Gem show in Michigan 26-27 jun 2010 - buying ruby stones

Discussion in 'General Discussions - USA & Canada' started by gayusaarathy, Jun 18, 2010.

1. gayusaarathy

gayusaarathy New IL'ite

Hi Ilties,

I have planned to go for an international gem show in michigan next weekend. My husband is planning to gift me ruby set in gold for my wedding anniversary. I have selected the necklace pattern but in a dilemma, on whether to buy ruby stones in the gem show. ILties, who has experience in buying gem stones in gem show kindly help me. Can i buy the stone here in US and do the set in India or buy any set from gold shop like GRT?

I have attached the pattern for your views...:)
    :thumbsup

I have also planned to buy jade, garnet in strings and also coral rose and jade leaf.

2. guddi2

guddi2 New IL'ite

its very nice..but i think it is little bit old fashioned..i saw this style of pattern with many people...try to select some new style

3. Amywos

Amywos Bronze IL'ite

Hi Gayusarathy,

Firstly, the model looks very cute. :)

Are u planning to buy as a set itself? With your post, it looks like you are planning to buy ruby gems from gem show and with that make a necklace in the pattern shown below. Is that so? Well I have 2 comments dear..

I have been to the gem show, am not sure if u can get gem "stones", where I have seen only strands of ruby "beads" ...as it looks in the pic shown.. You will get them in strands, same is the case with Jade too... If thats the case, u cant expect a necklace as u have shown below ..coz those are made with stones...... But also it might be that, I just missed to see that the stones available in the show..... :drowning so....good luck !

And by the way, even assuming you will get stones, your model has diff. shapes of stones, like round, diamond etc.... so how would it generally work? Would be great if you can share the ideas.after your purchases ..

Keep us posted, if u happen to get that :thumbsup

• m5.jpg
      m5.jpg
      File size:
      19.2 KB
      Views:
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2010
  4. Cindhuja

Cindhuja Gold IL'ite

Hi gayu,

For semi-precious and precious stones like ruby,emerald,diamond,zircon and stuff it is always better to get them as a set in india itself..as you said in GRT or Tanishq or whatever..

coz the price difference isn't that great..you can save very less amount. moreover they tend to reserve the design patterns as the shape and size of the beads we get from there differs from the existing collections.

so for other beads like jade,crystals,corals and pearls you can get from gem show and get them custom-designed easily.

This is my opinion:).Happy shopping

Last edited: Jun 19, 2010
  5. gayusaarathy

gayusaarathy New IL'ite

Hi Amywos,

Nice to see your reply. Thank u... i thought i cld count the number of stones in each shape from the model and buy respectively. But now i got an idea, that i will ask our family jeweller to make the set completely(including the stones i will ask him to put). I will just buy diff gem beads here and make nice fashionable sets to wear with salwar, saree and even with kurtha.

Since this is gonna be my first gem show visit, i donno how those stuffs would be.
    Sure i will update my experience soon...

6. gayusaarathy

gayusaarathy New IL'ite

Hi cinduja,

Even am thinking in the same way as u :) ...thank u so much for your suggestion. Will update my experience soon.:thumbsup

7. Lavanyaganesan

Lavanyaganesan Junior IL'ite

Hi Gayu,

Yes you can go ahead and get Ruby stones in the gem show.I went to india 3 months back and I purchased jades,ruby,garnets from Gem Show and it was good gems and its also cheap in USA.I made a set in garnet in GRT.If am correct the gem show is conducted by Beads after beads.There is a gem show in our place also on this weekend in seattle.So U can go ahead yaar.....:)Advance Anniversary Wishes.

8. gayusaarathy

gayusaarathy New IL'ite

Hi Lavanya,

Thank u so much... :)

Hey i want to know whether u bought stones or beads in strands and what was the cost?

Can u upload the pic of your garnet set?