Presence of mind

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by iyerviji, Jan 15, 2010.

Presence of mind is required everywhere. At times we dont have the presence of mind. Some people are very good in having presence of mind. I at times dont have that

Before someone comes home I think I should give them something which I forget when they come home. Like when Mindi came home since she said she already had breakfast and was going to have lunch in her aunty's place, Igave her only Pal Payasam to have. I had made avial that day, atleast if not lunch I could have given her avial to taste. After she went only I thought of it.

Sometimes it happens like this and later I feel bad about it, when someone comes and goes I always feel whether I was good in hospitality.

The most humble statement we can see is I am nothing without God and the most powerful statement, with God I can do anything. I feel that when my time comes to leave this world I should have the presence of mind of chanting God's name. Thats why there is a saying appodaiku ippodhe chollivaithen meaning when we are leaving this world we might forget to think of God so now only we should think of God and pray all the time.

2. natpudan

natpudan Gold IL'ite

Viji Ma,

I can see that the Presence of Mind you have is very good - evident from the converstion you have on A-Z.:thumbsup

The pal payasam must have been better than the aviyal and probably Mindi deserved that (god was with her).:)

forgetting things at the right time, happens to all of us now & then.

may the god you believe in give you a long life and also i must say this:

a person who has been sincerely offering prayers through out his / her life and when gets the FINAL BOARDING PASS on a ONE WAY TICKET, forgets or not in a situation to realize, or in sleep, hasn't utterred the prayers or god's name, do you think the god will not accept him / her.
    God will accept always as you are.

it's a satisfaction we get when we remember & do things on time.:thumbsup

3. Padmini

Padmini IL Hall of Fame

Dear Viji,
    Another useful post from you.You do not forget to give me avial when I visit your house!!!:)
    The self-control is very much necessary, to act with presence of mind. We should not say whatever we think and do whatever we like, in case of emergency. Thinking in the right path and doing the right thing are most important. For using intelligence correctly, presence of mind is required.We should learn to master others, by our acts. We should show how we are more fit than others, by proving our intelligence and acting with presence of mind.
    pad

4. Soldier

Soldier Gold IL'ite

Viji Mam nice to see one more post from you. And I liked Nat's fb on this.

I am happy that I have come to know you both through A-Z n I thank Shrini was this.

Dont worry - I too sail in the same boat. Believe me once Sudha's best friend came with her parents for Kolu and after having a nice chit chat when they left I had given them everything xcept the day's sundal. Later called them up and apologised. Next time made it a point to visit them with a sweet box. That uncle is another Nat. Kya majaa aatha hai un logon se bath karne me.

I call myself an absent minded professor. But u know i can remember so many things of olden days not only relating to me but even my frends. In fact because of my remembrance, they have searched out their costly sarees and one lady found out only after my utterance that she had lost a very nice saree of hers after giving to mobile iron.

So forgetting things is part and parcel of life and dont worry about that.

5. Mindian

my dear viji,

your problem is just that you think too much about anything:) do not worry every thursday you used to offer us pal payasam virtually and that day i had the chance to actually taste it.and we all enjoyed it very much:)

all of us are absent minded and maybe a little excited in seeing our friends too..maybe thats why such things happen but your last para just :thumbsup:thumbsup very true let us make chanting of HIS name a practice

Hi nat, soldier, viji srini, jaya

congrats on taking A to Z to this level..was very busy yaar yesterday and today so couldnt join you in the celebrations but you guys rocked..
    but now can you have a normal conversation or is it in alphabetical order only:biglaugh:hide:

6. Padmasrinivas

Padmasrinivas Silver IL'ite

Dear Viji,

Another sweet write-up on the practicality of presence of mind...

Well, I for one lack in that department... whether it is giving any thing along with Thamboolam or a witty reply to some remark, it always occurs much after the event!!!

I have not peeped into A to Z for a while, will do so asap, just that I have some 'chinna chinna velai' to do from time to time nowadays!

Loads of love,
    Padma

Dear Viji,

Another good one from u.

Well u gave Mindi something to eat at least, and u gave her yr time, which is very important.

And u have the presence of mine to write this blog:rotfl

Yes at times even i dont have the presence of mind, and regret later, i am busy chatting with a guest, and forgot to ask him tea or water.But i guess it better to show respect to guest and give him/her yur undivided attention and respect, which is more important.

8. iyerviji

Dear Natpudan

Thank you for the first fb and your appreciation for my presence of mind.
    Pal payasam is always better than Avial right. What you have written is right God will accept us as we are.

Thank you Natpudan for coming here and giving your loving fb.

9. iyerviji

Dear Padmini

I will definitely remember to give you avial when you come here. I will be so happy to meet you. Dont know when God will give chance for us to meet. Thank you for sharing your views on the subject

10. iyerviji

Dear Soldier

Glad to know you liked Nat's fb. I missed you all today in A to Z. From morning my net is giving problems. Sometimes it happens we forget to give sundal during Navratri. You remember old things na thats very good. In my husband's family they can relate old things very well.