Mangala Gowri Vratham

Discussion in 'Festivals, Functions & Rituals' started by swarnalakshmin, Jun 12, 2008.

1. aishu22

aishu22 Gold IL'ite

Dear All,
    This year's Mangala Gowri Vrath is over with today's pooja. Hope all of you did the pooja, tied the vrath sacred thread(nombu kayaru)and got the blessings of Gowri matha.
    I felt glad because.. the god had blessed me to complete all the 4 weeks pooja this time too. This is my 3rd year pooja and for the past 3 years i was able to do pooja on all the weeks without missing.I feel blessed.

Good Luck to all of you and best wishes.

P.S: The swarna Gowri vrath is on 2nd september - a day before Ganesh Chaturthi.

2. MrignayniBansal

MrignayniBansal Senior IL'ite

Hello Ladies,

This was my first Shree Mangala Gowri Vrata .As it is performed by newly married girls on the five tuesdays of Shravana maasa, for the first five years after marriage.I decorated the pooja place with rangoli.Then I place a wooden plank on it, with one blouse piece, one mirror and two blouse pieces on either side of mirror for decoration, 16 betel leaves, 32 adike and kobbari gitaku, The Gauri image is made by arishina and kept in a plate, and pooje is performed. Kosambari and thambittu are prepared for distribution to all. By performing Mangala Gowri Vratham, people aspire for dheergha-saumangalya, children and progress. This Vrata is performed on all Tuesdays of Shravana .

3. PandeyKranti

PandeyKranti New IL'ite

Hope all of you are doing gr8!
    I read all the posts in this thread.Can someone tell me what is the importance of this Mangala Gowri Vrat?
    Why Indian ladies do so many God and Goddess Vrat?
    Apart from weekdays Vrat Indian Ladies do every months many Vrat on festivals also.
    I saw my Mamiji.She does many Vrats.
    Is it good for health?

4. bindu_ch_79

bindu_ch_79 Bronze IL'ite

hai aishu garu
    im new to this site.i live in us.for mangala gowri vratam we give vayanam for 5 mutayuduvulu.so how can i give it here.last year i gave to ammavaru in a temple as i couldnt find indians in woodlandhills california.can u also help me how to post my questions

Last edited: Jun 5, 2009
  5. swethacharya

swethacharya New IL'ite

Hello All,

I was trying to find out more about Mangala Gowri Vratam on the net and came across this blog. There is so much information on the blog. Can anyone please clear my questions on this vratam.

1) I am planning to start Managala Gowri vratam this yr Sravanamasam, today being the first tuesday, did not know more on this vratam so did not start today. This is the second year of my marriage, I did not know about this vratam my first year so did not perform it. So can I start this vratam this yr?
    2) If i can start the vratam this year I will start it from next tuesday, when am I supposed to clear this tuesday that I missed?
    3) How many sumagalis should be invited to give them Tambulam i mean the number?
    4) Does this vratam have any food restrictions during the day its performed.
    5) Should we have a Kalasha decorated for this vratam? like we do for varalakshmi vratam (pot of water and rice with coconut on the top of the pot, the coconut is covered with jacket piece and decorated)

Any help and suggestion is appreciated...

Thankyou
    Swetha

6. SriVidya75

SriVidya75 Platinum IL'ite

Aishu

simply superb flower decoration...its really wonderful...god bless you dear

7. carrydogwood79

carrydogwood79 New IL'ite

hi all,

I am planning to do Mangala Gowri Vratham starting next month but just found out i am pregnant .Can i still do the Mangala Gwori Vratham next month?

Lakshmi

8. carrydogwood79

carrydogwood79 New IL'ite

HI all,

I was hoping somebody could reply to my question .Little disappointed ahmmmm
    Lakshmi

9. aarta

aarta Silver IL'ite

Hiya all

CAN UNMARRIED GIRLS PERFORM THIS VRATH???

KINDLY REPLY SOON AS I AM LOOKING FORWARD FOR COMING TUESDAY:hide::hide:

warm regards
    Aarta:)

10. starshine

starshine New IL'ite

Yes Lakshmi, you can still perform the pooja