousins and uncles are NRI's, so they used to bring those stories from there, alongwith choclates, Wriggly Chewing gums, Ham and sausage cans, and then the trips to the airport to drop and pick them up.

So i have picked this habit from Dad, and i love to have guests around.And in Jaipur what else can i show them but the elephants, and make them shop around here, and of course give them my silly company, car and petrol.:2thumbsup:

Well i still feel i am blessed to be blessed with guests.Thanks for yr kind words, welcome to jaipur Reenaji with yur family,regards.kamal

9. Shanvy

Hi kamalji,

thanks for your invitation. veda will not be there...he comes in the 2nd week and leaves in the same week...very short visit.

10. suminanda

suminanda New IL'ite

hi kamalji,

it's very nice to share those experiences. pictures are superb......
    ours is also a place of elephants............i speak of KERALA...the god's own cty.
    you might have heard of the very famous POORAM in Thrissur,kerala
    you invite all ilites to jaipur......i also would like to invite you&family to Kerala

regards.........suminanda :)