Will vegetables wont taste the same in whatever way they are cut

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by iyerviji, Jan 8, 2010.

I have always wondered why vegetables have to be cut in a particular style for different dishes. Like for South Indian Items for Avial we have to cut it long , for kootu square ones, for plantain curry either round ones or square ones, for any thorans like Beans, Avrakkai, Cabbage to be cut in fine . Will not these taste the same if they are cut in different shape.

Some people are very particular about the shape of the vegetables while cutting, while some want everything to be boiled nicely and cooked well. Some want perfection in whatever they do and some want somehow to finish the cooking dont bother how it is cut or how it is made. Some if their mother in law has taught something want to teach their dils the same thing. Olden days mother in laws had lot of patience but present dils dont have so much patience and no time for them.

It is good to be perfect and I admire the perfectionist. From childhood chidlren should be taught to be perfect which will continue even after they become old

Last edited: Jan 8, 2010

2. Mindian

haha dear viji...i too have wondered many times ..but that is because I HATE cutting veggies...if someone cuts and gives me it is a pleasure to cook and i am ready to cook a feast...Nowadays,whenever i am with my mother she cuts and I do the cooking as I take only half the time she does...then both of us can sit and chat:)

3. Padmini

Padmini IL Hall of Fame

Dear Viji,
    A good question you have raised. We vegetables for easy cooking. We cut differently for different recipe to differentiate
    them. If we use same type for all we will get bored so to add variety
    I think we fallow this method.As you say, we should be perfect in all the things in cutting , cooking. Here I want to share one thing: My younger son when he was 4 years old my sister visited me. Bith of us were chatting me cooking she cutting. When the lunch was served my DS
    put the question, " Who cut potato for the curry?" I used to cut smaller for " square vadhakkal" my sister cut it in big pieces that is why he asked that question:). Now he is 30 years old but till now my sis used to remark this and appreciate his expecting perfection in cutting.
    pad

4. Sriniketan

Viji,
    Different shapes, differen cutting to vegetables..definitely give a different taste.
    I can give you one eg.
    I used to make Papaya kootu, with usual square cutting..but it didn't taste good..then I began to shred it and make curry..it was good.

I too like perfection... a little bit of adjustment is necessary in between..that's what I feel!

5. Sabitha_K

Sabitha_K Gold IL'ite

Viji ji , this is an age-old culinary canon that anyone who has ever made the same dish employing different cutting strategies would concur.

I have wondered the same sometime back while cooking Tindora and it tastes so different everytime I chop,dice & shred it.The finer the veggie is cut, the better it tastes.

You are so right ! I loved the way you have conveyed such a beautiful message on striving for perfection with a simple example.Very cute and enjoyable post in your signature style writing.:thumbsup

6. twinsmom

twinsmom Silver IL'ite

In my home, it is like you have said. For Avial, long thin strips, for Koottu, diced veggies... for Sambhar chunky sqares... Cabbage to be shredded and all other vegetables to be cut in 1 cm squares for poriyals... somehow, it has become a habit... In my sasural... there is no such order...cabbage ends up in chaotic squares... Potaoes and onions are just halved for sambhar... I was aghast initially.... but got used to it. Ultimately, taste matters... right?

7. Jpatma

Jpatma Silver IL'ite

Viji,
    My mom too cut vegetables like you said, however in my DH's place it is different. It may have some meaning am not sure.
    My cutting depends on my mood, but in general i like everything small while my DH preferred vegetables to be big and half cooked.
    Jaya

8. abhatv

abhatv Senior IL'ite

Hi friends,

I have read that vegetables are to be cut in big pieces so that the nutrients are not lost. I don't know whether there is some relation to to the exposed surface area. However I too cut for avial as long pieces, kootu as squares and thoran(poriyal) as small pieces. Bu it is always better to steam cook. I have also heard that children below 12 years should not be given microwaved food though I don't know of any scientific reason behind this. HAPPY COOKING EVERYBODY!

Abha.

Last edited: Jan 9, 2010
  9. Shanvy

viji aunty,

Cutting veggies is an art. I learnt observing mil and then my BIL. At home, DH also does cut veggies so well, but ofcourse it is once in a blue moon.

My son, will appreciate if the veggies have been treated fair. like thin juliennes for fried rice, strips for salads, cubes for roast, fine for thoran/poriyal.

somedays it does test my patience.

I would say, the taste of veggies does differ according to how they are cut. a lengthwise cut brinjal and a cubed brinjal curry taste different, so do tindora.

10. iyerviji

Dear Mindian

Thanks dear for the first fb. Good to know your mother helps you in cutting the vegetables and your time is saved by that. Mothers are really great always helping their children.

Some people cut cabbage and beans so nicely. I admire such people

Last edited: Jan 10, 2010