Computers and Internet

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by Kamalji, Jan 10, 2010.

Computers and Internet

Yesterday had a problem with my computer, and the guy came to repair it. Watching him brought back thoughts of when I first bought my computer.

I bought my first computer in 1997. An Exporter friend of mine had bought one, and I had gone to visit him, and was fascinated by the emails, and the **** sites that he showed me.It was like magic. And I decided then and ther to buy one, and he sent over the guy to me.

Till then I will doing business with the help of the telephone, fax, and the typewriter,and manual accounts by the accountant employed by me. Fax to me was the greatest thing man could have invented. I used to type a letter on the typewriter, a 1960’s Remington, and a page used to take half an hour. Then I used to fax it to my Spain buyer, and it used to take a minute or so.A minute to Europe used to cost 60/- , and sometimes the fax would not go , wasting a few minutes, then retry it, and sometimes it would take 2 to 3 minutes, bugging me no end, for I was calculating the cost, and fuming.

When the computer came I thought my troubles had ended. Here is the configuration of the first one.

Computer – 55000/- 1.1 GB, 64 MB Ram
    Modem – 33 something – 10,500
    Printer Epson – 20,000/-
    Scanner – 20,000 ( Genisis or one such brand)
    Webcam – 15000 /- Philips

In 99, got my First Lap top. Wipro Acer , 2000 dollors , 4.1 GB. After a month or so, fell down, and the screen got separated.Repair cost, 70000/- the company told me, with no guarantee after I leave their office, told them to take a walk. So I had the keyboard of the laptop attached to a monitor, and it worked for me like a keyboard.And I used to boast that I have the most expensive keyboard in the whole of jaipur, costing a lakh.

And look at the internet .I bought 500 hours of internet from VSNL, for 15000/- so every hour of surfing cost me 30 /- .And the telephone cost cost me another 30 per hour, so it used to cost me 60/- an hour to surf those days.

And look at these days now.Broadband unlimited from BSNL cost me 750 a month, and I can legally use 4 computers in the same, which I do, it has wireless too ! Where the prices have dropped from those days.

Blogging is courtesy Broadband.who could afford the 60/- per hour blogging, or chatting.In those days , I used to open the internet, download the mails, off the internet, reply all mails offline, again go online, send the messages, and off the pc again.

You can imagine how much money the VSNL people must have made selling internet time at 15000 per 500 hours, when now they give u unlimited internet and telephone for 750/- for 4 computers package.

But I could not help myself surfing those days, and chatting.I would go in a chatroom, posing as a lady, Busty Mom _36 or such names, and chat with other ladies, and it was such a pleasure then, but with exhorbitant cost to myself, and my pocket. Good that broadband came along, and so did blogging, and all those kinkiness died off naturally.

Telephone calls to Mumbai used to cost 30 a minute daytime, so used to wait for the one third rates after <?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:smarttags" /><st1:time Hour="21" Minute="0">9 pm</st1:time>, when I used to talk to mom and dad, and just speak for a few minutes, feeling guilty that I surf **** for hours, but for parents just a few minutes.

How times change dear friends ! Today talk anywhere to anyone for just 1 buck a minute, and I tell all my blogger friends, u guys are not expensive at this rate, so don’t worry about my phone Bills , lets keep talking. If what we talk today, we could talk that 10 years back, the bill would be 10 times more, maybe much much more.

So friends , don’t crib things are expensive these days.Mobiles, computers, TV’s are all a fraction of what I have bought them for then, rejoice at the low rates, which are still falling by the day.

But let me share with u my secret, or what I have observed over the years. My landline Bill in the mid nineties when we did not hve the mobile, or computers, used to come to 25000 for 2 months, bcs I used to talk to my buyers. And samples would go by couriers that was another 10000 a month.

But what I observed was that , the business and profits were in proportion to the Bills.The more the telephone Bills and courier Bills, my profits were very good, all Tax Free, thanks to the Govt of India, which did not levy any Income Tax on Export profits.

Today I pay a fraction of those Bills, but today my business income is ZERO. Tecnology has had its reverse effects on me. Then I used to courier my samples to the buyers, with the rates, and if they wanted to play smart and send it to another Indian supplier, they had torecourier it back to him, which would waste a lot of time to get new quotations, so he would place the order with me, after bargaining with me a little maybe.

Today I send the pictures by email of the styles, which saves me courier charges no doubt, but in seconds of receving it, he send the mails to other suppliers in India, and in one day, my styles are out, and others undercut me, and I lose the business.

Technology has been good for me, but now in my retirement to pass my time blogging, otherwise for my business , the olden times were good. For many people perhaps their incomes have increased with easy and cheap communication, but for me the reverse is true. No complains though, life has been good , and fair to me most of the times.

Old is God for me !!!

It is freezing cold in Jaipur the last few days.Today is Sunday, as I type this, and my hands aer frozen.Seems yesterday it was like 3.3 degrees here, as per the papers, but that did not stop me from going to the garden for the morning walk.The pretty females have disappeared, maybe preferring their husband’s company under the warm quilts , to my sight in the freezing cold , I don’t blame them at all !

When I took Tuffy out for his morning walk and to make him do potty, I noticed, that smoke was coming out, but not that .Seemed like a rocket launch, and the poor guy had a hard time to relieve himself.Good I did not have this problem .

And with so much cold, and Harsha in Mumbai, how do I keep warm, Tuffy is no substitute, but an extra peg than usual, which keeps me warm under the two quilts,as also the technicolour dreams that come these days.

Have a ball ,ladies and Gentlemen.

Kamal Mahtani

A priest is called - Father
    Bishop - Your Grace
    Cardinal – Your Emminence
    Pope – His Holiness
    But a 36-24-36 is called – Oh My God

Teacher – Tum bade hoke kya karoge
    Student – shaadi
    Teacher – Nahi , mera matlab kya Banoge
    Student – Dulha
    Teacher – Nahi, mere matlab hai bade hoke kya hasil karoge
    Student – Dulhan

What is the main thing u learn from sex with your wife

That bhukh mein Karela bhi meetha lagta hai.

2. iyerviji

Dear Kamalji

I am here again to give the first fb. Enjoyed reading your post which was full of information and humour too as usual. Really computes are a boon now a days , and since I am able to use computers could meet you in IL and read your blogs.

Ask Harsha to come back soon before the cold is over. So that you can enjoy with Harsha and a peg also.

3. Mindian

dear kamalji,

what a naughty post???? your name in the chat room had me :biglaugh:biglaugh
    maybe you can post the chat you had with the men under THAT name???

hahah why would the pretty ladies leave their warm hubbies and quilts for a walk? by the way what did you do for harshaji to leave you alone in this freezing cold and go off on a loooong holiday,something terribly naughty,i am sure:)

oh my god poor tuffy :biglaugh:biglaugh

ohhhh I see i forgot completely about the main topic..yes it is a real boon the computers and internet...:)

4. Padmini

Padmini IL Hall of Fame

Dear kamalji,
    You are a pucca businessman. that is shown in your post. In a very brilliant manner you have analysed the advantages and dis advantages of the computers. As you have mentioned,

Computers are performing more and more tasks in the office and workplace than they ever have before. Computers can conduct many tasks more efficiently than human workers but the more we rely on them the more vulnerable we find ourselves when the machines fail.
    Each year, companies have an average of 501 hours of computer downtime, costing them millions in annual productivity and revenue and according to a recent study; computer downtime is responsible for the loss of 3.6% of annual revenue. Which is almost has high as the revenue loss by employee absence (6 %)!
    The average life of an office PC is 3-4 years yet a computer's life can be cut down to a fraction of that amount if the machine is expected to work in less than perfect conditions.
    Using the Internet for business actually has many disadvantages, primarily involving concerns over security and available access for you and your customers.Written text, especially in emails, can easily be misread or misinterpreted when there is no face-to-face contact.

Regarding the climate, I am giving you tips to safe guard you!!:)
    Cover your mouth with a scarf to protect lungs from direct, extremely cold air. Cover your ears and lower part of your face as well.
    Wear mittens rather than fingered gloves. The close contact of fingers helps to keep your hands warm.I think these things will save you from hearing unnecessary talks also. Am I correct?
    pad

5. Jpatma

Jpatma Silver IL'ite

KM ji,
    No one can deny the use of computers & internet in all fields including sex. Who knows few years later we will have something, sub kuch chalega.

I wont even know you if there was no computers, though we missed each other in Matunga.

You really amuse me, remind me of my working colleagues. Its a standing joke in our office- mistress is like eating steak, while girl friend is like eating in good restaurant and wife is like maggi mee (last resort for food). When there is nothing we eat maggi in malaysia. So at times i hear conversation among the guys "today iam eating at restaurant" while another will say "u r lucky i got eat maggi mee". Then one comes and says " i had a lovely steak for dinner" and every one goes into laughter.
    Jaya

6. natpudan

natpudan Gold IL'ite

kamalji,

i had kept my 500th post for your blog, holding from this morning i saw your blog. my 5th century wouldn't have been possible if these computers & internet were not there.

also i wouldn't have come across so many friends over here & the humour monger kamalji.:biglaugh

the prices of computers, communication have come down drastically and at the same time they have reduced to a great extent the human element associated with.

it has become a virtual world.

if tuffy can learn computer skills, you too can interact with it on a computer instead of having a walk with it during these cold days.

you prefer to take a walk for another reason - greening the garden.:)

do you think all the women are in the warmth of their husband? no way most of them are on the computer enjoying kamalji's humor.

when they laugh, there is heat generated & they feel warm while reading your blogs.

you have a great memory - remebering all the costs, specs, etc. you are doing justice to the sindhi clan.:)

But a 36-24-36 is called – Oh My God

bingo - you are right.

this god can be seen, felt and you can have a ball as tiwari & tiger resorted to.:biglaughif you don't want to accept karela to be meeta!!!!!!!!!!!

then i can write about the adventures of kamalji's khaanaa khajaanaa.......:idea

Dea r Viji,

thanks for the first comments and a lovely one too.Harsha is coming back on Saturday, and yes thenm it will be warm here.:biglaugh

Computers internet and broadband are a boon for sure, for at 60/- an hour charges a decade back, we would not have been able to blog.

Dear Mindi,

If there was no boradband Mindi, u would not have been able to post this reply nor any blog.:rotflSo thank God for that .

Yes see how cruel Harsha is to leave me all alone in this cold.But honestly, the pegs and the two quilts are good enough for the time being.HAHA

Thanks.kamal

Dear Pads,

Lovely information u have given.You have an analyist's brains eh ! :biglaughWell computers have their good and their bad sides too.We have forgotton how to write letters by hand, but then who would, write , post, pay postage charges, when this email is instant, send pictures across too.

Well if i cover my face, ears etc, who will recognize the great Kamalji the blogger in the park:bonk:bonk:bonk(Not that m any know of it either):biglaugh

thanksf or the warm FB.Regards

Dear Jaya,

Yes we missed wach other in Matunga, Aurora Theatre and Khalsa College, and Gandhi Market, Sanmukhnanda Hall eh ! Yes those wonderful days really.

What a lovely joke that is in yr office.I must say Jaya, that u are one of the wittiest and warm hearted woman i have come across.After the tragedey how u have regrouped again, something for everyone to emulate.You are something i must say.When u and me meet, we will hae so much to talk, and we will both fall down laughing.HAHA

God bless u.Regards