Am I doing wrong?

Discussion in 'Working Women' started by smile14, Jan 4, 2010.

1. smile14

smile14 Gold IL'ite

I need suggesstions from you all on a point.
    I am 3 months pregnant and going to Join another company in next month.

I have decided to switch 2-3 months back as my husband is working in Noida and my office is in gurgaon.We put up in gurgaon so he has to commute everyday for 2 hrs morning an evening. So we decided to look for a job in Noida.I have tried and 2 months before I got the offer from this new company. But to finalise the joining date they took arnd 2 months.

Now I have to join in order to be close to my husband so in case of any emergency he can reach me.

Somewher in my mind am thinking if I am doing something wrong by joining thr in the current situation?
    I am in a big dilemma as if I will not shift to Noida later am sure I will have to leave the job. And then finding a job will be very tough.

Please guide me.

2. Priya_Mommy

Priya_Mommy Gold IL'ite

Smile,
    Congratulations on your pregnancy first of all. First of all few queries -
    1.How long you have been with your current organization?
    2.What is the current status of new organization? Do they have any projects related to your skills?
    3.Any huge difference in takehome salaries?
    4.Can't he commute 3 hours daily? There are lot of ppl who commute daily from Noida to Gurgaon.
    5.Do you wish to continue job after delivery??
    If you have satisfying answers to those, then definitely you can shift. Anyways still you have 6 months to take maternity leave, But keeping your current situation, its not a good advice because again you need to prove in new organization with new born or small baby. You may not be able to get enough leaves post maternity leaves.
    So, if its possible to take pain for few days until your delivery is over and you are back to normal life, then you can think of shifting.

3. priya g

priya g Senior IL'ite

Dear Smile14,
    First congratulations on being on the "family way". Now, after reading your query, I had a couple of doubts. you are saying that you work at Ggn and hubby in Noida, so you are joining a company in Noida so that you both can be together and he need not travel a lot! Now, you are confused whether you shuld join at all? Please clarify on this matter. Because if that is the case then maybe you are having these doubts as the new profile is not very good from career point of view? Kindly post the replies then ladies here can help you.
    But my 2 cents- try to prioritize your life. career, family kids and all that. Find out what are imporatnt to you and at what scale? Maybe this would help you decide better.
    Good luck!:thumbsup

4. smile14

smile14 Gold IL'ite

Thank you for the replies.
    Let me put up few more things.
    1.I will complete 1 yr in my current in this month only.
    2.As here only two of us are living and no other family member so its necessary that he can reach me in short time in case of any emergency. Currently it will take atleast 2 hrs to him to reach me.
    3. The new organization is a big brand and I have worked only with small firms till now. So joining this will be beneficial for my career too.
    4.There are many benefits joining this considering long term advantages.
    5. I will continue the job later on. No plans to stop working forever.
    6. If I will continu the current job am sure one day things will force me to leave job and shift. I really dnt want to lose job as then it will very tough to find a new one.

I hope now you can advice me with a more broad perspective.

5. priya g

priya g Senior IL'ite

Then no looking back! Join the new one, after all there are toooo many positives in it! in fact, I am wondering why were you at all confused in the first place about not quitting the old one and joining the new one? :bonk

Maybe you are kind of nervous about the ne work challenges in the new job. For that, good luck, dont worry! Give your best! Next time you may not get a call from there if you lose it now!

6. smile14

smile14 Gold IL'ite

Thanks Priya for understading me.
    yes its right , this is a dream company and going to be a great milestone in my career.

Its just that I am nervous to join a new place in this physical situation and on the other hand am thinking if they can take any legal or wrong action against me for not telling them. But the thing is the process has started 3 months before and at that time I was not aware of my situation. Later on it took 3-4 months to finalise the things.

So any how I have not tried to hide the things but both have progressed simoltaneously.

7. smile14

smile14 Gold IL'ite

Hurray,

Am quite relieved now as just now I came to know they have the caluse that a woman has to serve only for 80 days to get the maternity leaves, which I can do very easily and even if a woman can not (in case she is joining in that period when she has to take leaves soon) this clause can be waived off too.....

wow itsn't it great...that means am not going to do anything wrong......
    Thanks God and all of your best wishes that I can grow in my carrer too with my baby too.....

8. priyatoi

priyatoi New IL'ite

Grab the chance and dont look back. Everything will fall in place.
    Trust me a break now has chances of becoming a break for ever.
    Priya

9. priya g

priya g Senior IL'ite

Wow Smile14! good news indeed! Now all your troubles are over! have a great career and motherhood ahead! And for any problem, you can always visit this site! :thumbsup

10. smile14

smile14 Gold IL'ite

Hey Dear,

Thanks a lot...for ur understading, help and suggestions......