Education

Discussion in 'Indians in UAE' started by devaradhan, Apr 3, 2010.

1. devaradhan

devaradhan Senior IL'ite

Dear Ushakrishnan mam,
    Fine and hope you do good. I went through your profile and thought that you are the best person for my doubt which is there in my mind for a long time.
    Mam, I came to Gulf six years back when my son was in grade 3. Now he is in 9th grade. My doubts is that why many expats wind up and go back when their kids finish 10th. They say the child will fall under NRI category when they join college and the parents have to pay heavy fees.
    Other thing is that the education here is compared inferior to that of ours. (I feel the pressure to the children is less compared to India, otherwise everything is same) I know all reputed universities and institutions are here including BITS Pilani.
    Should i go back to chennai for my sons education after 10th or is it o.k. to continue here...Pls clarify my doubt.
    Friends..... you all can give me suggestions on the same.
    Devi. :idea

2. Arunarc

Hello Devi
    Yes the standard of education in India is much better then outside. Till 12th it is fine to study outside India. Becoz before 12<SUP>th</SUP> there is lot of burden on the kids they are forced to study so much and they don't get time for other activities. Kids will have to wait for holidays to join any activities other then studies.
    According to me kids should get the university degree in India and further they can go out again for post graduation.
    This is my personal experience as I am out of India from last 11 to 12 years my son studied outside India he did his IB and now doing his 1<SUP>st</SUP> year engg. in India. In every country that we got transferred he has studied 2 to 3 years, so he could pick up the way of teaching very fast as he was doing it before too.
    Yes in the beginning you will find it difficult becoz of the way of teaching and the way of answering the examination papers is different in India, it will take a few months to understand but syllabus you will not find much difference.
    Now he is staying in India in hostel and we both are outside India. He scored 1<SUP>st</SUP> class in 1<SUP>st</SUP> semester and doing his second one now.
    In the end it is the parents who has to decide what to do, take your kid too and see what he wants to do. Yes fees too is very heavy outside India.

Last edited: Apr 4, 2010
  3. devaradhan

devaradhan Senior IL'ite

Dear Aruna,
    Thank you very much for your views. First of all, I would like to congratulate your son who scored 1st class in the first semester. I wish him success in all the upcoming exams too.
    What was your experience when you admitted him in college? Did you pay the NRI fee or are there any colleges where they do not have this difference. But one thing I cannot think of is that putting my son in hostel. The thought itself makes me tremble. Maybe I'll be matured when that time comes. Anyway keep me updated with any educational issues in future.
    Thank you once again.
    Devi.

4. SelahJadenCald

SelahJadenCald New IL'ite

Education in India has a history stretching back to the ancient urban centres of learning at Taxila and Nalanda.

5. Ushakrishnan64

Ushakrishnan64 Silver IL'ite

Dear Devi,
    Thank you for considering my opinion.
    Personally, I am averse to hostel life. So when my daughter finished her 12th with Commerce stream, we opted for Manipal University, Dubai Campus. The faculty was quite ok. She has scored excellent grades and now she is pursuing CA course in Dubai itself.
    Now my son is Grade 11 in Science stream and I need to do a lot more research re: Bits Pilani/ other Universitites in Dubai.
    I can clarify one thing straight away: Only because your son studies 11th & 12th in India, he will not be eligible for domicile seat. When the parents are NRI's, the student is considered only in the NRI quota, irrespctive of the score.
    If your sons would prefer Science stream, you should do a proper research before taking the decision. But if he prefers Commerce stream, I do not see any problem continuing here.
    USHA

6. devaradhan

devaradhan Senior IL'ite

Dear Usha mam,
    Thank you very much for your views on my query regarding higher education here in Dubai. Yes, as you rightly said....we need to do some research before deciding. As of now, my son who is in grade 9 is very much interested in science stream. Just planning to give him an academic counselling by a professional this time when I go for vacation. Kindly share any information regarding education (BITS Pilani or other universities) which will be of great help to me.
    Thank you once again for your response.
    Devi

7. Ushakrishnan64

Ushakrishnan64 Silver IL'ite

Dear Devi,
    I will definitely let you know if I gather more info. You too please keep me posted.

USHA

Last edited: Apr 20, 2010
  8. Shanvy

just pitching in. your child has to study in india for 4/5 years continous years or he will be considered nri and be asked to pay under the nri scheme. he cannot appear for admission under the general scheme. that is the reason many of the parents move the kids in the 9th standard.

Recently one of dh's colleagues son got admission at 18lacs for engineering.
    i heard another person paying 60lacs straight for medicine seat.

education is definitely costly.

9. devaradhan

devaradhan Senior IL'ite

Dear shanti,
    Thanks a lot for the timely info........
    The NRI fee for engineering and medical is too high....(for me)...
    Is this fee same in all the colleges.....
    Pls keep me updated with such information if you get to know more.
    Devi.

10. devaradhan

devaradhan Senior IL'ite

Dear Usha mam / Shanti,

Well, as we are nearing the end of academic year, just thought of having a word with you both.....

Is there any news for me regarding the discussion we had a few months back. I heard from one of my friends that the fees for engineering in Anna University is $ 25,000/year. Is this the same in all the colleges affiliated to Anna University?

Usha mam, any reviews on Mahesh coaching centre (Bur dubai)?
    Or do you know anyone whose children go to preboard coaching.

Eagerly waiting to hear frm you both.

Devi.